We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, but some rooms are tiny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Nice, but some rooms are tiny”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had a top floor room with a view of the water. The hotel owns the property across the street so the view from the hotel is not blocked by another building. Our room was small, but had a wonderful balcony. Shower stall was small and difficult to work. Breakfast was on the terrace and delicious. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Has a wonderful garden room with two bathrooms and an outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyinwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    238
    26
    15
    5
See reviews for
177
774
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at this beautiful, friendly, elegant hotel in Taormina. The staff is incredible. Friendly, helpful and always cheerful. And the property is stunning. Our room, which was impeccable, looked out on the Ionian Sea... and from our balcony we could see beautiful Mt. Etna. The breakfast is world-class: fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, juices. And while breakfast is served, I believe, from 7:30 until 10:00 a.m., the staff will have it ready for you if you have an early-morning excursion. For example, we left the hotel one morning at 5:45 for an excursion to Agrigento. We mentioned this to the staff the day before and our breakfast was served to us the next morning at 5:15. The customer service at the Hotel Villa Schuler is extraordinary. My wife and I are already planning our next stay. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Our room faced the sea while other rooms face the hotel's beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulV1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revere, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I cannot say enough about our stay at the Hotel Villa Schuler. Upon arrival to the hotel they presented us with a delicious class of homemade ice tea and in the room they had a fruit basket, cookies and a bottle of wine, all complimentary.
The hotel, the people and the views were all amazing. The hotel is just below the main street, Corso Umberto. To get to the main street you can either go up a75 steps on the side of the hotel or you can walk through a beautiful garden, which is part of the hotel, then go up about 30 steps. The hotel is an old villa that has been very well kept up. Each room has a balcony, some overlook the ocean and some the beautiful garden. But not to worry if you don't have an ocean view because there is a great rooftop area with tables and chairs inside and lounge chairs outside overlooking the ocean and Mt Etna. The breakfast is included and offered outside overlooking the ocean (or inside when it rains) and it is a sit down breakfast where you order from a menu with lots of choices.
Any request was happily fulfilled. All the staff were wonderful but Karen was always there when we needed guidance. On the days we had tours booked that left prior to the breakfast service, she made sure we received breakfast in our room before we left. She provided assistance choosing activities (beaches, tours) and restaurants. She made calls to help us choose cooking classes to attend in the area.
Giardinia Naxos was our favorite beach because it is a sandy beach rather than rocky. It is only a short (10 min) bus ride from Taormina. The bus ride is approx. 3 euro round trip and it was 8 euro to rent two beach chairs and an umbrella.
We did go to al Melograno cooking class which is a restaurant and near the hotel. That was 80 euro. Then we went to Babylon cooking school which is on the way tot he Greek Theater and it was only 65 euro. Both were very good. We made a 3 course meal at al Melograno and he took us to the market prior to cooking there were six of us in the class. At Babylon we made a 4 course meal and both Daniele (director) and Andre'a (chef) were wonderful. There were only my husband and I in the class.
We also went on the one day tour of Palermo (55 euro each). The bus ride was approx. 3 hrs. The tour started out with a walk through a large outdoor market led by an English speaking guide. Then we went to the Greek Theater (make sure you bring mosquito repellent if you go in the warm weather), then to Cefula (a beautiful city next to Palermo) then back to hotel.
We also went on a one day tour of Syracuse and Ortigia. We saw the ruins and the Greek theater and Roman Amphitheater and some a beautiful cathedral.. (again be sure to take mosquito repellent). We ate in a great restaurant in Ortigia called La Tavernetta.
All in all it was a great trip. Taormina is a beautiful city and we were surprised how clean ALL the cities (yes, even Palermo) were. No graffiti, streets were clean unlike other areas of Italy (Bologna, Naples, Rome). We did not like the food as much as in other areas of Italy (Sorrento, Bologna) or the wine.. but the one wine we did like was called alla Mandolora (almond wine) which is made in Castelmola (a city above Taormina) and is served cold in a shot glass after dinner. If you like it be sure to buy plenty while you are there because I haven't been able to find any in the US, not even on the internet.

Room Tip: Room 27 was a great room. double bed plus a twin bed, table chairs and a balcony with a spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wahini333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Friendly helpful staff greeted us on arrival at this family run hotel in the beautiful cosmopolitan city of Taormina. The car was parked and we were quickly installed in our lovely rooms overlooking the sea and Mt Etna. Throughout our stay the staff were very friendly and helpful, booking opera tickets, suggesting restaurants and generally making our stay enjoyable. A full breakfast is served in the garden and the serving staff were very friendly. Ideally located just below Corso Umberto this small efficient hotel is ideally placed for a visit to Taormina.

Room Tip: Ground floor sea view rooms are very close to the breakfast terrace. Garden rooms are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Taormina is a bustling, cosmopolitan town - great shopping, plenty of good restaurants, beautiful setting. It is quite amazing that 5 minutes from the town centre, down a single flight of steps, you can be sitting in the beautiful private gardens of Hotel Villa Schuler. This family run hotel is a joy to stay in, the staff are wonderful, friendly, welcoming, helpful. The hotel is very well run, our room was bright, clean, comfortable - all we hoped for. We tried several interesting restaurants away from the main town all of which were booked for us by the staff at Hotel Villa Schuller as were several private escorted trips to the historical sites in surrounding areas. Nothing was too much trouble. This is truly a family run business, the pride taken in giving visitors the best possible holiday experience is exceptional - thanks to all for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: For a sea view take request a room at the front of the hotel, if you like to hear the buzz of the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen_ADublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent the first few nights of our honeymoon at the Hotel Villa Schuler in Taormina and recommend it. Although we arrived very late there was a member of staff who came out to the car to greet us, and throughout our stay the staff were very helpful and pleasant. Our room was lovely - very clean, with a beautiful view, and the bed was very comfortable. the bathroom was big as well, with a window. As mentioned by other reviewers, the breakfast on the terrace is great, as are the turtles in the pond in the garden. the hotel itself is lovely and quiet, but is right behind all the action on Corso Umberto.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just returned from a delightful week stay @ Villa Schuler. The location is perfect, minutes from Corso Umberto. We loved relaxing in the plush garden setting. The view from our Sunrise Junior Suite was breathtaking. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate any requests. They arranged transfers, Godfather (Savoca) & Mt Etna tours with Sicily Life & offered a beach option with boat tour which was fantastic. The roof top terrace views are to die for. The full American breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the Ionian Sea was spectacular. The servers were very attentive & friendly. I would highly recommend Villa Schuler & hope to return some day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suegia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Property: Hotel Villa Schuler
Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere, the 4 Star Hotel is superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. Official cathegory: 4 STAR HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing