We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay if you don't sweat the small stuff...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monte Tauro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monte Tauro Hotel
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay if you don't sweat the small stuff...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Overall we had a phenominal time in Taormina and hotel Monte Tauro. First the positives. The hotel is located in a perfect location, steps from the busy streets, restaurants and the cable car that goes to the beach. The staff were very friendly and the rooms very clean. There is a shuttle that can take you to various beaches which offers much cheaper and a whole lot better beaches and services, recommend this over the cable car...the beach that the cable car takes you too is way more busier and more expensive.

In terms of negatives, I have to say the rooms can use an uplift. We stayed at a junior suite and there was not a single splash of colour or modern decor. Also the terrance has really old chairs. If the hotels invests just a little in the rooms, it has potential to be a 5 star.

Another negative is the eggs at the breakfast buffet, we stayed for 6 days and all 6 days our eggs turned out either raw and not proberly fired or overfried. They also were always broken up somehow and overall just didnt have an appealing look. Otherwise the breakfast was very good and had lots to choose from.

Would definitely recommend this hotel as long as you dont sweat the small stuff, which we at the end of the day didnt!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floor to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    279
    61
    25
    10
See reviews for
93
435
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We returned to the Hotel Monte Tauro for a second time (stayed July 2012). The reception staff gave us a very warm greeting on our arrival at check-in. During our stay we found them most helpful and polite. The pool attendant, well, he was so helpful and of course knowledgeable on how to arrange sunbeds to your liking, shade or full sun, perfect gentleman. Breakfast, a very good selection and done to a good standard. The waiting staff again most pleasant and helpful. The room with sea view accommodated us with everything we needed to make our stay perfect. Thank you Monte Tauro, we will return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank june H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We've just returned from nine days in Taormina, Sicily, staying at the Monte Tauro. A lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff. Giovanni at the pool is incredible, every hotel should have a Giovanni. You could always get a sunbed when and where you wanted, arranged as you like it, no need to be up at 5.30am with a towel to get your sunbed with Giovanni around!
We didn't use the restaurant in the evenings as there are so many excellent ones in the town and so close to the hotel. Our favourite was A'Zammara, wonderful food and three types of Sambucca!!. Breakfast at the hotel was good. Lots of variety and wonderful views from the restaurant.
We had a junior suite to the right of the lift on 4th floor and it was lovely with a huge balcony with the excellent views previously mentioned.
The reception staff were very helpful with restaurant recommendations etc but they really surpassed themselves when I had a bad toothache. They booked me an appointment with an English speaking dentist immediately and while root therapy treatment isn't my idea of a good holiday experience at least it didn't make a drama out of a crisis!
We will certainly return to Sicily and this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the right of the lift (Mount Etna side). The higher the better. We were on the 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My partner and I go to Italy every year in May (9 yrs now) and we ended up finding this contemporary suite (612). Great view of the whole coast. Most people say to be on the right side of the elevators, well we had a suite on the right side and I asked to move and they did, same room with a much better view of the whole coast line. Every evening we would drink prosecco on the terrace and watch the sunset over Mt. Vesuvius.
Plus one on the biggest selection of breakfast we have ever had. (Included).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The location of this hotel is on a cliff so every room has beautiful views of the ocean. The swimming pool juts out from the cliff at the bottom floor which makes it look like an engineering impossibility.
Lunch can be ordered ahead to enjoy at the pool. Breakfast is served at the top floor again w incredible views. Nice modern rooms! The town is incredible! Car traffic in most of the main areas is restricted so walking is the way to explore this village. Taormina is perched up high w also incredible views. This is a MUST GO trip. Dont forget to explore the ancient Greek amphitheater and the gelato shops! Check out the melon sized lemons and the local caught fish is Swordfish.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AspenFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

The Monte Tauro is a very nice comfortable hotel, all the staff from the friendly receptionists to the restaurant staff/ pool bar down to the legend that is Giovanni at the pool/ beds area where very efficient and helpful. Our room was a decent size and the maids kept it very clean and tidy. Our best experience at the hotel was the warmth of the hotels main man in our opinion Giovanni, who commands the pool area with almost military precision, a very funny but extremely helpful man, no danger of hogging pool beds with towels on Giovanni's watch which meant everyone was catered for. 1 minor negative, the exterior of the building could do with a makeover and although we had a decent size balcony area it was a bit dated. That aside we where very pleased with our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone. The short climb to the town directly outside the hotel doors requires a bit of effort !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin-Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Monte Tauro is a very clean, efficient and courteous run Hotel. It is in a beautiful setting, overlooking the bay. The views from the bedroom balconies and dining room are beautiful and memorable and the view is a pleasant start to every day.
My wife and I spent a week there at the beginning of June and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

The reception staff were very efficient and obliging and in particular Meena (sounds like) who always had a ready smile.
The bedroom was big, with a large bathroom. The balcony was a good size but we did not use it very much.

Breakfast was good with lots of different juices, cereals, meats, cheeses, bacon, eggs etc. You can boil your own eggs and there is also a machine to extract orange juice from fresh oranges. There is a selection of teas but we found the water was not hot enough for our liking. On the second morning we explained to a waitress that we would like boiling water and explained to her what we meant. She immediately got us some and every morning afterwards asked us if we would like boiling water. This was an efficient service with a smile. As the hotel is so high up the hill there is a great view of birds alighting on the tops of the tree branches and there seems to be a lot of the very beautiful gold finches. They would quite often alight on the flowers outside the dining room window and make our breakfast even more enjoyable.
The swimming pool is large and we always got two sunbeds together. The pool attendant is the best that I have ever come across. He escorts you to your sunbed and insists on placing it for you. He said jokingly “you are on holiday, I am here to work”.

To get to town you have a short walk up a steep incline. Taormina is a lovely town with narrow winding streets and lots to see. It is well kept and there is a good atmosphere. Use the Trip Advisor restaurant guide and you will get good food and service.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Sicily. The Hotel Monte Tauro and staff were a good part of that enjoyment.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony-ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Tauro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Tauro Hotel

Property: Monte Tauro Hotel
Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Tauro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monte Tauro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Tauro Taormina
Hotel Monte Tauro
Monte Tauro Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing