We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at The Monte Tauro for two weeks and overall were very pleased but a few little tweaks would make this hotel much better. They could do with at least one more lift as there is only one, for which you can wait for several minutes. The choice of gluten-free food was abysmal - bread buns, chocolate muffins and jam tarts and they ran out of bread for 3 days - not befitting for a four star hotel. When I complained, they gave me a family sized bowl of fruit, which was wonderful but they should have been more on the ball. Breakfast in general was excellent with an amazing choice. Rooms were clean, but a little small and balconies were generous. We didn't have tea & coffee facilities in our room, which the previous reviewer had mentioned. The steep road into the hotel was challenging, I would not advise this for the elderly (no offence intended) or unfit as it could ruin their holiday. I would go back to Monte Tauro because its location was excellent - close to town yet quiet and the views were magnificent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boropanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    296
    67
    29
    14
See reviews for
108
460
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as a wedding guest for a wedding in Taormina - the hotel was faultless - best views in Italy - stylishly set overlooking the pool and coastline - the staff were all professional hard working and polite. In reception Fabio could not do enough to assist us - he didn't refuse any requests and is a credit to the company . Similarly Giuseppe in the restaurant worked
tirelessly to make us all feel special
The pool attendants sprung into action with sun beds and towels as soon as they saw you. The rooms were immaculate - lift efficient with stunning views - parking efficient - pool area immaculate and clean pool- all stunning and worthy of its 4 star status

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess201080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimbergen
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hotel near the mainstreetof taormina. Nice rooms all with seaview
Fresh food in the restaurant
Overwhelming breakfast
Narrow steep road to the parking but one ringtone and someone from the personnel was there to drive the car
We tried the last second deal (fixed price but upgrade by arrival to the highest available level, upgrade for free)

Room Tip: Try the last second deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frans b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My friend and I stayed at this lovely Hotel in early June. The Hotel is approached by quite a steep lane, but this was not a hardship. The Hotel is spotlessly clean. Each room has a balcony with fabulous views of the bay, and two chairs and a table. There is a mini bar in the room, and tea and coffee making facilities, there were sachets of Nescafe coffee etc but also a price list and coffee with coffee whitener was I think about 2 Euros! The wifi is free but a little hit and miss it was a nuisance having to keep logging in as it had gone off. Also trying to log in late at night was not always possible. The breakfast was adequate with freshly squeezed orange juice and a state of the art coffee machine, I would have liked more of a choice of eggs, freshly fried eggs were available I think twice in the week other than that there were scrambled eggs. The view from the restaurant is fantastic. The pool area is very clean and managed extremely well by the staff. The lunch bar at the pool is also very good. The Staff are extremely nice and couldn't do enough for you, I agree with previous comments, 4 star Hotel with 7 Star Staff! I would recommend this Hotel and would revisit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juleRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I'm currently staying with my wife in the Monte Tauro hotel, coming to the end of a weeks holiday here.

The views from our room, the dining room over breakfast and from the pool are spectacular. Elevated view of the Med and coastline - stunning. The rooms are fine, average size and of obvious 70s style but by no means tired. Large balcony and very nice wooden table and chairs for evening lounging before going out.

Good pool which is quiet, only half the loungers ever seem to be taken and only 2-3 people in the pool if any. And surely the best pool guy in the world...you just call down before breakfast ask him for loungers and he puts the towels out and positions the beds. Have to be back within an hour. Then when u go to lunch he moves them for you to follow the sun without even being asked. Made me feel pretty lazy!

Only minor beef is that the a/c isn't on in the rooms yet...only the lobby. I'm guessing it must come on for July or August and that's standard for hotels around here. Just not experienced that in a 4* before.

Breakfast is excellent all the usual fayre, and very polite and efficient staff. As other reviews have mentioned there is a very steep uphill 25 yard walk immediately out of the hotel to get up in to Taormina. No big deal and been good for our legs this week...but not really suitable for elderly or immobile I guess.

So a top hotel and glad we chose it. No hesitation in highly recommending it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HLamerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A 4 star hotel with a 7 star staff.
All the staff were very kind and obliging, they all speak English, parking at the hotel is all done with their own valet and the hotel is centrally situated.
Well done and keep it up
George

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george4320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Modern & wonderful, with amazing balcony views. Great breakfast, nice pool & a perfect step-off for your tour of Bella Taormina. Acrophobes - close your eyes if you use the outside glass elevator! I thoroughly enjoyed reading my novel on the balcony, with the spectacular Mediterranean panorama below. Overall great!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Gyrfalcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,809 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#34 of 87 in Taormina
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 87 in Taormina
969 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Monte Tauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Monte Tauro

Property: Eurostars Monte Tauro
Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Monte Tauro 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurostars Monte Tauro Built on the slope of a bluff, the Eurostars Monte Tauro 4* allows you to perfectly appreciate, from its terraces that follow the outline and curves of the coast, the immensity of the Ionian Sea and the beauty of the Gulf of Naxos. Its excellent location near Taormina’s historic city centre on the Sicilian coast allows you to discover the charm of classical antiquity that the city conserves in buildings like the Greco-Roman theatre. The large panoramic pool of the Eurostars Monte Tauro 4* allows you to enjoy the sensation of being suspended above the sea. Its views and refined designs featuring exotic woods, finishing touches of silk, plants and exclusively-designed furniture complete a luxurious stay on this beautiful Mediterranean island. The final touch is the original bar which is decorated with beautiful paintings and the spectacular restaurant that looks out on the Bay of Naxos where you can enjoy exquisite Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine, as well as an excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Eurostars Monte Tauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Tauro Taormina
Hotel Monte Tauro
Monte Tauro Hotel
Eurostars Monte Tauro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing