We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”
Review of Monte Tauro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monte Tauro Hotel
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had a week here in May 2012 as the first charter flights arrived from UK.
The setting, views, and facilities were excellent. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The breakfast in the dining room with a view over the bay, and up to Mt Etna was superb. From the front door it is a short steep climb to the main road and within 800 yds are excellent restaurants.
Other people have commented on the difficulty of getting from the road down to reception with suitcases. At the top of the lane, in a metal post is an unmarked intercom to the hotel.If you call they will happily send their little van up the lane to collect your bags, and when you leave they take them up to the road for you.
Would we go back? Yes.

Room Tip: Reception is on 8, restaurant on 7, so its probably better the higher up you are from 6 down
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    282
    63
    26
    11
See reviews for
94
439
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel in June and again in July 2011. The Hotel is an Architectural Marvel, of th Brutalis form, not often available in the form a hotel. The rooms ar clean and spacios, excellent views prevail throughout the hotel, and it is extremely well located, close to the Via Corso, and the many Restaurants and Bars close by.

The pool area is a little small, lounges can be hard to come by, and the cafe fqare is at best average.

Unfortunately my wife's luggage went missing on our flight into Catania, and the Hotel Staff did little to assist in it's recovery. In fact, the staff were quite unco-opertive, and it was only afer our own efforts, and that of a local taxt driver who was aware of our plight the the luggage was recovered, much to the staff's embarassment. A suite was a welcome reward from the hotel.

With this incident aside, I would recommend the hotel for it's architecture, It's location, the rooms and the view. Don't count on the staff though...

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the eastern end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Since this was a group trip, end of March off season, this wonderful hotel was within our budget.
With beautiful, sunny spring weather, some members of my group of 44, were so in love with the views from their large verandas, that they chose to spend a good part of their day enjoying it with lunch from room service and a bottle of wine. The hotel is clean, modern and efficient and staffed by friendly, helpful people. They even opened up their bountiful buffet breakfast for us at 4:00 AM for our early departure! It had every thing from eggs,fresh baked pastries, meats, cheeses, juices and prosecco. I had only hoped for a take-away bag with a piece of fruit and a croissant.
There is a steep driveway to the entrance, but the hotel portered our luggage to the landing on the top, so it was never an issue and most of the group was 60+. You enter the lobby on the 8th floor and you go down to the rooms via glass elevator overlooking the pool and the sea below. Spectacular!
It was a great time to be in uncrowded Taormina.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at the Monte Tauro in May 2011. The hotel is in a good location, right in the centre of town. The views from the hotel are wonderful and the pool and pool area are very well maintained and always exceptionally clean. The rooms in the hotel were modern and comfortable and cleaned every day. Breakfast was great with a good choice of options. Overall we really enjoyed out stay at the Monte Tauro

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elvis_and_boogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

A great trip to Taormina and the Monte Tauro Hotel.

Hotel location is A1 - 5 mins from the centre of the town and a wonderful view. You are clearly paying significantly for this privilege!!

Hotel was very pleasant, staff very friendly, although the exterior of the hotel is a bit of a concrete monstrosity and carefully not shown on the website i.e. a good 4 star hotel, even though from the hotel website you might think you were going to a somewhat better boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roadtonowhere68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porvoo, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We celebrated our 30th aniversary in Taormina and we stayed at hotel Monte Tauro. We were generally very satiesfied with the hotel and especialy with the service. The personnel was very
friendly and helpful and they did their best to fulfill even our smallest wish to ensure our comfort.
We appreciated that our room was upgraded to a lovely junior suite, which gave a goldlining to our stay. The breakfast was good and varied with a beautiful view over the sea. We had a "honeymoon package", which included spumante, fruits in the room and a three course dinner in the restaurant and we liked the food very much. Special thanks to Filippo and Fransesco in the restaurant for the entertaining service. We enjoyed! We appreciated the peaceful and stylish atmosphere and we can rekommend hotel Monte Tauro for even the most demanding customers. We want to thank the whole staff for our pleasant and memorable stay at Your hotel. We hope we have the opportunity to stay at Monte Tauro again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyPorvoo_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Västerås
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I stayed a week with my best friend Diana. We were thrilled with everything: the room, the interior design, the pool, breakfast. The VIEW and LOCATION in precious Taormina is unbeatable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Tauro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Tauro Hotel

Property: Monte Tauro Hotel
Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Tauro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monte Tauro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Tauro Taormina
Hotel Monte Tauro
Monte Tauro Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing