We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views but dated hotel”
Review of Monte Tauro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monte Tauro Hotel
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice views but dated hotel”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Monte Tauro is a 4 star hotel, however unfortunately I was not able to identify any services which justified this star.

Overall we found the hotel to be dated, the decor in the rooms was old and they still use blankets and sheets. Adding to that due to the time of year there was no air conditioning in the room. The pool area is nice but again for a 4 star seems like it should have been renovated since the 60's

Saying all this if you are using the hotel for a base it is centrally located and does have great views.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    282
    63
    26
    11
See reviews for
94
439
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Entry to the hotel by car is 'challenging' but once there well worth the effort. The hotel is a modern construction of mainly concrete and glass and hangs off the cliff with balconies overlooking the sea and the pool. Staff helpful and service excellent. Service in bar and restaurant attentive despite me being the only customer! Too many options in the town I guess. Only stayed one night during a tour of Sicily in early April but wished I had made this my base. Taormina is a delightful town although very touristy, and I suspect it gets very busy in the high season.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend a sea view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had a great week at the Monte Tauro Hotel in the fall of 2012. The hotel was built in the 70s or something, but has been reconstructed and stands out completely modern (maybe a bit too futuristic for my taste, but I guess that's typical Italian.)
The pool area was nice, and the pool-'boy' was very attentive.
The rooms aren't huge, but around the average European room-size, but our room was equipped with what we needed and the view was breathtaking at both day and night!
Breakfast was good, eggs, bacon, delicious cakes, asti etc. - I couldn't set a finger on anything, and the service was awesome, fun and personal.
The hotel is situated at the end of a narrow hill (parking was a pain in the a..) and there were quite a few steps up.
The general service was nice and friendly (they parked our car for us, which was a huge help)
There's a very nice park right next to the hotel (after you've climbed the steps), with a WWI memorial statue, tennis courts and parrots, I walked through it every day and didn't see a lot of other people.
Taormina has great sights, AWESOME seafood and the shops are open at night. The city is not very big, but has many high end fashion stores, nightlife and soul. The tourists there are typically with cruise ships, so you don't meet the same people every day - I hate having to talk to other people just because you happen to have chosen the same destination for your vacation..

One complaint though, we ate at different restaurants every night, and everywhere we went the SAME band of Italian musicians who sang the SAME three songs showed up EVERY SINGLE NIGHT, when we walked around the city we could hear them at other restaurants - they were simply touring. The first day it was a bit cliche, but fun.. Day three, four, five.. not so much. It became a joke that still lives on today where a year has past. Obviously they were there for the tourists from the cruise-ships, but it was a bit too much.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muff93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
452 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this Hotel, Taormina was my favorite city in Sicily. Lots of things to do and close to the beach, volcano and also good shopping. The room was a suite, modern, a section for the kids and a separate section with a big bed for us. Open concept. Wood floors a good size room. The bathroom was very nice, clean and modern, opening up to the master bedroom with a sliding door. There was 2 patio doors that overlook the sea with a big balcony off the cliff. The views were spectular. We could see the cruise ships come into port which was a lovely experience. The premises are quite lovely but restricted cause this hotel is built on a cliff. The pool is nice with long chairs on the terrace overlooking the cliff. This hotel is almost at the top of the little city of Taormina so its a good walk to the top of the tourist streets, narrow hilly streets, you need good shoes to walk to the restaurant area. Definately a city not to be missed in Sicily.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

As others have said, the hotel is down a steep path. We arrived from the airport and found the hotel as we were turning the car to get down the path, we were hooted by a very impatient driver who refused to give us room to turn around and so we had to move out of his way. When we got to the hotel, we saw him park his car, go into the hotel and step behind the reception desk. Not a great first impression of the hotel. However, he was an exception - every other member of staff was great. The hotel is a contemporary hotel with amazing views. Bedrooms are simple but each one has a balcony. Water isn't provided (not great for a 4 star hotel) but there is a shop at the top of the path which sells bottles of water and other drinks at low cost. Taormina is fairly small and the hotel is centrally located. There is a pool and the pool guys were fantastic. There are some lovely restaurants near the hotel before you get to the main street. I would highly recommend il Baccanale near the hotel - the food is to die for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynecom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just back from a 10 day trip to Sicily. We started our trip at the Monte Tauro Hotel in Taormina. It definitely exceeded our expectations. Our travel agent upgraded us to junior suites - they were spacious, very clean and nicely appointed. The staff was helpful and courteous and the views from the rooms and common areas are stunning. There is a lovely pool that looks out over the sea - absolutely beautiful! We enjoyed a delicious assortment of breakfast items each morning. The hotel is built into the side of a mountain which makes getting there a bit difficult by car or foot. There is a very steep incline to get to the streets of Taormina so bear that in mind if that could present a problem for you. I highly recommend this hotel and Taormina is a lovely town with lots of shops, restaurants and delightful local people. And make sure you try a cannoli - the best I have ever had was in Taormina and I have eaten many in my life!! ENJOY!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms to the right of the elevator. Also the junior suites are really nice if you want extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Hotel Monte Tauro is a modern hotel built on a near vertical hillside. The construction from concrete is amazing with the finished result beautifully softened with plants and landscaping. The views from the hotel are fantastic and the position although quiet, is very convenient for the plentiful shops and restaurants of Taormina.

The rooms are very tasteful with modern facilities and all rooms have a balcony with high quality wooden furniture. Transport between floors (8 floors) is by a glass sided lift which in itself gives an interesting experience with fantastic views.

Reception is at the top of the hotel which is at road level. The approach road to reception, as other reviews have pointed out, is on a very steep drop so that walking up to the town is a real exercise routine in its own right! Certainly those who have difficulty walking etc should take note although that warning applies to the whole of Taormina which is a mass of steps and steep roads and streets!

Outside on the lowest floor is a nice pool area which when viewed from further down the hillside appears to be hanging in space owing to the clever architecture! We spent most time sunbathing here and the pool is plenty big enough for a good swim.

We stayed on a B&B basis with a good buffet breakfast served in the main restaurant with wonderful views over the bay to Giardini Naxos.

Weather was excellent for mid October - well into the mid 80s Fahrenheit. One day we hiked down to the beach below the hotel via the long steep path/trail and steps - coming back up to the hotel was particularly exhausting! The beach of grey sand and pebbles was virtually deserted - swimming was pleasant although we noticed a number of jelly fish which I believe have been a problem in the Med this year.

There are innumerable restaurants and ice cream parlours within short walking distance from the hotel. One quirk of eating out in Taormina is that restaurants charge a cover charge (Coperto) per person of between €2 & €3 although you only notice this if you scrutinise the bill (and the menu if you read it cover to cover). Consequently (according to our holiday rep) the restaurants don't then expect a tip necessarily (the cover charge generally works out as 10% to 15% anyway).

All in all this is a lovely hotel in a superb position and we would definitely return to Taormina and thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 308 which was excellent although all rooms have the same outlook and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Tauro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Tauro Hotel

Property: Monte Tauro Hotel
Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Tauro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monte Tauro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Tauro Taormina
Hotel Monte Tauro
Monte Tauro Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing