We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Best view in Taormina
Really nice pool
Breakfast was really good, very nice granite
Yes the ramp to access the hotel is a bit steep but frankly it was not that bad
We really enjoyed our room and the view is literally breathtaking, the staff was charming

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank simonneam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked our WEDDING with Thomson and stayed at the Monte Tauro. I have so much to write in my review but it would take FOREVER. I shall try to condense.
The actual hotel is extremely clean and that staff are friendly approachable and cannot do enough for you. Fabio the receptionist made our wedding day that extra special and Giuseppe (our favourite waiter) brought us a trolley with champagne and breakfast on the Wedding morning. Giuseppe brought us different surprises at breakfast which tasted amazing and as I'm not the most adventurous I probably wouldn't have tried some things myself. The pool staff are very efficient and helpful and the food at the pool bar is spot on.
The location of the hotel was A* right in the middle of Taormina , 5 minutes walk to the most amazing wedding venue on the planet, the Corsa Umberto is so relaxing to walk along and to take in the culture. The walk down to the hotel is very steep but if you take your time its fine. We ate at the Bella Blue restaurant quite a few times as it was very reasonably priced and great variety - seafood risotto has to be tried ! Bella Blue overlooks the cable car (board the cable next door to restaurant) which takes you down towards the beach named Islo Bella. We spent some time in The o'Seven Irish Pub on the Corsa Umberto, the boys stopped there on the way to the wedding venue for some dutch courage haha the staff were very welcoming and we had some great photo in there. We had our wedding reception in the Copacabana lido. They were welcoming and just out of this world. They decorated the tables, the champagne was endless as was the wine and the food. They have their own private beach which we used after the wedding and have the most amazing photos !
Family stayed in Giardini Naxos and so we visited there - I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel clings to the side of a cliff, which gives great views from every room that we visited. Our room was large, with a spa bath and huge walk in wardrobe. The only odd thing about the room was that there was an espresso machine with coffee pods provided, but there was a charge for each pod used. Seemed strange and somewhat mean, in a hotel of this quality and price range. However, the terrace was well set up for relaxing and watching the view of the ocean and coastline below, even without the coffee! There was a variety of choices for breakfast, more than enough to cater for any taste. The walk to the reception level from the road above is via a steep slope which is also the roadway to the carpark. This might be a problem for people who can't move quickly when necessary. Aside from that, we enjoyed the hotel immensely and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is great, you won't be disappointed! Other than the steep steps, avoid if you have bad knees or struggle with stairs, the location is perfect! The hotel itself is beautiful and the view is out of this world!

The breakfast is great - fresh, varied and plentiful. Make sure to try the granita at the end of the room! The service are welcoming and helpful. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant because we read a few negative reviews so decided to give it a miss as there are so many restaurants close by.

The pool service is fantastic, by far the best we've experienced on any holiday. The pool is staffed at all times. Towels are supplied and beds are allocated on arrival, you can reserve a bed for an hour but you can't disappear and leave belongings on the bed to keep them for a long time period. It's a great system The guy who was on most mornings, white cap, was amazing! He worked so hard at all times finding the best available beds and moved the loungers to the best positions to catch the sun. Probably not suitable for young families as there is no baby pool, shallow end is .88m.

Reception and the welcome staff are equally as good. Helpful with any problem and will keep your key if you leave for the day. On the last day they offer towels and a room for 30 mins to shower if you checkout and have a late flight!

The free wifi is perfect and can be reached anywhere from the hotel, even the pool and snack bar. It's fast and reliable.


I gave it 4/5 only because there are no tea or coffee facilities and no iron in the room. Also the snack bar beside the pool is very average. The only staff we didn't find friendly! It seemed being there and ordering food was a nuisance for them.

I would definitely stay here again and would have no problem recommending it.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an excellent sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DIAMOND89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had a fantastic week away in this excellent hotel. The location is perfect. The views from the rooms are fantastic. The reception staff were exceptional and very helpful. The pool attendants were excellent also, we never had any issues getting loungers even during a busy week. Breakfast is very good also. As mentioned in a lot of reviews, the hotel is on a steep incline and it might be difficult to walk up to the town for anyone with mobility issues, however the town itself is on a slope with lots of steps everywhere so it is not unique to this hotel. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the right of the lift and on a higher floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aoife2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Hard to find any fault with this small modern and friendly hotel. The location is absolutely perfect.
It is clinging on to the side of the cliff on the edge of the town. The views from the bedroom balcony look across the sea, with Italy visible in the distance. But look to the right and you have a great view of Mount Etna. The town centre is only a few hundred yards away. However, you need to be reasonably fit, the 40 steps from the front door of the hotel to the town are very steep.
But this is Taormina, where everything is built into the hill. You can drive down to the front door of the hotel, but I wouldn't. It looked terrifying. Overall, an excellent base for a visit to Taormina and Mount Etna.

Room Tip: not all the rooms have a perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely hotel in a beautiful bay and superb views - we had the bay in front of us and smoking Mt Etna to our right. Staff were excellent. Great time. For those travellers that have difficulty in walking, just to say the hotel is down a fairly steep hill (37 steps). Resort was lovely and plenty to see and great to sit in a bar and watch the world go by. Recommend without question

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#33 of 87 in Taormina
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,886 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Monte Tauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Monte Tauro

Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £61 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Monte Tauro 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurostars Monte Tauro Built on the slope of a bluff, the Eurostars Monte Tauro 4* allows you to perfectly appreciate, from its terraces that follow the outline and curves of the coast, the immensity of the Ionian Sea and the beauty of the Gulf of Naxos. Its excellent location near Taormina’s historic city centre on the Sicilian coast allows you to discover the charm of classical antiquity that the city conserves in buildings like the Greco-Roman theatre. The large panoramic pool of the Eurostars Monte Tauro 4* allows you to enjoy the sensation of being suspended above the sea. Its views and refined designs featuring exotic woods, finishing touches of silk, plants and exclusively-designed furniture complete a luxurious stay on this beautiful Mediterranean island. The final touch is the original bar which is decorated with beautiful paintings and the spectacular restaurant that looks out on the Bay of Naxos where you can enjoy exquisite Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine, as well as an excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Monte Tauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Tauro Taormina
Hotel Monte Tauro
Monte Tauro Hotel
Eurostars Monte Tauro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing