We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2006

I just wanted to express my satisfaction with your wonderful hotel - my stay in October 2006 was superb because of your hotel's special atmosphere, location, service and all other facts of what an excellent hotel should be. I will of course recommend Villa Schuller widely and, if I will return, I will surely stay with you again.
Sophy and Nathan Ish-Shalom, Haifa, Israel

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank ishshalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2006

We stayed at Villa Schuller for the first 3 nights of our 12 day honeymoon in Sicily. Villa Schuler was the perfect place to stay in Taormina. breakfast was great with many choices and the service at the hotel was super. If you have a car, rent a parking space at the Hotel, it makes it so easy. The rooms with balconies overlooking the Ocean are great. I can not say enough, I would stay there again for sure and I recomend Villa Schuler to all.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank AndyBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2006

Our family very much enjoyed our stay at the Villa Schuler. The setting is excellent and the views are beautiful. Breakfast on the terrace is a wonderful experience. The staff was courteous, very nice and very helpful regarding sightseeing in and around the area as well as for day trips from Taormina. We could not have been more pleased.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2006

You simply cannot miss with the Villa Schuler. Efficient German management, beautiful outdoor breakfast area and comfortable rooms are only part of the value of this hotel. It is in a quiet area, but just a few steps to Corso Umberto, where the nightly passegiata ensues. I stayed here many years ago and the sea views with Etna in the distance are incomparable. Rear rooms face a beautiful, verdant garden. Taormina is quite simply paradise if you look beyond the tourist hordes!!

  • Stayed: September 2002, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Italicizeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2006

We were at the Villa Schuler for 3 nights this month; the location is teriffic. It's only a 2 minute walk from the main shopping street in Taormina, and it's an easy stroll, though perhaps uphill, to all the places of interest in town.

My wife has decided that the best way to travel in Europe is to take the upgrade room in a 3 star hotel. It seemed to hold true everywhere we went on this trip to Sicily and Rome. The complimentary breakfast is served on a lovely terrace with views of the sea. The food in all of Sicily was above the average (except, perhaps, in Agrigento) .

The garden at the Villa Schuler is a delight, a wonderful place to recover from all the sightseeing and shopping and it's a bit magical at night. We strolled through the garden on the way to "town" every time we left the hotel.

It's the only hotel I've been to in Europe that actively encouraged their guest to do their own laundry. They are clothes lines and pins on the balcony and a clothes line in the shower. We were able to leave for Rome with most of clothes clean after a week of touring Sicily. Be sure to reserve a place in their garage. It's easily worh the E14 they charge; the parking in Taormina could be a nightmare! They don't take credit cards!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Ed 'n Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2006

We spent six nights on third floor with seaview and could barely tear ourselves away from either of our balconies. Wow. So romantic! The room was large and simply furnished; the bathroom large and recently remodeled with spa tub, etc. Breakfast was excellent with croissants, rolls, eggs, ham, fresh fruit plate, juice, and cappuchino and espresso custom-made for the asking. Hotel service was fine and efficient; we received many excellent restaurant recommendations. We used Villa Schuler as a base for explorations of Aetnea (which was erupting during our stay), Taormina, Giardini Naxos, Enna, and Piazza Amerina. The garden in back was lovely (be careful of no-see-ums) and well cared for. It was a delight to spend some time with the gardener, who is also an accomplished artist (and painted the large mural in the reception area). Yes, the parking cost is stiff, as it is at every hotel in Taormina, but we felt the price was worth not worrying over our car at night.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Maralina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

Just got back on 10/20/06.. The property was everything we expected and more. Service delightful in all respects. Immaculate! Convenient to everything. Had jr. suites facing the sea.. View has to be one of the prettiest on the planet. THEY DRY THE LINENS ON A CLOTHESLINE, OUTDOORS!! Does anyone not love the smell of laundry dried in the sun? Our room not only had a balcony but an awning you could extend or retract for whatever your comfort zone may be. Between the room and balcony was a sun room should the weather not suit being outdoors.. What more could you ask? Breakfast, could be eaten outside on the terrace, with or without an umbrella, in a gazebo, or indoors.. It just doesn't get any better than this!
Gardens, gardens and more gardens.. Little slice of heaven.
Do not hesitate to book this charmer! Lee J.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lleecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
487 reviews
0.8 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £124 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere, the 4 Star Hotel is superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. Official cathegory: 4 STAR HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing