We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2009

we stayed here for just one night but found it to be excellent. The staff were very friendly and I accidentally left a pair of shoes behind and they kept them for me and I picked them up when we returned to Taormina. The room was perfectly clean and a good big bathroom.The location is very good, off the main street of Taormina. I have to say that I liked Taomina but wasn't terribly impressed by the beach we went to. It was only ok.

Overall the hotel is excellent and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dublin15chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2009

The Hotel Villa Schuler was the most expensive hotel we stayed in on our 10 day trip around Sicily. This comes down to the spectacular views and the location which is a mere minute walk to the main pedestrian street in Taormina. We booked the Sunrise Junior Suite which was advertised as being a smaller room which was very true. The room was quite small however the balcony by comparison was quite large. The balcony was lovely to sit on in the evening or early morning before it got too hot (it had direct sun in the morning only). We could see Mt Etna if we looked to the right at the edge of the balcony. The only problem with the balcony was that the front of the balcony was concrete and quite high so that you had to be sitting in a chair (and not the lounger) to be able to see the view of the sea. A small complaint really.

The room was nice but nothing flash which was a surprise for the price. The bathroom was also small but functional. Breakfast was very nice on the large terrace overlooking the sea. We paid €15 per day for the guaranteed parking which was ok and we noticed there were no other spots to chance getting your own car spot. We got 10% off for paying in cash and 10% off for staying 2 nights, but we still felt we paid a lot. I wouldn't stay in the same room as we felt it was a bit small. The overall experience however at Villa Schuler was good, so I'd probably stay there again in a cheaper room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerhardSchuler, owner and manager at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2009

Dear guest, we appreciated your positive comments about our hotels and its spectacular views. We decided to reply in order to focus tripadvisor reader’s attention on some unfortunately slightly incorrect or at least inaccurate and therefore possibly misleading statements and descriptions of this review.

All our Sunrise Junior Suites are located in our Top Floor and are described as beeing smaller than their neighbouring, larger Top Floor Junior Suites. The smaller Sunrise Junior Suites are obviously also offered at a cheaper rate. Our Sunrise Junior Suites are indeed advertised as beeing smaller, as admitted by the author of this review. They are also advertised and described as having also a smaller bathroom, which is unfortunately something this review forgets to admit.

Additionally, the review repeatedly and erroneously mentions a “balcony”, while all our Sunrise Junior Suites have a large “terrace” sized 9,1 square meters (11 square yards), large enough for the two large sunbeds and for a small stool/side-table. There is even space enough there for our guests to exit and place on those terraces also the arm-chairs and the table of their adjoining veranda-sitting area, which is positioned between the sleeping room and the sea front terrace.

It is correct that the sea front of the sun terrace is concrete, but to define the concrete railing as “quite high” is slightly misleading because readers might immagine a kind of wall obstructing the seaview. The hight of exactly one meter (39,4 inches) corresponds to the minimum height requested by the european security laws for hotel railings and balconies. All our hotel railings and balconies fully satisfy all the norms and are therefore absolutely safe, even for guests with childrens. All our hotel railings are antique hand forged wrought iron masterpieces. Only our top floor Junior Suites have larger concrete railings, due to architectonic regulations applying to our historic building. The iron railings of all our other rooms obviously provide a more scenic look-through effect. But just lean your elbows comfortably on the large top floor concrete railings and you will also be able to enjoy what has been described to be probably the most scenic view of Sicily. “Spectacular Views”, as the title of the review.

Stating to have “paid a lot” is an individual personal and discussable opinion that we obviously respect, supporting and circumstantiating this kind of opinion using slightly incorrect descriptions is something we somehow needed to rectify.

For the sake of transparency, here the copied and pasted description of our Sunrise Junior Suites which everybody can double-check on our official web site and which we verbatimly also use both in our hotel correspondence when offering and confirming this room type, as well as in our direct online-booking system:

"Sunrise Junior Suite: smaller top floor room in south-east position, veranda with sitting area, sun terrace overlooking the sea with sunbeds. Small bathroom with Jacuzzi shower and hair dryer, individually controlled A/C, telephone, free Wi-Fi, satellite TV with radio and alarm clock, refrigerator and safe".

Personally I dearly deeply hope that our client from the beautiful World City of Dublin will not feel anywise offended by this somehow necessary, small rectifications and we all here at the Villa Schuler trust to be able to welcome him again here at our hotel as our valued guest.

Gerhard Schuler – Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We had an amazing time in Taormina and choose Hotel Villa Schuler to our stayed was the best thing we do!
The hotel has the wonderful view and the rooms are spacious and clean. The staff was very kidness to us all the time. We love the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariamagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

This hotel appears to be managed with much love and professional skills. We enjoyed our stay there very much, (though Taormina could not convince us as a city).
The Villa Schuler has an incredible garden, where you can sit and read or just try to flee the summer heat.
Our room was large and had a beautiful balcony. Everything is beautifully decorated and very clean. Breakfast and breakfast service are excellent, and the view from the terrace is just overwhelming.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graupas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We stayed for 5 nights in a top floor Junior Sunrise Mini Suite. Whilst fairly small, the room had a nice balcony with fantastic sea views and views out to Etna. Our friends had a room on the 1st floor that was larger but with only a very small balcony. We would have been equally happy in either room. The entire hotel was spotless and in an extremely good state of repair. The room was air conditioned and this worked well. The terrace was great for lazy breakfasts and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The staff seem to speak an endless range of languages, putting us Brits to shame! The hotel garden at the rear is a delight too. The hotel location is great - it's 30 seconds off the main Corso Umberto down a flight of steps to the garden entrance and so is very conveniently located but also quiet and peaceful. Being on a steep hillside, Taormina would best appeal to reasonably active and able bodied people as getting around and enjoying the endless beautiful alleyways and streets does involve hills and steps. The only downside - no pool, but the beach is about 15 minutes away by cable car. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraffitiSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our wedding in Taormina this summer.
Hotel is great and has a very good location.
The hotel staff was friendly and helped us a lot during our stay.
Breakfast is also very good.
Looking forward to stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripper72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We have recently returned from our third visit to Villa Schuler. We spent ten days in a top floor suite overlooking the whole bay. We had a spacious bedroom , bathroom, sitting area with table and chairs, empty fridge ( very useful for wine, snacks, nibbles etc ) and a sun terrace with loungers perfect for a drink in the evening while watching the glittering lights of the bay and if you are lucky listening to the music from the nearby Greek Theatre. The hotel is kept beautifully maintained. All the rooms are different , the hotel is very charming in an old fashioned sort of way with a mixture of antique sicilian furniture. Breakfast on the Palm Terrace is a pleasure. Served individually ( no buffet here ) the choice is to long to describe. At the back of the hotel there is a beautiful botanical garden which includes the pool with the terrapins (must say hello in the mornings. )Wander through and you are on Taormina,s famous main street the Corso Umberto. Taormina for us ticks all the right boxes, quaint, beautiful churches, lovely shops, restaurants to sult all, little alleyways, cafes to peoplewatch. We like to explore the surrounding areas ourselves and with a very good bus and train service (and help from friendly hotel staff for timetables etc ) this is possible and very rewarding.
We travel from Gatwick to Catania and the hotel arrange for a car to pick us up not bad at 75 euro , but buses and trains are available. We would like to thank Gerhard Schuler, Anna, Julia,Katja and Roswitha , breakfast staff and all for a friendly smile and making our stay perfect. We certainly hope to return to Villa Schuler.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tompic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#33 of 87 in Taormina
488 reviews
0.8 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £125 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere, the 4 Star Hotel is superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. Official cathegory: 4 STAR HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing