We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at the superior corner room and there were two balcony! The view was excellent! with Etna mountain, beaches and the sea. Room was very comfortable, well cleaned. Breakfast was great and rich. Kind staff. We loved also the garden of the Hotel. Location is very well. Important thing: hotel has car park.

Room Tip: Corner room with two balcony was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seldjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

The first thing that you encounter at Villa Schuller is a desire to please from all at the front desk and fortunately the rest of the staff have the same helpful approach to making sure you enjoy your stay. The second thing (if your room is anything like ours, is the wonderful views across the sea and to Mount Etna. The third thing that impresses is the location; close enough to the main shopping street to reach it easily but a world apart from the noise and chaos. Villa Schuler is a quiet oasis. Our room was comfortable albeit quite small. The side terrace was a delightful place to sit. My only slight criticism was that for a hotel offering a la carte breakfasts it was a little disappointing to receive so many packaged spreads, cereals etc. a small criticism but certainly not one that would stop me staying again in this hotel. Very good.

Room Tip: Worth trying to get a room with two balconies overlooking the sea. The single sea facing balconies a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baliboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Everything about Villa Schuler is first class - the position, the quality of the fit out and furnishings, the attention to detail everywhere, the friendly attentive staff at all levels. Mr Schuler is justifiably very proud of his family owned hotel and strives tirelessly to ensure that it's long tradition of service excellence is not compromised. Breakfast is wonderful, the view stunning and without doubt the beds are the best in Sicily, if not all Italy.
Having recently returned there after six years and spending three nights there last week I can say that Villa Schuler is every bit as good as I remember it.
A credit to mr Schuler and his exceptional staff

Room Tip: The view from the balcony rooms is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grahame T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for the comments and for drowing attention to a very important, sometimes underestimated aspect:
hotel guests spend at least one fourth of their stay on that small rectangle, so your sleeping comfort is our utmost concern.

All our brand new beds, orthopedic mattresses and allergy free pillows are by SIMMONS, the US leader in beds and mattress innovation.

Arranged with two cushions per person plus two additional cushions in the cupboard, all our beds can be prepared as single beds, as double beds, as twins or in the large bed matrimonial version.

In our Superior Seaview Rooms, in our Top Floor Junior Suites, in the Top Floor Garden View Junior Suite and in our Palm Terrace Junior Suite the large bed/matrimonial version corresponds to a comfortable queen-size bed (170x200 cm/67x79 in).

We are all looking forward to your 3rd stay.

Gerhard Schuler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just spent three nights at Villa Schuler. It was everything the write ups had said - and more!. Our room was on the third floor and had a spectacular view of both the Ioninan Sea and Mt Etna. The room had a balcony with a small clothes line provided by the hotel which was very useful.
The staff were excellent - very helpful on any issues we raised. The breakfast, which is substantial, is served on a terrace overlooking the harbour - it really is an amazing start to the day.
The hotel is very well situated to explore Taormina by foot. Plus very handy to a wide range of restaurants.
We had a very early checkout and they arranged for the breakfast to be delivered to our room at 5.30 - a very nice touch in the circumstances. Just great service.
I would strongly recommend this hotel - the drive is well worth it and they provide a welcoming drink which helps calm the nerves.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Value for money is one of the most commonly misused marketing slogans.

But if the comment comes from a guest after his hotel stay, it is obviously a highly appreciated one.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you again at our Villa Schuler.

Gerhard Schuler & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I recently organized a group stay in this small, charming, owner-run hotel and I cannot praise it and its staff sufficiently. Although we were a group all our rooms were individually furnished and uniquely positioned. There were several price ranges to choose from reflecting size and extras such a balcony or terrace. All are extremely comfortable (Simmonds' mattresses, crisp white linens, luxurious towels) and spotlessly clean. Some of the rooms have glorious sea views, some have views over the beautiful garden - all the views are worth looking out at. Bathrooms too vary and while some are small they all have been designed cleverly to have all the amenities you need - like lots of shelves instead of just the standard tiny one over the basin as in so many other establishments. Breakfast each day is taken on the stunning terrace and served a la carte. No stale old buffet here... fresh fruit is fresh, the scrambled eggs are cooked just for you, the bread and croissants are straight from the bakery. All to be enjoyed while drinking in the truly magnificent views over the bay of Giardini Naxos and the sparkling Ionian Sea. The hotel is two minutes from the Village's main thoroughfare Corso Umberto II and yet when you come into the garden through the gate you leave all the hustle and bustle behind and find yourself in an oasis of green tranquility. It is also just two minutes from the Communal Gardens worth a visit for its history and plants. If you need transfers, tours or any extra the multilingual staff are friendly, knowledgeable and very much in touch with the best services that Taormina has to offer. Nothing is too much bother! This is a three star hotel but like me, you will give it many more. A big thank you to everyone at Hotel Villa Schuler for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asarahd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Asarahd,

thank your for your positive feedback. It was a great pleasure helping you in organizing the two small groups of your botanic society to our area.
All transfers and all the various excursions of your intense programm took place without hassles or delays and we are all happy to have received so many compliments from your clients on both departure days.

Organizing small groups is both delicate and stimulating. The programs are usually tight and it takes attention to details as well as reliable local partners to make sure that everything runs smooth in order to help creating a successful customer oriented experience.

Greetings from the whole team

Gerhard Schuler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Charming villa owned for more that 100 years by the Schuler family. Excellent location just minutes away from the city center (via Umberto I) and Villa Comunale gardens. The hotel has its own garage. Stunning views from the panoramic terrasse over Taormina, the Ioninan sea and the Etna. Bedrooms face either the sea or a charming garden at the rear of the villa. A delicious breakfast is served outdoor (weather permitting) in a terrasse overlooking the sea. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. I would stay again at Villa Schuler.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CPeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We chose Villa Schuler for the Easter weekend, based on its central location and nice view. Both did not disappoint - the hotel is next door to the main pedestrian road, and the view is breath-taking (same position as the Metropole San Domenico). Booking was efficient, as well as check-in, and the fresh orange juice upon arrival was a nice touch.
The room was a bit spartan and the bathroom quite small (only shower, no bath-tub) but overall fine - its best feature being definitely the outdoor terrace with two lounge chairs. The hotel is wonderfully clean and there was a "fresh" smell every day.
We were not convinced by the "a la carte" breakfast - it made for a very slow service, and every request had to be repeated twice. I am unsure as to why they do this - perhaps to save money and limit waste? It would be much better to have a cold buffet of fruit, cheeses etc. (which they offer anyways) and take orders of eggs and coffee a la carte.
The hotel also has a nice garden - the pond with the turtles was a definite hit with our four-year old. Overall a pleasant stay, but not quite perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view (not garden)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F_Pinto_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your kind review. We are happy with the definition “good” and never tried to pretend to be perfect.

The bathroom of the Sunrise Junior Suite you booked was indeed described as beeing small and to have a Jacuzzi shower, so we were honest with that, both prior to, as well as during the booking procedure.

Our „breakfast served a la carte“ is indeed a quite often reviewed subject. It’s our different approach to the usual self-service buffet breakfast, which is quicker (if you do not have to line up).

The majority of our guests are on holiday and our breakfast served at the table on our panoramic seafront palm terrace enhances the relaxing and leisurely mood. We have more seating capacity than beds so no guest is pushed to rush. Most clients spend indeed at least one hour enjoying that pleasant special atmosphere, some stay even longer.

Most products of our breakfast menu are Sicilian and all dishes are ready to order.
Drinks, fresh juices, bread-butter-marmelade-fresh croissant are all served quickly, some other ready to order meals as cooked, scrambled, fried eggs, crêpes, pancakes, omelettes take the time to prepare them freshly.

This concept may seem unusual at first for those few in a hurry expecting the usual fast-break-fast.
Please note that for early excursionists or for guests who have to check out very early we prepare a full breakfast on demand, anytime, even at 3 a.m. and everything ordered on the previous evening is served within a minute.

Two of our 3 Italian breakfast waiters speak also good English, the 3rd admittedly less (although fluent also in French and Arabic), so I guess the statement „every request had to be repeated twice“ was a bit generalised, also considering the fact that our breakfast menu is in 4 languages.

Our breakfast service takes 5 persons to be prepared ready to order and to be served at the table, so it is certainly not a matter of saving money, it‘s rather a matter of having opted for a personalized quality service.

If there is just one thing our clients will remember after years it is surely THAT special Villa Schuler breakfast atmosphere: sitting on our Palm Terrace, enjoying the unobstructed roundview over the glimmering south Ionian coastline, birds singing, Mount Etna smoking peacefully right in front of you and beeing served at your table in a calm, stylish and relaxing way.


Gerardo Schuler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#33 of 87 in Taormina
488 reviews
0.8 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £125 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere, the 4 Star Hotel is superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. Official cathegory: 4 STAR HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing