We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Our first trip to Sicily and we were seeking advice from everywhere. Villa Schuler came onto the radar via Tripadvisor and friends that stayed a year ago.....thank you, what a find!
It is classically perched on the side of a cliff with the quintessential coastal view both from your room and the breakfast area. The reception staff are excellent, the rooms are clean and a good size, and breakfast was fabulous, not buffet but served to order. The gardens are a work of art in themselves and beautifully maintained, including the large team of tortoises that live in the pond, it all just works and we would highly recommend the hotel.
On a more general note of travelling with a car in Sicily.........wherever you stay ensure that you have off street parking within the hotel. For example Villa Schuler has limited lock up garages with valet parking at a small fee of 15 Euro a day and with a hire car you need to reduce the chance of damage as much as possible. Never leave your car parked on the street with anything visible in the car and this applies across the world of course, but Sicily is another story. Even the locals will warn you about Palermo and it especially applies to tourist hire cars.
So back to the main review.....summing up Villa Schuler is really the best hotel to stay in Taormina, it is the sort of hotel that makes you remember why you got married.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and if you have a car book a garage spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, Manager at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear guest from the world's most livable city,

thank you very much for your positive senior contributor’s review on our Villa Schuler. We immediately forwarded your compliments to our reception staff, who were very happy about them. Karen, Luana, Julia, Roswitha and Luigi send you their best regards.

We are glad to hear that besides the recommendation of your friends, it was also the previous Tripadvisor reviews that helped your decision to choose Villa Schuler, which reconfirmes how useful this forum can be for travellers.

Very useful is also your suggestion to book a garage space in advance when in Taormina. In our historic town streets are narrow and inside it’s medieval centre Taormina has indeed parking problems. Luckily and in spite of the central and panoramic position of our hotel, we dispose of our own large garages directly on the premises (a rarity for Taormina) and offer our trouble-free valet parking service for 15 Euros per day.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Villa Schuler in the future.
Arrivederci
Christine Schuler, assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

This family owned and run hotel (it is currently with the third generation) which provides excellent service. The room was large and the beds comfortable, and the pleasure of stepping out onto the little private balcony to see magnificent views of the sea way below and Etna smoking in the distance was magical. Breakfast is served (yes served - not help yourself) on the terrace which also has the views. The staff are fluently multi-lingual and offer a wide choice for breakfast which is then freshly prepared. The location was fantastic, with a short walk up through their private garden to get to Taormina's main streets and attractions.
We left an item of clothing in the room when we left - they promptly found it and posted it securely to our home address in the UK without asking us to pay the costs.
Overall well done Mr Schuler and your team, we look forward to coming back one day.

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RTN343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Spent the last 3 nights of a fortnight touring Sicily at this wonderful hotel. It is a perfect blend of old charm (beautifully tiled floors, high ceilings and antique furnishings) with modern facilities (fully equipped bathrooms, air-conditioning and the comfiest beds) to give a great sense of style and peace (just what was needed after 2 weeks of Sicilian driving!). The location is to die for, overlooking the entire bay and Etna. The garden was a delight and would be a great place to have a quiet and shaded drink in the height of summer.

The owners and staff are really nice, friendly and professional (a rare combination these days). The breakfasts are very good, and the lack of restaurant is not really an issue as there are lots of restaurants in Taormina, many within 5-10 minutes walk of the hotel, and to suit different budgets.

The car parking that others have mentioned is a problem that affects all Taormina, but as we were there for only a few days we took advantage of the garage. The car would have been available at any time but Taormina is such a gem that we didn't use it from arriving to leaving for the airport!

All in all we would not hesitate for one minute in recommending this hotel and if we ever get back to Sicily we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goatwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The hotel is quite outdated and needs to be refurnished. What they call suites are actually small rooms with a terrace. You have two decks on each terrace to sunbathe but you cannot see the sea since there is a brick wall at the end of each terrasse. The parking is 15 euro a day and there are only 2 free parking spaces in front of the hotel.
The staff are lovely. Always helping and smiling.
Lovely breakfast on the terrace overlooking mount Etna and the sea. Breathtaking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jabulani2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, Owner at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We are happy to read, that you loved our staff, which we ideed are proud of. Most of them have been working with us for many years, the eldest for more than 20 years. We are also happy that you appreciated our “à la carte” breakfast served on our panoramic terrace.

We cannot follow your statement that the hotel might be „outdated and needs refurbishing“. Our hotel rooms have classical stile furniture, tailor made by a sicilian carpenters, some rooms additionally feature beautiful antique furnishings.

Furthermore all our rooms are equipped with all modern facilities such as fully equipped bathroom (with Jacuzzi shower or Jacuzzi tub), individually controlled air-conditioning, comfort beds with 5 star Simmons mattresses, flat screen LED Satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, direct dial phone with absolutely low phone rates, LED reading lamps, small fridge, double glazed windows, sound proof doors and all security devices as smoke detectors, bathroom allarm systems etc.

We believe in innovations and every winter, when the hotel is closed, we do refurbishings.

The room you are talking about, we do NOT call it Suite, we call it a Junior Suite.
There is only one room we call Suite, which is our Garden Villa Suite with a total surface 80 square meters.

We guess you had one of our Sunrise Junior Suites. They have a smaller bedroom and bathroom, plus a veranda sitting area and a large terrace, equipped with 2 sunbeds and facing the sea with the total surface of 30 square meters.

Every detail of our rooms is meticolously described on our website, in our written offer and again in our confirmation and the Sunrise Junior Suite is indeed described as beeing a compact, small sized Junior Suite.

No seaview? It is true that lying on the sunbed, you cannot see the sea, the 3rd floor balustrade has the prescribed security height of 95 cm. But once you sit or stand on the room’s terrace you have the full frontal seaview over the Ionian Sea and the bay of Naxos. So it was improper and misleading to have called this concrete security railing a „wall“.

We wish you all the best and hope to may be have you again at Hotel Villa Schuler one day.
You might decide to book a room with balcony with their beautiful Sicilian wrought iron art works.

Christine and Gerhard Schuler, managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

one of a number of things that makes Villa Schuler special is the staff which worried about me when i failed to show up for the airport pick up due to a delayed flight and inability to manage a call in Europe- they called me and rescued me. they managed endless questions with good grace and advice.
The location which is out of city bustle but central for exploring the town on foot which is what i like to do is wonderful, accommodations pleasant and breakfast which is included is excellent. A special treat was having breakfast or a glass of wine on the terrace which overlooks the sea and up to Mt Etna.
i felt really at home and would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: i am sure that the staff will help you pick a room that suits your particular requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We ended our 8 day Sicily vacation with 2 days at the Villa Schuler and it was a special treat.
Taormina is so beautiful and this hotel really enhances the visit. We didn't take an ocean view room because of our budget but it didn't matter as the large terrace that is used for breakfast gave us all the view we needed. The breakfast really is fantastic too - just perfection and the staff was great. Loved it and highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stampy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had stayed at the Schuler before and loved it every time! This time, the Junior Suite we usually reserved was not available and opted for a large room with a balcony (the suite has a terrace). At check-in Mr. schuler surprised us by upgrading us to a corner room on the top floor with a fantastic view. This was the icing on the cake! The hotel is beautifully maintained, spotless and the service is great. Breakfast on the outdoor terrace was outstanding. We toured Italy for three weeks and breakfast at the Schuler was much better than the high-end hotels we stayed at. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#33 of 87 in Taormina
488 reviews
0.8 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £125 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere, the 4 Star Hotel is superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. Official cathegory: 4 STAR HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing