We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“words cannot express how wonderful this hotel really is” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Schuler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“words cannot express how wonderful this hotel really is”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed for 8 nights and could not believe how clean and comfortable this hotel was. We were a little afraid of the 3 star rating however Vagabonda convinced us that stars only relate to amenities in Italy and not comfort etc.
This was a terrific part of our vacation and the staff assembled by the owners is superior to any other hotels we stayed at on this trip.
Breakfast was done in an order whatever you want method and the service was better than any restaurant.
We have been to Italy many many times and both my wife and I appreciated Villa Schuler,s spotless rooms, great A/C and anything we asked for was done immediately.
This hotel has a great location for just about anything in the area and they booked airport pickups and two great trips for us and many restaurant reservations.If you love Italy like we do and love Taormina then this is the most comfortable hotel you could stay at.
We would be happy to answer any questions you might have but we strongly urge you to consider this hotel if you want a real comfortable experience with everyone on the staff willing to do anything to help plan anything for you.
We promise you after many years of being in Italy that you will not be disappointed by picking Hotel Villa Schuler.

Room Tip: We had room 28 a superior double sea view with a real large bathroom with shower and bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
We appreciated your review especially due to the fact that it was posted by a regular Top tripadvisor contributor who has been to Italy so many times.

Reading the impressive number of your pevious reviews and finding out that this was not your first visit to Taormina, I’m pleased to read that you were not disappointed for choosing us for the first time.

Thank you also for your availability to answer other readers questions. Tripadvisors Taormina Travel Forum is a unique place to find helpful and reliable advice about our town.

Gerhard Schuler
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    233
    26
    15
    4
See reviews for
175
752
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This should be a 5 star for breathtaking views, central location, AMAZING breakfast and general ambience!!! Lovely clean room with 2 balconies one with a view of the sea and the other of mount etna! Centrally located near bars restaurants and the main shopping street and a 5 minute walk to the cable car for the isola bella beach! Great value too! This is a must..... don't bother looking at any other hotel! Finally Karen in reception is by far the friendliest and most helpful! Thanks Karen!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kak U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed at Hotel Villa Schuler for two nights in late June 2012. The hotel represents excellent value for money in what is generally a very pricey town, but in no way did we feel we had compromised on quality. Great welcome, helpful and knowledgeable staff, spacious rooms (we went for a double overlooking the grounds at the back of the hotel, which was traditional rather than contemporary in style) and bathrooms, impeccable cleanliness, plentiful breakfasts on the beautiful terrace, a peaceful garden and a brilliant location right in the centre of town but without the noise and the crowds. Ten out of ten!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SW7Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

When we arrived there was a problem. II had asked three times whether or not they needed a deposit to confirm our reservation and was told noir was a misunderstanding. You need to go to a separate website to book. The hotel staff was very nice and luckily we were able to procure the rooms we wanted. The breakfast was excellent and looked to order, and the dinner suggestions were equally outstanding. We truly enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I enjoyed 2 weeks in this lovely hotel. During our stay we found the staff and management extremely helpful. We enjoyed the beautiful gardens and seaviews. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

When our taxi pulled up at Hotel Villa Schuler our luggage was whisked to reception and we were welcomed with a lovely cold glass of fresh pressed orange juice. Room 5, superior double sea view, €205, was spacious, bright and spotless with ample storage and an in-room safe and mini fridge. Fresh, crisp linens, great pillows and a comfortable mattress. After having front desk staff increase the air flow, the A/C was perfect. The marble floor tiles were very soothing on tired feet! The large bathroom had ample storage, great water pressure and a hand held showerhead. The toiletries were basic but I loved the nicely scented soap. They even supplied tissues which is unusual for Italy. We had 2 balconies but the one overlooking the breakfast terrace was really too small for the furniture and only one side of the balcony doors opened which we found a little odd. A few weeks earlier and the fragrance from the canopy of jasmine right below our balcony would have been beautiful. The rooftop sun terrace offered beautiful views of Mount Etna and Giardini Naxos and was a lovely spot to relax and enjoy our daily siesta. Breakfast was wonderful, served on a lovely terrace by friendly staff. I absolutely LOVED the fragola granita and fresh pressed orange juice which was available only until the end of May. Another plus for us was the bed linens drying on the clothes line; "real Sicily". The hotel location was perfect; quiet but close to Corso Umberto. We had complimentary internet and the staff were happy to supply us with plates, knives, butter and ice when we decided to have a balcony picnic. We would definitely recommend Hotel Villa Schuler which was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the superior double seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SengaMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed there beginning of May for 3 nights. This was the end of our Sicily trip (2 weeks with rental car) and the idea was to simply relax before flying home from Catania. We had a lovely corner room with superb views, a large bed, beautiful (and well functioning) bathroom, Internet service and they even did laundry (reasonably priced). The hotel is ideally located, with easy (walking distance) access to all attractions. The breakfast - so many people rave about - is very good BUT we would actually prefer a buffet - or at least a combination - because : all the food arrived at the same time even though we tried to tell the staff (they did understand English) to bring first the cereal and fruit and THEN the hot meal and coffee / tea - to no avail - so the coffee and the hot meals were cold, also you get a whole basket of bread and buns which is a total waste for us.
So, a combination of buffet with an "egg station" would be a far more preferred way of having a leisurely breakfast where the eggs are hot when you are ready to eat them ...
The other irritant was that on the day of departure we would have liked to stay 2 to 3 hours longer than the check-out time because our flight was at 6pm (this was a Saturday) and this turned out not to be possible. I have to say that we are used to (sometimes) paying an extra charge for this service (if the hotel is very busy - typically 60 to 100 Dollars in North America) because the hotel has to make an effort to clean the room in a compressed timeframe - but we have never encountered a "not possible - you have to be out by 11" (all they have to do is get the cleaning staff organized to come at 2pm and by 3pm the room is ready for the next occupant - what's the big deal ?!). So i had to scramble like mad to get 3 weeks of vacation into the suitcases in an hour as well as sit in that rather unpleasant airport for hours. This was a rather disagreeable ending.
So - while we would certainly recommend this hotel, keep in mind some limitations (on the plus side they provided some anti-mosquito gadget which seemed to work very well - don't know why these places in Sicily don't have screens !!).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romana_0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Guests, thanks a lot for your positive review and for the two suggestions I would personally like to focus on as manager of the hotel.

BREAKFAST: I‘m grateful for drowing our attention to your experience at breakfast. Even if I guess it is quite unlikely that you did encounter the same kind of misundestandings on all 3 days in a row, I personally want to apologize for any inconvenience you had.

The normal way our waiters serve our breakfast ordered à la carte is: they serve the essentials first (bread basket, butter, jam, marmelades, hot drinks), then the ordered additional items such as fruit juices, granite, fruit baskets and uncooked food, cheese and meat plates and only after that they serve the freshly prepared hot dishes as eggs, pancakes etc. that take slightly longer to be prepared fresh.

I tried to trace what really happened talking with our waiters but your review posted two months after your stay made it quite difficult. Most importantly, you can be reassured that I gave them instructions not to oversee the important aspect mentioned.
Thank you also for your suggestion for an „egg station“, but we prefer to go on preparing all cooked items freshly instead of adding similar buffet-style devices.

Opting for not having the buffet and serving beakfast a la carte contributes significantly to create a unique relaxing and stylish athmosphere during our breakfast served on our panoramic palm terrace overlooking the sea and Mount Etna.

LATE-CHECK OUT: I am sorry about your experience on your departing day. Our check-out time is 11.00 because we guarantee check-in from 1 p.m. onwards, especially for those clients informing us about their planned early arrival. We inform all our clients about this both on our web page as well as on our booking confirmation and our front office staff does that again at their check-in (it’s also marked on the check-in folio all clients sign and receive in copy).
That’s why I am surprised that you state you were surprised…

I’m also pretty sure that our receptionist’s reply whas not exactly the rude one you quoted . Here what they are instructed to say: if possible, we of course try to meet guests requests asking for a late check out. We can offer a late check out only if we know for certain that the following guest will arrive late. In your case this was apparently not possible. Our room occupancy is around 96% so most departing rooms must be prepared until 1 p.m.. We do have only 27 rooms and a late chek-out in the evening is rarely possible. This is not a matter of disrespect or of charges.

What you unfortunately did not report in your review is about our late departure services all late departing clients are informed of: luggage storage, plenty of furnished areas to spent the day both indoor as the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, the winter garden, the internet point, the TV room or in the palm terrace pavillon, as well as outdoor in our garden and terraces both in the sun as well as in the shade.
We even have a fully equipped bathroom that clients are offered to use anytime before departure in order to refresh or have a shower.

We hope that you had a pleasant and relaxing flight back home and that your reported positive memories of our hotel and your stay in Taormina will continue to outweight the minor unconveniences you felt at breakfast and on your check-out.

Gerhard Schuler
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Property: Hotel Villa Schuler
Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Taormina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere. Superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing