We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Simple. Comfortable. Perfect. Our room was on the smaller side, but just what we needed. The staff was wonderful, knowledgeable, and incredibly helpful. The gardens were beautiful. The overall layout of the hotel was a perfect fit for the region. The included breakfast was absolutely delicious--made to order and served on the veranda overlooking the ocean. This hotel is located a short walk from the main street. Would LOVE to visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Schuler
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

Charming hotel with a great location, great service, excellent breakfast with a view. Our room was quaint and clean, just what we were looking for. Very well managed property. The best location possible. I'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view, it's work it!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhifferVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The welcome we received was the friendliest we have ever had. Since we were travelling as a family, we were given The Garden Villa which is very spacious and has direct access to the beautiful hotel gardens where our children adored playing hide and seek. The staff were incredibly helpful and were able to arrange trips for us to visit Savoca, Noto and Siracusa. Delicious breakfasts were served on the terrace with stunning views of snow capped Mount Etna. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel incredibly welcome. We would love to return to this beautiful island and would definitely stay in Hotel Villa Schuler.

Room Tip: The Garden Villa is great for families.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Dear friends from Edimburgh,
we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your family stay at our “Garden Villa Suite”.

This is our largest Suite and therefore “great for families”. It has no seaview but is cosy and private: 518 sq ft In a secluded corner of our own garden area with private access, one bedroom (130 sq ft), one living room with kitchenette, refrigerator and dish-washer (tot.238 sq ft), 2 bathrooms (one with Jacuzzi whirlpool bath-tub and one with Jacuzzi shower), hair dryer, individually controlled air-conditioning, telephone, free Wi-Fi, 2 satellite TVs with radio, safe.

It has an outdoor patio-solarium (345 sq ft) with sitting area and sun beds. Total area 862 sq ft. Breakfast can be served also directly in the courtyard or in the living room. Kids can play safely in the private courtyard. And they love that outdoor hot shower!

Gerhard Schuler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

excellent location, very clean , one of the best during our two week trip to sicily . staff was great !!! hotel has on site indoor parking available at extra cost .breakfast is cooked to order and very good. a really nice hotel . .

Room Tip: 3rd floor or above for better views
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siracu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great room, great breakfast and stunning views. Staff were fabulous, when they heard it was my birthday they made us complimentary Cocktails on the terrace. Location is fantasic, just down some steps from the main street

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serenadelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

stayed in august 2012 for 2 nights . beautiful hotel with marvellous views form the veranda overlooking the bay. breakfast served outdoors each morning with an incredible choice of foods including fresh breads frsh fruit , eggs pancakes etc. Very courteous staff. We stayed in a graden level room with access to a courtyard. Hotel has a choice of shuttle services to the beach at very good prices , far cheaper than buying a cable car ticket and paying at th e beach. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinBrendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Good location, and amazing breakfast. We had to leave verY early in the morning and they got our order for breakfast and served us an amazing food before the usual hour, was very nice. The rooms are spacious , clean and beautiful. But don't tAke the junior suit it is not good at all. The double deluxe are big, great sea view and very charming

Room Tip: The deluxe room , see view are great , don't take the junior suit , very disappointing.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Dear guest,
we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our services. Organizing our traditional full breakfast even before the usual hour is part of our services. It is difficult instead to reply to your suggestion not to book a Junior Suite because you did not add any further expalanations to this statement.

Accurately detailled descriptions and photos of all our room types are on our website, so no surprises.

Gerhard Schuler, manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £107 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere, the 4 Star Hotel is superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. Official cathegory: 4 STAR HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing