We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional service with an ongoing atmosphere of efficiency”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2006

It was very clear to us after staying at the Hotel Villa Schuler in Taormina, Italy this June ; that the atmosphere was one of cordial efficiency and professionalism. To that end, the general manager, Mr. Gerhard Schuler, worked diligently to help secure a pair of lost shoes that my husband had left behind in a hotel in Lake Como. He forwarded them to us here in the U.S. after making sure all the necessary paper work required was completed and appropriately secured. Afterall this, there was no doubt in our minds of the efficiency and personal service displayed on Mr. Schuler's part .
It was easy to understand why the hotel was remarkably clean, well-serviced and managed. Under the direction of Mr. Schuler, our needs were met during our stay and thereafter! I would most assuredly visit again with my husband and two teenage daughters. The location was perfectly located and the proximity to the town made us feel very comfortable when our daughters wanted to get gelato or shop on their own during the daytime. What a wonderful find we secured through Hidden Treasures of Italy. Thanks, Mariella!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank fayecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 811 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2006

We stayed in a 'junior suite' because all the normal rooms had been booked; the room was quite large, with a small 'sitting area' and a good balcony overlooking the sea. Unfortunately the bathroom was very small for the price of the room, so much so that the sink was actually in the entrance corridor.

Everthing was clean and modern, the staff were helpful and the position of the hotel was unbeatable. Simply walk through the hotel's lovely gardens and you are on the main pedestrianised part of the town, yet our room had sea views and was very quiet.

The hotel charged 14euro per night for car parking which seemed a bit steep, and the breakfast only included bread and coffee plus 2 'extra' items (orange juice was an extra item) which is a bit stingy.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank SteveLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2006

What a wonderful place! Imagine a terrace from where you look either straight onto the see, or to the snow covered Etna on your right or - to your left - the village with its greek-roman theatre and the wonderful dark and fresh green of the trees in the park. I spent many peaceful hours there.

In the morning during breakfast time there is no need to run for your food to one of these damned buffets; you choose whatever you want from a sumptuous menu and then breakfast is served to you. In this way you get in touch with the flair and comfort of a hotel, which was built at the end of the 19thcentury. From this terrace I had vivid imagination why so many intellectuals of the time pilgrimmed to Taormina.

Even if the house inflicted in me some nostalgic impressions it has all the comfort of a modern building: solar energy, elevator, the rooms are wide and nicely decorated, most of them with sea view.
I enjoyed the familiar and nevertheless efficient way to run the place.

In the morning of my last day I ended up on the roof terrace: the Etna coloured in the pink-orange shine of the rising sun.
Renate, from Brussels

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
20  Thank renatebrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2006

Villa Schuler was recommended by Karen Brown and was truly a jewel! My husband and I had a lovely second floor room with a balcony facing the sea. The bathroom was new, lovely and large with a wonderful shower. The rooms were clean and the service was excellent. The staff was helpful and even sent us to a wonderful quiet restaurant for dinner and also helped us make arrangements to go the beach. We sent some clothes out to the laundry and didn't expect them until the next day and they were in our room folded and ironed the very same day. They have a lovely outside garden and have a wonderful central location. We met friends there who made their reservation after we did and their room was on the first floor. They also had a view of the sea, but their bathroom was smaller. They were also happy with the service and the cleaniness of the hotel. We paid to have our car parked and it was garaged under the hotel, but we could get it out quickly if we needed it. We would definitely stay at this hotel again!! All of the staff spoke English and were extremely friendly and helpful!

19  Thank kat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

We just arrived back from 3 weeks touring Sicily .( 4 nights at Villa Schuler ). Friend`s recommended this Hotel. It was the Best Hotel we stayed at . Great views of Taormina ,Spotless,Huge Breakfast`s , Lovely Garden`s,Friendly helpful staff and so.. central. Every request was dealt with instantly and with a smile .We had a long drive to Palermo the day we left, and were even given hints to avoid Palermo`s crazy traffic .We will be staying here next time we visit Taormina..

Stayed: June 2006
23  Thank emaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

Stayed: June 2006
22  Thank Schway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank johnlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#33 of 87 in Taormina
488 reviews
0.8 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £125 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere, the 4 Star Hotel is superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. Official cathegory: 4 STAR HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing