We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, a bit outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic views, a bit outdated”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were here one week between May-June 2014. We had a standard room in a 3rd floor. The hotel rooms have superb views over Naxos-bay. The AC in the rooms worked well (just remember to keep the balcony door closed).

We arrived at the hotel rather late, @ 930 pm, so we had to scurry for a dinner. We chose the hotel restaurant, and I have to say the dinner was horrid. Luckily, this was the only bad memory about our stay.

The hotel is situated ~300 meters from Taorminas´ main shopping street. One has to walk uphill all the way, but there is lovely restaurants and shops on the way...Breakfast is ok, plenty of fresh fruits, sausages, youghurts etc. and also free (and good) spumante. The personnel was very nice and helpful, daily cleaning in the rooms was ok.

The hotel has lovely garden and a lot of different birds concerting all the time. The pool area is ok, with one pool-restaurant and separate showers for men and women. The hotel would receive 4 stars if it was a bit renovated. Somehow the decoration and rooms seemed to be a bit oldish.

If you value more fantastic views and good service than hotel infra quality, I would recommend this hotel. The daily uphill trip to a shopping street can be annoying for some people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomi_J_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    296
    67
    29
    14
See reviews for
108
460
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel which I couldn't fault. The rooms are not small and storage is adequate. Page large bathroom with a good shower and always hot water. The balcony was brilliant with very nice wooden furniture with a fantastic view along the bay. The pool is 20metres and the whole poolside is cared for with great efficiency. There is an attendant at all times and towels are provided on a daily basis. There is a poolside bar where you can get light lunches. The restaurant provides a super breakfast with a choice of anything you could possibly want. Bacon and eggs are cooked freshly for you on request. The evening menu is quite expensive compared with the numerous restaurants available in Taormina.
The walk up to the town is a steep but wide 37 steps but once up it isn't difficult and there is so much to enjoy.
There are no hidden charges that I came across ie a safe in the room which is free, no deposit for pool towels and no charge for the use of a kettle if you ask for one. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, we were very happy with our 10 days spent there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the right of the lift as you will get balcony sun later in the day. Higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VictoriaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent 5 nights at Hotel Monte Tauro, during the Easter time! Everything was more than OK! The breakfast was fabulous! The hotel staff was very friendly...and the viewing from balcony was wonderful! We highly recommend this hotel! We will never forget the morning days having our coffee on the balcony and enjoying the fantastic sea viewing and the birds concert from the trees of Giardino Communale!

We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicolae57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Monte Tauro is a 4 star hotel, however unfortunately I was not able to identify any services which justified this star.

Overall we found the hotel to be dated, the decor in the rooms was old and they still use blankets and sheets. Adding to that due to the time of year there was no air conditioning in the room. The pool area is nice but again for a 4 star seems like it should have been renovated since the 60's

Saying all this if you are using the hotel for a base it is centrally located and does have great views.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Entry to the hotel by car is 'challenging' but once there well worth the effort. The hotel is a modern construction of mainly concrete and glass and hangs off the cliff with balconies overlooking the sea and the pool. Staff helpful and service excellent. Service in bar and restaurant attentive despite me being the only customer! Too many options in the town I guess. Only stayed one night during a tour of Sicily in early April but wished I had made this my base. Taormina is a delightful town although very touristy, and I suspect it gets very busy in the high season.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend a sea view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had a great week at the Monte Tauro Hotel in the fall of 2012. The hotel was built in the 70s or something, but has been reconstructed and stands out completely modern (maybe a bit too futuristic for my taste, but I guess that's typical Italian.)
The pool area was nice, and the pool-'boy' was very attentive.
The rooms aren't huge, but around the average European room-size, but our room was equipped with what we needed and the view was breathtaking at both day and night!
Breakfast was good, eggs, bacon, delicious cakes, asti etc. - I couldn't set a finger on anything, and the service was awesome, fun and personal.
The hotel is situated at the end of a narrow hill (parking was a pain in the a..) and there were quite a few steps up.
The general service was nice and friendly (they parked our car for us, which was a huge help)
There's a very nice park right next to the hotel (after you've climbed the steps), with a WWI memorial statue, tennis courts and parrots, I walked through it every day and didn't see a lot of other people.
Taormina has great sights, AWESOME seafood and the shops are open at night. The city is not very big, but has many high end fashion stores, nightlife and soul. The tourists there are typically with cruise ships, so you don't meet the same people every day - I hate having to talk to other people just because you happen to have chosen the same destination for your vacation..

One complaint though, we ate at different restaurants every night, and everywhere we went the SAME band of Italian musicians who sang the SAME three songs showed up EVERY SINGLE NIGHT, when we walked around the city we could hear them at other restaurants - they were simply touring. The first day it was a bit cliche, but fun.. Day three, four, five.. not so much. It became a joke that still lives on today where a year has past. Obviously they were there for the tourists from the cruise-ships, but it was a bit too much.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muff93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this Hotel, Taormina was my favorite city in Sicily. Lots of things to do and close to the beach, volcano and also good shopping. The room was a suite, modern, a section for the kids and a separate section with a big bed for us. Open concept. Wood floors a good size room. The bathroom was very nice, clean and modern, opening up to the master bedroom with a sliding door. There was 2 patio doors that overlook the sea with a big balcony off the cliff. The views were spectular. We could see the cruise ships come into port which was a lovely experience. The premises are quite lovely but restricted cause this hotel is built on a cliff. The pool is nice with long chairs on the terrace overlooking the cliff. This hotel is almost at the top of the little city of Taormina so its a good walk to the top of the tourist streets, narrow hilly streets, you need good shoes to walk to the restaurant area. Definately a city not to be missed in Sicily.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,810 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#34 of 87 in Taormina
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 87 in Taormina
969 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Monte Tauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Monte Tauro

Property: Eurostars Monte Tauro
Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Monte Tauro 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurostars Monte Tauro Built on the slope of a bluff, the Eurostars Monte Tauro 4* allows you to perfectly appreciate, from its terraces that follow the outline and curves of the coast, the immensity of the Ionian Sea and the beauty of the Gulf of Naxos. Its excellent location near Taormina’s historic city centre on the Sicilian coast allows you to discover the charm of classical antiquity that the city conserves in buildings like the Greco-Roman theatre. The large panoramic pool of the Eurostars Monte Tauro 4* allows you to enjoy the sensation of being suspended above the sea. Its views and refined designs featuring exotic woods, finishing touches of silk, plants and exclusively-designed furniture complete a luxurious stay on this beautiful Mediterranean island. The final touch is the original bar which is decorated with beautiful paintings and the spectacular restaurant that looks out on the Bay of Naxos where you can enjoy exquisite Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine, as well as an excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Eurostars Monte Tauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Tauro Taormina
Hotel Monte Tauro
Monte Tauro Hotel
Eurostars Monte Tauro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing