We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect stay in Taormina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Schuler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“perfect stay in Taormina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

first of all, we were gasping at the views on the approach to the hotel which really sets the excitement! looking back it is my absolute favorite stay and I can't stop thinking about when I can go back. The location overlooks the ocean and we had room 32 with a terrace and ocean view. This hotel has the best ocean views in Taormina. The staff are the absolute best. They anticipate your every need and are extremely efficient. This level of efficiency and desire to help in every detail is rare to see.
The breakfast was so good and a real highlight for us. We looked forward to it so much every day. The granita and brioche is to die for and made fresh every day. The staff in the dining room, Rosita and Eduardo were so wonderful and always so efficient and helpful.
The location is so perfect for abundant shopping and restaurants. Everything just a few steps away from the hotel.

Room Tip: our terrace room faced the ocean with spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live4love4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    232
    26
    15
    4
See reviews for
174
748
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Villa Schuler really does exude old fashioned charm, great location, and the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. We had room 23 which was a lovely room with views of the garden and a cool covered logia to sit out. If I was being hyper critical I would have had more clothes storage in the room but that is not a major issue. I would recommend the restaurant Gambero Rosso reached by going through the garden and turning right. Fantastic seafood spagetti and run by two really friendly sisters. All in all this must be one of the best places to stay in Taormina.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rintintin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

There is some kind of old fashioned romantic feeling in this hotel and location. Building, garden and views are beautiful. Service was good, staff helpful and friendly and rooms clean. Location is perfect in the center of Taormina with stunnig views and quiet surrounding. We loved breakfast and way it was served.
Vallet parking is must.

Room Tip: Balconyroom with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sannastiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

You know when a hotel is good, you arrive for 1 night and end up staying for a week!

Villa Schuler is a wonderful, 100 year old family run beautiful hotel in Taormina. The service was excellent throughout from the night porter on our arrival back after a great evening to the cleaners you meet on your way to breakfast in the morning.

They have an extensive botanical garden - you walk through an iron gate up a short set of steps and are immediately on the famous pedestrianised walkway. Parking was easy - once you arrive they will pop your car directly outside the hotel ready for you to use.

It is a beautiful pink coloured hotel looking out over fabulous sea views, nestled amidst some of the most exclusive hotels in the area. There is a roof top terrace with a binocular set up so you can get great views every evening of Mount Etna spewing out its red molten lava.

The rooms are lovely and as we ended up staying beyond the 1 night, we had the opportunity to sample a few - uniquely each room is very special, albeit the sea view room (34) and Junior Suite on the ground floor (3) proved the best.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on the 3rd floor (ideally room 34). If you want more space and easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I use to travel a lot as a professional in hospitality bussiness and I'm really glad to give my highest rating to Villa Shuler as my favourite place where to stay in Taormina. In a very busy an turistic place like Taormina, is not easy to find an accomodation like this: perfect location to enjoy the center and the breathless sea view, very good value for money, very excellent and professional approach to the customer from all the staff and taking care to everything you need. Good rooms size, very well refurbishing style and status, comfortable beds. The breakfast is excellent (in the summer we've enjoyed it on the seaview terrace) and always "a la carte" with high quality food and very kind service at the table, valet parking for a reasonable price (if you drive to Taormina, you'll love it!) .
And last but not least, always smiling...Bravo'!

Room Tip: don't miss the rooms with the seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The picturesque town immediately took my breathe away, I was greeted by a very helpful conceirge, who saved me from the steps. There is a door to the lift just by the small parking. This same conceirge never failed to greet me with sincerity every time we met. Receptionists are fantastic, such genuine smiles and kind assistance to every needs. In fact, such warmth and great hospitality from breakfast to housekeeping too!

Spend a little more on the rooftop room with balcony, the killer ocean view made it all worthwhile! It is August and Taormina is extremely crowded, Yet, the tranquility of Villa Schuler is a real oasis but within close proximity to everywhere by foot! Love the high ceiling in my room and the standing shower with jets. Clean and new interiors with a very comfortable bed! The romantic ambience of this charming little villa will put a smile on your face!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view terrace rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salsacapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
553 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Taormina is an expensive town/city in peak season and unfortunately guests know that when trying to make a booking; we are no different.

This hotel has an excellent position; just a short walk up stairs to the centre of the town.

Our room rate was EUR248 per night for the Junior Suite, that had a reasonable sized bedroom, separate sitting area, terrace sitting area, AND one of the smallest bathrooms we've ever seen in a hotel that prides itself on its ranking.
Our guess is that the total room area including sitting areas was probably nearly 400 square feet, and the bathroom perhaps 30 square feet.
The shower measured barely 3 feet x 3 feet and was a fibreglass shell.
It is quite amazing that anyone would actually design their best room, or one of their best with such a disfunctional bathroom.

We found the bed quality very good; we enjoy a firm bed, and can also confirm what others have said that you do hear noises from other rooms, in our case the room above because the floors are tiled and we could hear furniture being dragged across the floor.

The breakfast is substantial, however ordering from a menu and having the food prepared for you does take longer than simply taking what you want from a buffet.

We had a very good view of Mt Etna from the balcony, and also went to the rooftop lounge one night to look through the hotel's binoculars at the current eruption.

We found the staff quite business-like; certainly not rude but perhaps needing to relax a little when communicating with guests.

We felt the policy of obliging guests to pay EUR15 per night to guarantee parking space a little unfair when 2 lucky guests can get free on-street parking.
We think it would be fairer to either charge everyone the same price wherever they park, or simply include the parking cost in the room rate seeing that the hotel has 22 parking spaces available for its 27 rooms it's clear that the hotel expects its guests to park at the hotel; there is no on-street parking available within 500m of the hotel.

We missed the bottled water given daily to guests by many other Sicilian hotels of far lesser standing, especially in summer.

When we returned to our room on the 1st day of our stay around 1pm and the room had not been cleaned it was suggested that we should have said when going out that we wanted the room cleaned, even though we'd left the "please make up the room sign" on the door when going out.
When the room was finally done we found that the towels we'd hung for re-use had been replaced; reception assured us this was an anomaly because staff never replace hung towels, but we wonder if in fact that's the case.

A clock would be a useful addition to the in room amenities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnpsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, Manager at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Thank you for your overall positive review. You missed to mention a few details, some statements are incorrect, some suggestions are opinionable. So let me tell our side of the story.

You complained about the small bathroom of our Palm Terrace Junior Suite but forgot to mention that you booked directly on our website where this JS is described to have a “smaller bathroom with Jacuzzi shower”. In our email confirmation you received again the same description „with smaller bathroom with Jacuzzi shower” (and not a “fibreglass shell”).

In your public comment you should at least have been honest when quoting the measures of the bathroom: exactly 38 square feet (and not 30), admittedly still small compared to our other bathrooms but this is not a matter of designer’s mistakes: it reflects the original size of this Junior Suite built in 1936, measures that cannot structurally be changed in our historic building.

But at least we were and are honest when describing our rooms. Our Palm Terrace JS is described of being a large Junior Suite with a smaller bathroom.

Your complaint about the chambermaids not having made up your room at 1:00 pm on day one is slightly exaggerated considering the fact that they start making up the rooms after 10:00 am (in order not to disturb late sleepers) and what means that they cannot complete all rooms before 1 pm.

As our receptionist explained to you when you lively complained at the front desk about this, it should have been sufficient to have previously informed the reception about your special requests in order to have the room made up before a certain time.
You must admit that this misunderstanding happened only on the first day of your stay, not on the others, so we adapted to your special request during the rest of your stay.

Bathroom towels: this is the first time a client complains about our chambermaids being overactive and replacing wet towels.
You must admit that this misunderstanding happened only on the first day of your stay, not on the others, so we adapted to your special request during the rest of your stay.

Garage: this is also the first time a clients suggests to let all clients pay for our garage valet services, even those ones not arriving with a car. Additional services are on request and so we cannot agree with your proposal.

Your statement “there is no on-street parking available within 500 m of the hotel“ is also not correct: a public parking is right in front of our hotel. Here we rented two spaces from the City of Taormina and allow our clients to use them free of charge: first come first served.
We are one of the few hotels in the medieval town centre of Taormina having also garage spaces for our clients and our valet parking service is a unique, efficient and appreciated advantage.

Gerhard Schuler
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Property: Hotel Villa Schuler
Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Taormina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere. Superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing