We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Wait to Leave”
Review of Monte Tauro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monte Tauro Hotel
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't Wait to Leave”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The view is nice and pool is decent. That's about it. As soon as we arrived, we had to navigate the car straight down the hill about a two hundred feet. Luckily, the hotel staff was good enough to drive it up and down the steep hill from then on. Regardless, I was with my elderly mother who had to get a ride every time...a real hassle considering we could have just stayed at a hotel on the flat main shopping and restaurant drag for probably less money.

The first day our air conditioning broke, so we endured a sweltering night until they fixed it the next day. It broke again the next night when we returned late from town. I asked to move rooms. They felt real put out by my request and instead of upgrading me to a nicer suite, they punished us by putting us right under their only restaurant and we heard scraping chairs from 6am onward through the paper thin walls and ceiling. I actually asked to be moved back!

Regardless, I can go on and on about how dated this hotel is, from the cheap furniture, small TV and camp bunk type beds. The beds were so hard, that I finally ended up finding another hotel on the main shopping drag called the El Jebel. El Jebel is a first class hotel for the same price as this dump and the bed is sooooo comfortable. See my review for El Jebel.

Do yourselves a favor and stay far away from this three-star at the most hotel. Its a shame, with an upgrade, it could be decent. It appears that this place hasnt been updated since it was built in the 80's (guess). You even had to put in a code every time for the wired internet (no wireless!) The front desk tried to help with everything, but it really wasnt sincere since they knew that there was nothing they could do really.

If you enjoy camping, you will like this place. I only wish I had a blow up mattress. This place blows.

Room Tip: Get a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gotmymojojrkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonteTauro, Direttore at Monte Tauro Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Sir,
we are aware that our steep access road might be a problem , above all for people with walking difficulties , but since it is a public road and not our own private one, there is not much that we can do, except for driving up or down (there is an intercom on top of the road) all those Guests who request it, even if this means helping in driving their cars.
We apologize for the problem you experienced with the air conditioning during your stay, due to a faulty contactor, but believe us, we never meant to punish you in any way. You had booked with Expedia 2 standard rooms for yourself and your mother, and having assigned on check in superior rooms, when the air conditioning broke, we just wanted to move you into another superior room, but with a better view , in fact the room you had , enjoys one of the best views of the Bay of Naxos.
It may not meet the taste of all, but our House underwent a massive € 5 million refurbishment in 2002, when all furniture were changed including TV sets , we now have 32” multi-function TVs from which you can also navigate the web, as well as all mattresses, which may not be soft as you wish, but cannot be compared to a camp bunk, being orthopedic mattresses of a top brand, internationally recognized among the best world producers. At the time of your stay we had complimentary WIFI only in common areas (now available in all areas), and free internet wired connection from all the rooms, for which we provided complimentary cables, for which is needed a username and password as the antiterrorist laws in Italy prescribe.
Allow us to say that maybe since you completed your stay as per your reservation , and your mother added two extra nights, maybe our House is not as bad as you described it.
We would like to thank you, anyway, or taking the time to write your review about our House, since, we always try to treasure all the comments, to improve our services .

Kind regards
Italo Mennella GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    282
    63
    26
    11
See reviews for
94
439
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel recently and found it very comfortable, clean & central. The staff in Reception & in the Restauant in particular were cheerful, helpful & friendly. The girls on reception desk were multi lingual and advised on all tourist queries in a very professional manner. The waiters in the restaurant were great characters, always having a cheerful greeting to their guests. Breakfast was an extensive buffet of a variety of fresh fruits, cereals, breads, pastries, cold meats, eggs, bacon & cheeses. Tasty snacks were served in the poolside bar. The location of the hotel was very central beside the beautiful Botanic Gardens, with Mt Etna rising above it. However I feel it may not be suitable for people who might have any ambulatory problems as there is a steep hill from the hotel to the adjoining roadway. Two small negatives were a) the bar which did not have much atmosphere & b) the free wifi is a 'hotspot' confined to reception area. Overall we had a very good experience & would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raidy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We booked our honeymoon through classic collection holidays and we were not disappointed at all. The views were unbelievable, we were upgraded to a suite which had a walk in closet, hot tub and huge balcony. The hotel laid on fruit and champagne on our arrival and the rep Daisy was really helpful. The loaction was perfect, the restaurants in Taomina are great, it was a truly wonderful place to have a honeymoon. Thanks Classic Collection your advice was 100% spot on.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjlmk4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Hi, I would strongly encourage everyone to stay away from this hotel and sicily! My fiance had already posted her review just after our stay, but obviously it has been removed. Let me start by saying that this hotel was recommended to us by a friend, stating that it was in a great location. The good point are; there was one lovely girl behind the counter that was very warm and accommodating, that is it, thats all the positive remarks we have. When we arrived we were greeted by an extremely arrogant manager, who had no personal skills or manners whatsoever!! We paid an awful lot of money for our room, which did not seem to be the one we booked, it was called the superior room...sounds great doesnt it? actually it was 2 single beds rather that a big king bed in a big room. We rang down and they said we could have a look at another room, we were brought to a room which looked like at least a double bed. On closer inspection, it was actually the 2 small single beds pushed together, which kept sliding apart whilst we were sleeping. This was only the start of things to come.!! I could really go on and on, and trust me I am not generally a complainer, I would rather say nothing, but I seriously cannot hold back my frustration about the list of problems.. It also rained very heavily, which left us confined to our room for 2 days, we had no tv because it was faulty and was supposed to be fixed..everyday we complained about it, they kept saying it should be fixed tomorrow!! Also, the water it the shower was brown!! I dont know whether this was because of the terrible rain...but was absolutely disgusting. I think Ill leave it there because I could go on forever seriously! We came over to see if it would be ideal for our wedding, but no way!!
Stay away
Patrick

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank byrnepatrick21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Monte Tauro, booked through Classic Collection, certainly came up to our expectations. It is peaceful and relaxing, wonderful service and in the very best location to access the town, especially in the evening to visit the many, many restaurants and gorgeous shops! We only ate breakfast in the hotel, it was buffet style with a great selection to suit everyone with happy, friendly and helpful staff. The Reception staff were equally as helpful and friendly, the establishment was extremely clean and tidy and the rooms, all on the front with wonderful views, were excellent. The hotel has to be accessed via a steep slope, but you soon get used to it, and after eating lots of lovely Italian food, it helped to burn off the calories!! (Maybe not suitable for anyone with mobility problems.) A special mention must go to the resident pool attendant - his attention to his hotel residents cannot be faulted; he gave his best at all times!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytosew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable, with fantastic views out across the Bay of Naxos and to Etna behind. Every day, we had another ship moored in the bay below. The only snag to staying at the Monte Tauro is the driveway, which requires a nifty, three-point (or even five-point turn) in a busy, one-way street, down a steep incline. The staff will, however, come up to help if one is phased by this. Taormina is, quite rightly, a tourist magnet and much entertainment can be derived from eavesdropping in pavement cafes as to experiences on the hairpin bends on the way up.

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies and a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Overall my wife & I very much enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

On arrival, the room which we were allocated had an overpowering smell of cleaning materials. Our request for an alternative room was professionally & courteously handled.

I must commend all of the staff who were exceptionally pleasent and helpful especially the pool attendant who insisted that "he do the work while we enjoyed our holiday".

Minor 'quibbles' :-
Room safe is very small. No use for a laptop.
Balconies are seperated by plant pots - so no privicy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Tauro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Tauro Hotel

Property: Monte Tauro Hotel
Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Tauro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Monte Tauro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Tauro Taormina
Hotel Monte Tauro
Monte Tauro Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing