We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful setting, wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2006

Our family very much enjoyed our stay at the Villa Schuler. The setting is excellent and the views are beautiful. Breakfast on the terrace is a wonderful experience. The staff was courteous, very nice and very helpful regarding sightseeing in and around the area as well as for day trips from Taormina. We could not have been more pleased.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2006

You simply cannot miss with the Villa Schuler. Efficient German management, beautiful outdoor breakfast area and comfortable rooms are only part of the value of this hotel. It is in a quiet area, but just a few steps to Corso Umberto, where the nightly passegiata ensues. I stayed here many years ago and the sea views with Etna in the distance are incomparable. Rear rooms face a beautiful, verdant garden. Taormina is quite simply paradise if you look beyond the tourist hordes!!

  • Stayed: September 2002, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Italicizeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2006

We were at the Villa Schuler for 3 nights this month; the location is teriffic. It's only a 2 minute walk from the main shopping street in Taormina, and it's an easy stroll, though perhaps uphill, to all the places of interest in town.

My wife has decided that the best way to travel in Europe is to take the upgrade room in a 3 star hotel. It seemed to hold true everywhere we went on this trip to Sicily and Rome. The complimentary breakfast is served on a lovely terrace with views of the sea. The food in all of Sicily was above the average (except, perhaps, in Agrigento) .

The garden at the Villa Schuler is a delight, a wonderful place to recover from all the sightseeing and shopping and it's a bit magical at night. We strolled through the garden on the way to "town" every time we left the hotel.

It's the only hotel I've been to in Europe that actively encouraged their guest to do their own laundry. They are clothes lines and pins on the balcony and a clothes line in the shower. We were able to leave for Rome with most of clothes clean after a week of touring Sicily. Be sure to reserve a place in their garage. It's easily worh the E14 they charge; the parking in Taormina could be a nightmare! They don't take credit cards!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Ed 'n Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2006

We spent six nights on third floor with seaview and could barely tear ourselves away from either of our balconies. Wow. So romantic! The room was large and simply furnished; the bathroom large and recently remodeled with spa tub, etc. Breakfast was excellent with croissants, rolls, eggs, ham, fresh fruit plate, juice, and cappuchino and espresso custom-made for the asking. Hotel service was fine and efficient; we received many excellent restaurant recommendations. We used Villa Schuler as a base for explorations of Aetnea (which was erupting during our stay), Taormina, Giardini Naxos, Enna, and Piazza Amerina. The garden in back was lovely (be careful of no-see-ums) and well cared for. It was a delight to spend some time with the gardener, who is also an accomplished artist (and painted the large mural in the reception area). Yes, the parking cost is stiff, as it is at every hotel in Taormina, but we felt the price was worth not worrying over our car at night.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Maralina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

Just got back on 10/20/06.. The property was everything we expected and more. Service delightful in all respects. Immaculate! Convenient to everything. Had jr. suites facing the sea.. View has to be one of the prettiest on the planet. THEY DRY THE LINENS ON A CLOTHESLINE, OUTDOORS!! Does anyone not love the smell of laundry dried in the sun? Our room not only had a balcony but an awning you could extend or retract for whatever your comfort zone may be. Between the room and balcony was a sun room should the weather not suit being outdoors.. What more could you ask? Breakfast, could be eaten outside on the terrace, with or without an umbrella, in a gazebo, or indoors.. It just doesn't get any better than this!
Gardens, gardens and more gardens.. Little slice of heaven.
Do not hesitate to book this charmer! Lee J.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lleecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

We stayed there for 5 nights in mid-october and found the Villa Schuler to be very close to Corso Umberto just up a steep set of steps and your there, all the antiques shops and jewellers you could ever want. The Schuler is well kept, all marble and nicely designed and has wonderful views over the bay down to Giardina Naxos. The bathroom was very small as was the wardrobe, but the junior suite itself had a nice balcony, beds were two singes ushed together and there was a electronic safe, unstocked mini bar for storage and satellite tv. Breakfast was off a menu with croissants, coffee and bread gratis along with two other choices, ie Orange Juice and Ham. I would prefer a buffet but thats personal choice. The Schuler has nice gardens and is a well kept property, If you want to stay in a luxury B&B then its a good choice, If you want a hotel with lots of amenities then look elsewhere, Taormina is full of restaurants, one we found that was great was Mamma Rosas also off Corso Umberto, Angelos for Wine and great food, La Botte, Meditteranean Cafe has nice wine and snack food.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Buckshint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineVoss, public relation manager at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2006

Sorry, but it is wrong and misleading to state that the Villa Schuler is a “B&B and not a hotel” and it does no justice to the long list of amenities and services we offer.
This is to confirm that the Hotel Villa Schuler, Taormina, Sicily is a 3 STAR RATED HOTEL, as officially registered in the district tourist board, the AAPIT in Messina as well as in the offical national list of italian hotels published by ENIT. We are a 3 star hotel without restaurant, which is absolutely legal. Most 3 star hotels in Taormina have no restaurant. So you have the choice of having lunch or dinner in the 100 odd restaurants, trattorie or wine bars in town allowing you to get a real, genuine taste of the various local specialites. Of course we have many restaurants we can recommend and also some others we have an agreement with, allowing our clients to enjoy lunch or dinner for 15,00 Euro/person using our courtesy restaurant-card and choosing between several neighbouring, characteristic restaurants.
The amenities and services of the Hotel Villa Schuler go well beyond the international 3 star requirements both as far as services and safety regulations is concerned. Just to name a few: lobby, a panoramic lift, a winter garden, the sun-roof, the palm-terrace pavilion, satellite TV room, bar, breakfast room, small library, piano, Wi-Fi and laptop service, internet point, 24-hour bar and room service, laundry service, parking, garages with valet parking, central heating. The 19th-century aristocratic sicilian villa in the historical center of medieval Taormina, is located in a gorgeous exotic park of 16.000 sq feet with ancient palms, pines and cypresses. Our 21 spacious rooms, and 6 Junior Suites are all with individually controlled A/C, full bathroom with Jacuzzi tub or shower, hairdryer, orthopaedic beds, telephone, Wi-Fi, satellite TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic safe, unstocked refrigerator, sound-proofed doors, double-glazing and fire allarm, most of them with sea view, furnished balcony, terrace or loggia. Junior Suites on our elevated ground floor or on the top (3rd) floor are all with unstocked refrigerator, veranda/sitting area and terrace. You have the choice of having expanded breakfast served “à la carte” in the breakfast room, on the panoramic terrace overlooking the whole coastline, in the palm-terrace pavilion or in your room with no extra charges. Courtesy mountain bikes on the premises. Tennis courts nearby. Regular shuttle-service to various beaches. Our multilingual reception team organises transfers and excursions, restaurant and hotel reservations, as well as reservations for flights, ships, ferries and trains - solving all kind of problems our clients might get across during their individual trip to Sicily.
Christine Voss, assistant to manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2006

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in August for eight days. We were delighted at the way we were treated throughout our stay. We found the property most conveniently located, no more than three minutes walk from the town centre.
Our room was extremely spacious, meticulously cleaned daily, and the bathroom was excellent. It was hot, but the airconditioning kept us cool at night.
The views of Mt Etna from the breakfast balcony was spectacular. The quality of the breakfast food was good.
The manager was most helpful, looked after us very well, and we will return to stay there again.
We travelled to the beach most days, being picked up at the hotel.
Highly recommended.
John Brady - Australia.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Kangajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,900 reviews
0.8 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £123 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere, the 4 Star Hotel is superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. Official cathegory: 4 STAR HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing