We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Altrincham, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nearly excellent”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it, as many other reviewers have said, so pointing out a few negatives may seem harsh; but surely that’s why people read Trip Advisor before committing themselves.
This hotel is excellently situated for the main part of Taormina, but getting there by the shortest route does involve some steps which would present a serious problem to anyone with mobility difficulties. The access drive to the hotel has a particularly steep gradient.
The views from the dining room are superb; as they are for rooms on the right hand side of the elevator tower (as you look out to sea). Basically this is an upside down hotel, so reception is floor 8, dining room is floor 7, guest rooms begin on floor 6 and the pool is 0. The elevator serving all floors extends out from the main building in a tower which effectively divides the hotel into two parts.
On arrival we were shown to room 314 in the left side of the hotel. When we stepped onto the balcony we realised we would have to request a different room as the protruding elevator tower effectively blocked half of the view from the balcony. Happily the hotel were willing to allocate us another room (410) which was to the right of the tower and which had a full view from its balcony, so all credit to them. If the hotel had been full it might have been a different story.
The firmness of beds is very much down to personal taste; for us the beds were rather too hard and we had some difficulty sleeping.
Breakfasts were good but not great. We have stayed in hotels with a lower star grading where breakfasts were better. The cooked to order option of bacon and fried egg was tried just once; basically the hot plate on which it was cooked was not hot enough and the bacon was barely warm when served.
Having noted all this, it may seem as if the hotel did not please us. This is not so: the aspect is perfect; staff are courteous and friendly; the room was spacious (if a little bland) with all the facilities you could require; towels were automatically changed daily and the bed linen was also automatically changed half way through the week; the pool is excellent; the charming public gardens are close at hand. There is much to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    286
    63
    27
    11
See reviews for
97
445
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a "junior suite". What incredible views! The pool is great too. Breakfast is standard--could have been more interesting. Only real negative is driving to the hotel.....very tricky, but that is part of the adventure

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What can I say!. Came back this year for 18 nights and cannot recommend this place enough... the absloute perfect place to stay.....providing you don't mind getting out of the hotel as it is set in rocks!!. The staff are amazing and nothing could be too much for them. My all time favourite place. Booked again for for 3 weeks next year!!!

Room Tip: Difficult to climb stairs out fs hotel.....that is the only downside to this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosso K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was in Taormina at the end of September 2013, in a family group of 3 generations from 8 to 65 years.
We booked the hotel Monte Tauro, and were not disappointed. What an amazing view, from almost anywhere in the hotel!
The breakfast was good, with a variety of different bread, cheeses, cold-cuts, eggs, fruit, yoghurt and an orange squeezer to make our own fresh juice.
The staff were very nice and friendly, giving excellent service. The only down side here was the last morning where we wanted to sit 7 people at the same table to celebrate my parents' wedding anniversary, and they would not allow this at window tables.
The pool-man was very friendly and fast in handing us towels, and allowed the kids to go downstairs to see how the pool worked and look into the pool via a small window. The only small down here was that the kids were not allowed to be too noisily happy around the pool - but this was out of respect for other guests, so perhaps understandable (it wasn't excactly a hotel catering to many small children). And in spite of that, the kids just absolutely loved the place.

I will give a small warning: if you come by car, the hotel is not easy to find, you have to drive a circle around Taormina to get there due to very narrow one-way streets, and the last turn is 180 degrees to get down a very(!) steep drive-way. However, the hotel personnel will offer to drive your car down if you feel unsecure.
Arriving in a 9-person mini-bus like we did is quite a challenge, but doable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Just back from a great week in tauromina staying in the Monte Tauro , great views from balcony of the sea , room we had was a junior suite which had a walk in dressing room , bathroom with bath and separate toilet and shower room ( double walk in shower) large balcony with chairs and sun lounger . Hotel staff very friendly and attentive food in morning was good ( continental breakfast ) but choice of bacon , scrambled or boiled eggs if you preferred hot options , pool bar food was good too, loved the lay out of the hotel , which was built on side of hill views were just stunning first thing in morning from balcony , the road to/from it is a little steeple but do-able , seen elderly man with stick do it one day , well worth effort once you get into the stunning town of Tauromina x x

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in this Hotel just 3 days ago for a weekend and all in all its quite satisfactory although to be totally honest this property is quite a few steps back from the pictures posted in their site and other travel websites.

The stuff are very courteous and welcoming in all the hotel and the atmosphere is very relaxed also.
The room I was given was quite old and also our friends were given similar rooms,the bathrooms and most of the furniture need changing.

The location is quite central but if you have mobility problems this hotel is not for you.
Theres a massive steep hill just outside the hotel on your way to Corso Umberto.

For the price paid (eur280/ night)we could have stayed somewhere slightly better but a comfortable and relaxed stay just the same.

Thank You Monte Tauro Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malta084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Nothing that me and my husband did not enjoy about this hotel.... The location...the view... Decor (nice and modern)... The staff who are super helpful... The pool area... Great breakfast... All fantastic... Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Monte Tauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Monte Tauro

Property: Eurostars Monte Tauro
Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Monte Tauro 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurostars Monte Tauro Built on the slope of a bluff, the Eurostars Monte Tauro 4* allows you to perfectly appreciate, from its terraces that follow the outline and curves of the coast, the immensity of the Ionian Sea and the beauty of the Gulf of Naxos. Its excellent location near Taormina’s historic city centre on the Sicilian coast allows you to discover the charm of classical antiquity that the city conserves in buildings like the Greco-Roman theatre. The large panoramic pool of the Eurostars Monte Tauro 4* allows you to enjoy the sensation of being suspended above the sea. Its views and refined designs featuring exotic woods, finishing touches of silk, plants and exclusively-designed furniture complete a luxurious stay on this beautiful Mediterranean island. The final touch is the original bar which is decorated with beautiful paintings and the spectacular restaurant that looks out on the Bay of Naxos where you can enjoy exquisite Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine, as well as an excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Monte Tauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Tauro Taormina
Hotel Monte Tauro
Monte Tauro Hotel
Eurostars Monte Tauro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing