We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the 37 steps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pity about the 37 steps”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed in the Monte Tauro for a week. All of the staff we dealt with were extremely pleasant and very helpful.

The Room
This was on the fifth floor and had a very good view. The balcony was large which meant one could choose sun or shade. The bed was comfortable and pillows also comfortable. The bathroom had an overbath shower which had good waterpressure. The decor was a bit dated and some updating would help. The air conditioning was very quiet and very effective.

The Breakfast.
Restaurant was on 7th floor. There was a reasonable selection at breakfast though there was no granita which is such a sicilian breakfast staple. It took us a day or two to realise that staff would fry eggs and bacon if we wished. It would have been nice to see some bananas and peaches on offer. it was nice to have the option to squeeze your own fresh juice as you wanted. Boiling water for tea loving irish was only available early. after that it was pretty lukewarm.

The Location.
As we had stayed in the ATACAPOHotel last year we opted to stay up in the town this year. The benefit of this was that it was very handy for restaurants and wine bars in the evening. However there are 37 steps up from the doorway of the hotel to streetlevel. Not for the unfit or the fainthearted.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor and stay to the right of the lift shaft which can obscure view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    286
    63
    27
    11
See reviews for
97
445
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed four nights at this hotel after reviewing many properties and trying to decide whether to stay in the upper part of town, close to downtown, or in a hotel by the sea. We were happy to have made the right decision mainly because the hotel is located a few minutes from Taormina´s main pedestrian street, Corso Umberto and from stores and restaurants. The hotel provided a good shuttle service to the beach, which was very convenient. Breakfast was excellent and hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Just one thing: it was not easy to find the hotel, so have a detailed map at hand or ask for help in advance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in the Monte Tauro Hotel, in Taormina, Sicily for 1 night. The view is fantastic and breath-taking. The hotel staff are very friendly, polite and speak excellent English. The hotel room we stayed in was "the Suite" it was very clean, modern and spacious. You had a wide choice for breakfast. The hotel is a short distance away from the main attractions and restaurants. We would stay in this hotel again without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIOVANNI L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here after reviewing many properties because of one reason - the view. This hotel is perched on one side of the rocky landscape that is Taormina and as a result, every room has a view of the Mediterranean and it's blue, blue water. It was a bit of a challenge finding this hotel, so I recommend a VERY detailed map of the area, or you may find yourselves lost as we did! The drive down to the hotel is extremely steep, but all vehicles are taken care of by the valets, who welcome you with a smile and wisk you into the hotel lobby. The lobby is very white, almost "modern" design, check-in was friendly, quick and we headed to our room. A funny thing, the key to our room was made of solid metal, very heavy and cumbersome to carry - a plan of the hotel that guests won't loose the key!! The elevator is all glass, and gives you a full view of the Sea and pool area- not for the faint of heart, but an awesome view nonetheless. We chose a junior suite as we were there for 2 nights and wanted to treat ourselves, and we were not disapointed. The room was in excellent shape, had a full couch, chair, desk, a walk-in closet with plenty of hangers and open shelves for clothes. 2 Doubles pushed together, making it like a King bed was very comfortable - the bathroom sinks were separate from the toilet and shower area, a plus when travelling with your wife! The jacuzzi tub was by the sinks, and had a pane of glass, allowing you to see into the bedroom and to the balcony area. All amenities were provided, including slippers and a bathrobe upon request. The balcony was very large and had a round table with seating for 4, and 2 deck loungers with commanding views of the Sea. We ate at the hotel's main restaurant for dinner, it was very good and had very large portions - as a starter, I had a selection of cheeses, crackers and prosciutto and the amount of cheese, all be it delicious, equalled around 1-2 lbs worth in weight! The menu was quiet diverse and had many Sicillian plates, which is what I look for when travelling - taste the local dishes! Breakfast was a true Italian breakfast - pastries, juice, coffee, meats, cheeses and they also did have a made-to-order station for the non-Europeans looking for eggs and such. A short walk up the hill from the hotel allows you to be in the main pedestrian-only shops, filled with restaurants, clothes, boutiques, tourist shops and everything in betweeen! A great place to start the 1st full day, just to get your bearings. Further up, you can easily walk to the Greek Theater or if you're feeling adventerous, try walking up the side of the mountain to the church for outstanding views - do bring a large bottle of water if it's hot, you'll need it! The afternoon was spent at the hotel's pool, which was as refreshing as it looked. A pool attendant was on had to set you up with the required loungers and towels, AND he prevented anyone from just laying your towel on your lounger and dissapear for 5 hours! If you left and weren't back in 1 hour, it was removed for another guest - a welcome set-up! The second night we walked into town to have dinner and wandered around looking at the many choices that were available - food and budgets alike were plentiful. Can't remember the name of the restaurant we ate at, but many famous celebrities have their pictures on the wall with the owner, so it must be good!!
Check-out was a breeze, they had parked our car at their sister property, the Grand Hotel Miramare, and shuttled us out there and we were on our way.

I would stay at this hotel again, I can't fault it for anything - we both loved it!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the Sea, but any room near the elevator, the balcony can be looked down on, so if pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobie_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

First to say, during our stay in early September, we saw onlyone small child in the hotel the whole week; it was mainly people in their 40s upwards. It is ideally situated - a few minutes walk down some quieter streets with restaurants leads into the busy main street of Taormina. There is a steep slope up from the hotel but we did not see anyone have a problem with it.
When you get to the top there is a terrace for a pizza restaurant, with fabulous views over the bay. Turn left, then right and there is a little restaurant down the street that was also very nice (the names elude us, unfortunately). Also nearby is the Ultimo Pinta Pub, which was not tacky as it sounds, they served nice wine and, if, like me, you get sick of the same type of food day in day out, they do a lovely homemade burger (I only did it once, honestly!) There are so many restaurants in the main town that you could eat three times a day in a different restaurant for a week or more. Generally the pasta/pizza we had was better than the meat or fish but we did not go to a specialist fish restaurant.
It is a bit of a walk to the bus station, about 15-20 minutes, and we found it more interesting to cut through the town rather than go along the main road. However, there are various bus stops nearer to the hotel as well. We got the cable car down to the beach once only - the beaches there are rocky and you are charged 10E per person for a sun bed with parasol. We heard from some other guests that you can get a bus down to some sandy beaches but we ran out of time to do this.
Our room was nice (the bed very comfortable, air con excellent) but the balcony was a disappointment after the other reviews - yes we had a view of the bay but only if we stood up; some of the end balconies are completely surrounded in wood. However, we booked with Thomsons at a cheaper price than to book independently, so this is probably why. We might have asked for a room change, had we realised this earlier in the week though. You can't make tea and coffee in the room but there is a well stocked mini bar, pricey but sometimes handy for a snack or if you've run out of bottled water.
The breakfast was very good with something for everyone and even bucks fizz, which was a nice touch. Every day except one we managed to get a table by the window and, again, the view is lovely.
There always seemed to be more than enough sun beds at the pool and the little bar there serves snacks. The pool was warm and fairly shallow. Generally, there were not more than three or four people in it at a time. The weather in the first week of September was ideal, late 20s and still very warm at 11pm - no need to clog the suitcase with cardigans or jackets!
As mentioned by a previous reviewer, not all of the staff in the hotel were particularly friendly but this did not impact on our stay. We enjoyed our holiday and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillynet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed at Monte Tauro for a prolonged week-end. The view from the room is breath-taking and it is fully possible to spend hours just looking. The hotel is close to Taormina restaurant area, has a nice pool-area and breakfast was OK. Apart from this, the hotel is unfortunately in a bad shape: rooms need to be up-dated, lounge and bar are boring places to be but who cares when all nice small Italian restaurants is just around the corner. For a week-end, this is a good hotel but don't expect a design experience....

Room Tip: Confirm room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FDL015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at the Monte Tauro the last weekend of August and it was perfect. The hotel although a bit old now is kept clean and the service is efficient. the rooms are ok (don't expect luxury) but the balcony is the big draw with a limiltess view of the bay, superb! The pool attendant is amazing as already mentioned in several reviews, he is a "simpatico" chap who is extremely helpful keeping the pool area in perfect order. Breakfast was great with all you can wish for, even prosecco is served if you wish to booze your start of the day. Location is fantastic, a few minutes from the main Corso. The room rates are quite high considering that this is not a luxury property but you pay for the location, the pool and especially the view from your room. In my opinion one of the best hotel to stay in Taormina.

Room Tip: Rooms in mid to upper high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline-vitello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,759 reviews
0.8 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Monte Tauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Monte Tauro

Property: Eurostars Monte Tauro
Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Monte Tauro 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurostars Monte Tauro Built on the slope of a bluff, the Eurostars Monte Tauro 4* allows you to perfectly appreciate, from its terraces that follow the outline and curves of the coast, the immensity of the Ionian Sea and the beauty of the Gulf of Naxos. Its excellent location near Taormina’s historic city centre on the Sicilian coast allows you to discover the charm of classical antiquity that the city conserves in buildings like the Greco-Roman theatre. The large panoramic pool of the Eurostars Monte Tauro 4* allows you to enjoy the sensation of being suspended above the sea. Its views and refined designs featuring exotic woods, finishing touches of silk, plants and exclusively-designed furniture complete a luxurious stay on this beautiful Mediterranean island. The final touch is the original bar which is decorated with beautiful paintings and the spectacular restaurant that looks out on the Bay of Naxos where you can enjoy exquisite Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine, as well as an excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Monte Tauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Tauro Taormina
Hotel Monte Tauro
Monte Tauro Hotel
Eurostars Monte Tauro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing