We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely, friendly, well-run hotel in a fantastic location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Schuler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
oldgarsingtonian
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely, friendly, well-run hotel in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

We enjoyed a wonderful week in Taormina in May, and our stay at the Villa Schuler was everything we'd hoped for. From the moment we arrived it was obvious this was a well-run hotel; staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were spotless and well-maintained, and we'd been put in a sea-facing room with a balcony - just as we'd requested.
The hotel's location is just about perfect - in a quiet spot that's a 5-minute stroll from the centre of town, overlooking the sea, and with snow-capped Mount Etna in the distance.
Breakfast was served on a sunny palm-lined terrace with stupendous views, and what a breakfast! Forget the usual coffee and a bread roll, there are six courses if you wish - choose from cereal, bread rolls, toast, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fried/boiled eggs, cold meats...
Suffice to say, we didn't need lunch during our stay!!
The hotel also has free Wifi and, if you don't mind the 15-minute walk, it's just across the road from a path that takes you down the cliff to the town's railway station.
Taormina itself is a lovely little town, not as expensive as we'd feared, and we had the benefit of a fanatstic week weather-wise. But what made our week so enjoyable was our stay at the Villa Schuler. The amazing view from our balcony will be hard to forget.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldgarsingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    233
    26
    15
    4
See reviews for
175
752
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

We enjoyed a beautiful week at Villa Schuler at the start of July 2009.
The location was perfect, down a few steps of the Corso Umberto, the main thoroughfare or you can approach it from the Via Roma. As you descend the steps towards the Villa the bustling sounds from the Corso disappear and you enter the tranquil garden of the hotel.
We had a top-floor junior suite with panoramic views, sun-loungers A/C etc. and we spent many hours relaxing on the veranda. The hotel has been very well planned: I noticed many little thoughtful touches that make a stay more enjoyable. When we entered the suite I noticed a bottle of Nero d’Avalo waiting for us and it had the hotel’s own label on it!
The garden provides a beautiful place to relax, without leaving the hotel. There is an abundance of plant life and a small pool with goldfish and terrapins(?).
There is also a terrace, which is used for serving breakfast (which can also be taken indoors) and we also used it to enjoy a drink late one evening, where we could enjoy the views and a music performance from a nearby square. Very romantic!
Breakfast was served on the terrace, on tables dressed in linen and gleaming cutlery and porcelain. A basket of mixed breads is presented first and orders taken for ham, eggs, fruit, orange juice etc. Such a beautiful breakfast, with the sun shining, Etna overseeing the event and Taormina awakening, is a experience.
The staff is something special: always warm, welcoming and perceptive. (My wife prefers a really soft pillow and on our first night used a provided blanket as a pillow. Next day an extra soft pillow was provided, without having to ask: the cleaning lady obviously noticed!)
The hotel is exceptionally clean, a real tribute to the hardworking staff. Receptionists and servers appear to be polyglots, which can make every resident feel “at home”.
There is no swimming pool or restaurant in the hotel and if you have problems with mobility Taormina itself might pose problems, but the hotel is ideal for rest and relaxation. Swimming and many excellent restaurants are readily available.
We had only one gripe: we were due to leave early on a Sunday morning and requested a pot of tea and a coffee in our room at 7:00am so I settled our bill on Saturday evening and watched the receptionist complete a form requesting room service at 7:00am. Breakfast service on the terrace starts at 7:30am but room service is available if breakfast is required before then. However, the tea and coffee never arrived at 7:00am (I was also using the delivery as an alarm call!) but luckily, we were awake and when I called reception at 7:20am some tea and coffee was delivered to the room. This is a small complaint and the only complaint I could make after what was a magical holiday for us.
The Villa Schuler is a special place, with a dedicated staff, perfect location and facilities (it also has a very interesting history). If we return to Taormina we would hope to stay there and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorcafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, manager / owner at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, 8 August 2009
We improved our services based on your precious feedback.
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write a long and detailed review about your last stay in our hotel.
We appreciated all your positive comments about the hotel in general, the quality of the room and about our perceptive staff. Thank you above all for drowing my attention to that minor incident that happened on the morning of your departure. It gave me the opportunity to undestand how we can avoid future errors like this one and to take action. It was actually a misundestanding that had no serious consequences and that I would like to explain.

As you correctly stated, our breakfast service served “a la carte” both in our dining room as well and on our panoramic palm terrace starts at 7.30 a.m. On check-in we explain to arriving clients that breakfast can also be organised anytime before 7.30 just by informing our reception staff anytime on the previous day or even just before getting to bed. In this case clients have the possibility to list all items they wish to order from our Breakfast Menu and to register opting for our usual full breakfast served in the breakfast room or even to have their breakfast brought to their room at no surcharge. When you ordered your breakfast the previous evening it was obviously not cleared well enough that you opted for the room service option instead for the breakfast room option.

I can confirm that that morning I was personally at the reception at 7.00 a.m. and that our kitchen staff had your breakfast already fully prepared to be served in the breakfast room for the wished time.
In this case breakfast staff are instructed to wait for late clients up to exacty 15 minutes, then the reception has to be contacted immediately in order to call the room to check about the delay. Around 7.15 you called the reception. I answered personally and I immediately realised the misundestanding. I was embassased, I apologised, and your breakfast was immediately brought up to your Top Floor Junior Suite withing 3 - 4 minutes.
Since that little incident we accordingly actually printed a new “Early Breakfast Order Form”and our reception staff has now clearly to mark one of the two options: “in the breakfast room” or “in the room”. So I’m sure that this unusual misundestanding will most probably never ever happen again. Thank you dearly for helping us improve our services.
Gerhard Schuler
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moscow
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

splendidn hotel, the best view in Taortmina, central location yet very calm, beautiful garden, superb breakfast, very friendly staff, clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irina_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

three couples of us stayed here this March. we lucked out on the weather and we totally lucked out on my choice of Villa Schuler. What a beautiful setting - out one side you see the sea and out the other you see Mt Etna. My husband and I had a room with TWO balconies offering views of sea and moutain.

The staff is very helpful and friendly and the breakfast is to die for. Anything you could want and a view made in heaven. we were able to eat outside on the patio overlooking the sea - I didn't want to leave. You are also very close to everything in Taormina and able to walk everywhere.

we have a van, which is a tricky think in Taormina. As we drove up to hotel, staff awaited us, took the van and parked it in a garage and we never had to give it another thought.

by far my favorite hotel this trip (Rome-Sorrento-Amalfi-Sicily)!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rorlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

The hotel is situated less than 50 metres from the main street with fantastic views over the sea and Mount Etna – position “AAA”. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel and overlooked a wonderful mature garden with views up the hill overlooking Taormina. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, but one of the highlights of our stay was the breakfasts served each morning on the terrace overlooking the sea and Etna – the cappuccino was sensational. All the staff were welcoming and very helpful. Villa Schuler is certainly the best hotel that we have ever used in Taormina. We only booked 2 nights but could have stayed for ever.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MagellansTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Staff was very helpful. Breakfast on lovely veranda with views of Etna and sea was served to one's talbe--very tasty. We were able to have our car parked near hotel(at no charge because there was room). Rooms have great views and the garden behind hotel is beautiful--walk through it, and you're on the streets of the city!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilyirv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catskill Mountains, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

We were three women sharing one room that had a lovely view of the sea. Each of us had a comfortable bed and plenty of space for our things. The bathroom was roomy and had a magnifying makeup mirror and a number of hooks for our towels and toiletry bags. There was even a bathroom stool! Breakfast was served on the outdoor terrace overlooking Mt Etna and was as complete and delicious as one could ask for. The staff was more than helpful and courteous. We would definitely recommend the Villa Schuler. While it is a bit pricey, it is well worth the money. I would definitely stay there again. It was also very convenient to the old town.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Property: Hotel Villa Schuler
Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Taormina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere. Superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing