We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monte Tauro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Tauro Hotel
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Just back from a great week in tauromina staying in the Monte Tauro , great views from balcony of the sea , room we had was a junior suite which had a walk in dressing room , bathroom with bath and separate toilet and shower room ( double walk in shower) large balcony with chairs and sun lounger . Hotel staff very friendly and attentive food in morning was good ( continental breakfast ) but choice of bacon , scrambled or boiled eggs if you preferred hot options , pool bar food was good too, loved the lay out of the hotel , which was built on side of hill views were just stunning first thing in morning from balcony , the road to/from it is a little steeple but do-able , seen elderly man with stick do it one day , well worth effort once you get into the stunning town of Tauromina x x

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    278
    61
    25
    10
See reviews for
92
434
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in this Hotel just 3 days ago for a weekend and all in all its quite satisfactory although to be totally honest this property is quite a few steps back from the pictures posted in their site and other travel websites.

The stuff are very courteous and welcoming in all the hotel and the atmosphere is very relaxed also.
The room I was given was quite old and also our friends were given similar rooms,the bathrooms and most of the furniture need changing.

The location is quite central but if you have mobility problems this hotel is not for you.
Theres a massive steep hill just outside the hotel on your way to Corso Umberto.

For the price paid (eur280/ night)we could have stayed somewhere slightly better but a comfortable and relaxed stay just the same.

Thank You Monte Tauro Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malta084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Nothing that me and my husband did not enjoy about this hotel.... The location...the view... Decor (nice and modern)... The staff who are super helpful... The pool area... Great breakfast... All fantastic... Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely time at Monte Tauro after being bumped from our original hotel, Villa Diodoro. The mid-century furnishings caused our room to be quite dark but with a gorgeous view from our terrace we didn't spend much time in the room anyway! The breakfast buffet was tasty and plentiful, and the staff just couldn't do enough. A word of caution, however, the driveway from the street to the hotel is EXTREMELY steep, even for a mountain goat. Our leg muscles ached for days. We rented a Fiat 500 and on the rainy morning we left my husband couldn't get the car up the hill without taking all of the luggage out. All in all one of the nicest hotels we've stayed at in Italy.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank margie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Overall we had a phenominal time in Taormina and hotel Monte Tauro. First the positives. The hotel is located in a perfect location, steps from the busy streets, restaurants and the cable car that goes to the beach. The staff were very friendly and the rooms very clean. There is a shuttle that can take you to various beaches which offers much cheaper and a whole lot better beaches and services, recommend this over the cable car...the beach that the cable car takes you too is way more busier and more expensive.

In terms of negatives, I have to say the rooms can use an uplift. We stayed at a junior suite and there was not a single splash of colour or modern decor. Also the terrance has really old chairs. If the hotels invests just a little in the rooms, it has potential to be a 5 star.

Another negative is the eggs at the breakfast buffet, we stayed for 6 days and all 6 days our eggs turned out either raw and not proberly fired or overfried. They also were always broken up somehow and overall just didnt have an appealing look. Otherwise the breakfast was very good and had lots to choose from.

Would definitely recommend this hotel as long as you dont sweat the small stuff, which we at the end of the day didnt!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floor to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We returned to the Hotel Monte Tauro for a second time (stayed July 2012). The reception staff gave us a very warm greeting on our arrival at check-in. During our stay we found them most helpful and polite. The pool attendant, well, he was so helpful and of course knowledgeable on how to arrange sunbeds to your liking, shade or full sun, perfect gentleman. Breakfast, a very good selection and done to a good standard. The waiting staff again most pleasant and helpful. The room with sea view accommodated us with everything we needed to make our stay perfect. Thank you Monte Tauro, we will return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank june H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We've just returned from nine days in Taormina, Sicily, staying at the Monte Tauro. A lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff. Giovanni at the pool is incredible, every hotel should have a Giovanni. You could always get a sunbed when and where you wanted, arranged as you like it, no need to be up at 5.30am with a towel to get your sunbed with Giovanni around!
We didn't use the restaurant in the evenings as there are so many excellent ones in the town and so close to the hotel. Our favourite was A'Zammara, wonderful food and three types of Sambucca!!. Breakfast at the hotel was good. Lots of variety and wonderful views from the restaurant.
We had a junior suite to the right of the lift on 4th floor and it was lovely with a huge balcony with the excellent views previously mentioned.
The reception staff were very helpful with restaurant recommendations etc but they really surpassed themselves when I had a bad toothache. They booked me an appointment with an English speaking dentist immediately and while root therapy treatment isn't my idea of a good holiday experience at least it didn't make a drama out of a crisis!
We will certainly return to Sicily and this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the right of the lift (Mount Etna side). The higher the better. We were on the 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Tauro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Tauro Hotel

Property: Monte Tauro Hotel
Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Tauro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monte Tauro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Tauro Taormina
Hotel Monte Tauro
Monte Tauro Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing