We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic break as you stroll Taormina”
Review of Etna Pasticceria

Etna Pasticceria
Ranked #4 of 6 Bakeries in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A great little bakery/cafe to enjoy a coffee and canoli in Taormina
Flemington
Level Contributor
305 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Fantastic break as you stroll Taormina”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had some free time to stroll and enjoy Taormina one day and stopped here for a pick me up in the afternoon. I wanted to try the cassata cake, a regional specialty. My husband declined and said he wanted to get gelato. As we were sitting snacking, I gave him a bite of the cake. He immediately got up and went to get another piece, saying it was one of the best cakes he had ever tasted. On our way out, we bought some more pastries...everything was scrumptious and the staff was friendly and proud of their amazing products.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wahoowa1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    54
    14
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
449 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Great cannoli , super Capaccino”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were walking through the Main Street of town , as a baker I am always looking at bakery's or as the Italians call the Pasticceria . Walked by the side door at Etna , saw the baker making the fillings for cannoli! Said Ciao , he said Ciao. I watched as he stuffed some shells , had to try one.
Went to the lovely sidewalk front tables , shared a cannoli with Cindy and we each had a Capaccino . What a treat , we live Oregon so I'm no expert on Cannoli, but I've been to many many a bakery show where venders try and sell shells and cream for me to sell in my store. They did not taste like Edna's , light creamy .
I'd like on right now !
THanks Etna mike

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply one of the Best, Ever”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife, one-half Sicilian and one-half Calabrese, comes from a family of accomplished cooks; her grandmother was once a head chef at Schrafft's in New York City. So she knows a thing or two about great Italian and Sicilian foods. She has eaten the best her family has to offer and the best that Italy and Manhattan have to offer. We were sent here on reference of a head chef at another highly-rated restaurant in Taormina. My wife called this the best cannoli she ever had in her life. I ate their gelato and it was easily the best I've had in Taormina, if not all of Italy. Add to that their incredible selection of delicacies (I walked out with a bottle of concentrated Marsala wine), and I easily rate this as one of the best Italian/Sicilian dessert establishments places we've have ever been to and certainly the best in Taormina, as of the time I'm writing this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cannoli to die for”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We were told that this place had the best cannoli we'd ever have, and it's true. The shell was crispy, without being too hard to bite or cut into, and the ricotta filling was not too sweet. There were bits of lemon rind in the filling, which gave it a freshness. Fun to sit at an outside table and watch the people while sipping coffee and eating a sweet. Extensive selection of pastries beautifully presented inside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Canolli is the best”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I cannot fault the Canolli - we went back a few times for more. They were some of the best we had on our trip to Sicily. Even though the shop is on the very busy main street in the town, pop in to treat yourself. The window display is also excellent

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Etna Pasticceria also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Etna Pasticceria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing