We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class - Truly wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First Class - Truly wonderful!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My first stay at Villa Schuler was 10 years ago, my second stay was this May for 5 nights. How wonderful to enter my room and be greeted with a hand written welcome back note from Gerhard and Christine Schuler and gift's consisting of a bottle of wine, fruit basket and cookies. Very classy and appreciated. The room itself was #2 just off the main lobby and set up with two comfortable twin beds. We had a terrace overlooking the sea and Mt. Etna, with a table and chairs and sun loungers. You can electronically lower the awning on the terrace should you need shade. What a wonderful surprise to see the Jacuzzi tub with a headrest in the bathroom! My Dad accidentally pulled the emergency cord in the shower and the front desk called right away to see if there was a problem - very much appreciated. There was a 32 inch flat screen tv on the wall with several channels in different languages and below that a desk and chair. Huge wardrobe for clothing storage. Room had both heat and air conditioning. The cabinet in the desk houses a mini bar fridge - tall enough to stand up wine bottles inside. The whole hotel is very clean and the garden out back is absolutely wonderful. Make time to sit in the garden and enjoy it. The addition of the roof top terrace room is new since my first stay and is a nice touch and offers stunning views. Breakfast on the outdoor Palm Terrace is a great way to start the day. You can order al la carte from their menu and they can prepare hot egg based dishes if you wish. The fresh squeezed juice was excellent and I was so looking forward to Villa Schuler coffee again and it did not disappoint! The garden entrance is a short distance from Corso Umberto and there are many restaurants in very close proximity to the hotel. I agree with other reviewers when they say the staff have a desire to please. I found them all to be friendly, polite and helpful. Read the history of Villa Schuler book in your room or read it on the website - very inspiring and I'm grateful the hotel has been kept in the family. Pride of ownership shows and this is a truly a well run, first class establishment. My only suggestion is to take coffee/tea orders right away and bring that out to guests while their breakfast is being prepared. It's nice to sip coffee and take in the glorious view while waiting for a delicious breakfast to be cooked. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will see you again! Highly recommended to all travelers.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are stunning. If they don't have any available book a garden view room - don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    245
    27
    15
    5
See reviews for
184
798
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at the superior corner room and there were two balcony! The view was excellent! with Etna mountain, beaches and the sea. Room was very comfortable, well cleaned. Breakfast was great and rich. Kind staff. We loved also the garden of the Hotel. Location is very well. Important thing: hotel has car park.

Room Tip: Corner room with two balcony was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seldjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The first thing that you encounter at Villa Schuller is a desire to please from all at the front desk and fortunately the rest of the staff have the same helpful approach to making sure you enjoy your stay. The second thing (if your room is anything like ours, is the wonderful views across the sea and to Mount Etna. The third thing that impresses is the location; close enough to the main shopping street to reach it easily but a world apart from the noise and chaos. Villa Schuler is a quiet oasis. Our room was comfortable albeit quite small. The side terrace was a delightful place to sit. My only slight criticism was that for a hotel offering a la carte breakfasts it was a little disappointing to receive so many packaged spreads, cereals etc. a small criticism but certainly not one that would stop me staying again in this hotel. Very good.

Room Tip: Worth trying to get a room with two balconies overlooking the sea. The single sea facing balconies a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baliboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Everything about Villa Schuler is first class - the position, the quality of the fit out and furnishings, the attention to detail everywhere, the friendly attentive staff at all levels. Mr Schuler is justifiably very proud of his family owned hotel and strives tirelessly to ensure that it's long tradition of service excellence is not compromised. Breakfast is wonderful, the view stunning and without doubt the beds are the best in Sicily, if not all Italy.
Having recently returned there after six years and spending three nights there last week I can say that Villa Schuler is every bit as good as I remember it.
A credit to mr Schuler and his exceptional staff

Room Tip: The view from the balcony rooms is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grahame T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for the comments and for drowing attention to a very important, sometimes underestimated aspect:
hotel guests spend at least one fourth of their stay on that small rectangle, so your sleeping comfort is our utmost concern.

All our brand new beds, orthopedic mattresses and allergy free pillows are by SIMMONS, the US leader in beds and mattress innovation.

Arranged with two cushions per person plus two additional cushions in the cupboard, all our beds can be prepared as single beds, as double beds, as twins or in the large bed matrimonial version.

In our Superior Seaview Rooms, in our Top Floor Junior Suites, in the Top Floor Garden View Junior Suite and in our Palm Terrace Junior Suite the large bed/matrimonial version corresponds to a comfortable queen-size bed (170x200 cm/67x79 in).

We are all looking forward to your 3rd stay.

Gerhard Schuler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just spent three nights at Villa Schuler. It was everything the write ups had said - and more!. Our room was on the third floor and had a spectacular view of both the Ioninan Sea and Mt Etna. The room had a balcony with a small clothes line provided by the hotel which was very useful.
The staff were excellent - very helpful on any issues we raised. The breakfast, which is substantial, is served on a terrace overlooking the harbour - it really is an amazing start to the day.
The hotel is very well situated to explore Taormina by foot. Plus very handy to a wide range of restaurants.
We had a very early checkout and they arranged for the breakfast to be delivered to our room at 5.30 - a very nice touch in the circumstances. Just great service.
I would strongly recommend this hotel - the drive is well worth it and they provide a welcoming drink which helps calm the nerves.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Value for money is one of the most commonly misused marketing slogans.

But if the comment comes from a guest after his hotel stay, it is obviously a highly appreciated one.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you again at our Villa Schuler.

Gerhard Schuler & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I recently organized a group stay in this small, charming, owner-run hotel and I cannot praise it and its staff sufficiently. Although we were a group all our rooms were individually furnished and uniquely positioned. There were several price ranges to choose from reflecting size and extras such a balcony or terrace. All are extremely comfortable (Simmonds' mattresses, crisp white linens, luxurious towels) and spotlessly clean. Some of the rooms have glorious sea views, some have views over the beautiful garden - all the views are worth looking out at. Bathrooms too vary and while some are small they all have been designed cleverly to have all the amenities you need - like lots of shelves instead of just the standard tiny one over the basin as in so many other establishments. Breakfast each day is taken on the stunning terrace and served a la carte. No stale old buffet here... fresh fruit is fresh, the scrambled eggs are cooked just for you, the bread and croissants are straight from the bakery. All to be enjoyed while drinking in the truly magnificent views over the bay of Giardini Naxos and the sparkling Ionian Sea. The hotel is two minutes from the Village's main thoroughfare Corso Umberto II and yet when you come into the garden through the gate you leave all the hustle and bustle behind and find yourself in an oasis of green tranquility. It is also just two minutes from the Communal Gardens worth a visit for its history and plants. If you need transfers, tours or any extra the multilingual staff are friendly, knowledgeable and very much in touch with the best services that Taormina has to offer. Nothing is too much bother! This is a three star hotel but like me, you will give it many more. A big thank you to everyone at Hotel Villa Schuler for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asarahd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Asarahd,

thank your for your positive feedback. It was a great pleasure helping you in organizing the two small groups of your botanic society to our area.
All transfers and all the various excursions of your intense programm took place without hassles or delays and we are all happy to have received so many compliments from your clients on both departure days.

Organizing small groups is both delicate and stimulating. The programs are usually tight and it takes attention to details as well as reliable local partners to make sure that everything runs smooth in order to help creating a successful customer oriented experience.

Greetings from the whole team

Gerhard Schuler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Charming villa owned for more that 100 years by the Schuler family. Excellent location just minutes away from the city center (via Umberto I) and Villa Comunale gardens. The hotel has its own garage. Stunning views from the panoramic terrasse over Taormina, the Ioninan sea and the Etna. Bedrooms face either the sea or a charming garden at the rear of the villa. A delicious breakfast is served outdoor (weather permitting) in a terrasse overlooking the sea. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. I would stay again at Villa Schuler.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CPeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,031 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 87 in Taormina
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
860 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 87 in Taormina
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Property: Hotel Villa Schuler
Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere, the 4 Star Hotel is superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. Official cathegory: 4 STAR HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing