We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in an excellent position overlooking the bay and close to restaurants and bars.”
Review of Monte Tauro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monte Tauro Hotel
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in an excellent position overlooking the bay and close to restaurants and bars.”
Reviewed 24 June 2010

To get to this hotel we took a large coach to the bus station in Taormina and transferred to a minibus for the next stage due to the steepness and narrowness of the roads. Even the minibus cannot take you to reception as a smaller vehicle is required to take your luggage the final 100 yards. Whilst this might seem troublesome the end result is a hotel in a lovely position built into the hillside, overlooking the bay.The staff on reception were very helpful throughout our stay and rooms were kept spotlessly clean. The views from the rooms were great with all having large balconies and sea views. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the town with its large selection of restaurants and bars ( the walk however is uphill and very steep just outside the hotel entrance). The restaurant Gattopardo, not far from the hotel serves good food at reasonable prices. Apart from breakfast we did not have meals in the hotel so cannot comment. The breakfast was a little disappointing for a 4 star hotel. As for excursions we strongly recommend the day trip to Mount Etna including the cable car and jeep to the top.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Villan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    282
    63
    26
    11
See reviews for
94
439
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed here for 2 weeks in September. The location was wonderful and the staff could not do enough for you, especially the pool attendant who would always get you a bed just where you wanted it - no towels left on beds at midnight here. Taormina itself is just beautiful and the location of the hotel meant that all the lovely bars and restaurants were just a short (if somewhat steep) stroll away. We will definitely return toTaormina and will definitely stay at the Monte Tauro.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatonspair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We were very unlucky as for the full time we stayed here it rained. See all the notes about the car parking it is one of the hardest ones I have ever tried to get into. You have to drive down steps to get into it!
We had book a J suite and were given the worst one they had first off. Only after when we asked to be moved they showed us all of the rooms they had free (quite a few) and let us pick. This makes no sense, if work in a hotel you fill up your best rooms first no?
I think that the hotel is used by a lot of package tours which makes it full of brits and germans. I would worry that there may be a problems around the pool and getting space. There were some skirmishes at breakfast with the Italian staff trying to make peace. All a bit dad army!!
The people on reception were not that friendly, we asked them to book a restaurant for us but didn't manage to do it for us (twice).
Not much of an atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We Stayed at the Monte Tauro for a week in June 2009, I'm always slightly dubious about star ratings for hotels in Europe but the Monte Tauro lived up to it's rating. The rooms were reasonably spacious, although the european 'double' actually being a twin was a bit annoying as always, and it had a great little balcony with seating and table that had a nice view of Taormina/Giardini Naxos Harbour. The pool was great, never too crowded and the attendant guy was helpful with towels and loungers etc.
The Breakfast always had a good selection ranging from pastrys, fresh fruit, meats, cereals, fresh squeezed OJ and even Bacon and Eggs if you're one of those Brits who can manage without it for a week! God forbid that you eat something a little bit local!!!!
We never ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening so can't comment about that.
The staff at the front desk were always very helpful, we were there when the Taormina International Film Festival was on and the reception/concierge arranged free tickets for us! Watching a film premiere in an open air Greek amphitheatre was awesome!
The Hotel is only a few minutes walk from the town and it's many good restaurants and Gelatto shops!
I can whole heartedly recommend Ristorante Le Naumachie, tucked away in the back streets of Taormina, look out for the Orange and White Restaurant sign, we ate there twice during our stay and the food was fabulous! the staff there were great and very knowledgable, if you go try and get a seat up stairs and if you can right on the balcony. They also have a live band accompaniament too who play on the roof of the restaurant.
Overall the Monte Tauro was a great place to stay in Taormina, We would definately go back again there!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spartacus261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The monte tauro is a nice hotel. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean and the balconys are lovely with great views. The pool is really lovely and the pool man is really nice and helpful. The steps outside aren't too taxing if your reasonably fit but i can see how they could cause some people difficulties. Our room was on the 6th floor so you could hear the breakfast being set up every morning from about 6am which might annoy some people but if your room was on a lower floor I'm sure you would not hear anything. We stayed here for 7 nights and found it very relaxing but would not stay in Taormina for that length of time again as everything can be seen in a few days. We had some thunder storms aswell during our stay which meant we couldnt sunbath or swim. The park beside the hotel had free open air concerts most nights which was nice and we found a couple of lovely restaurants in the town.Overall Taormina is a very pleasant place to stay, and the Monte Tauro was very nice, no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange COunty, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We were kind of scared of this place based on the reviewes. HOWEVER this place was AMAZING. Great view, and perfect location. Service was outstanding. Balconies were great and breakfast was the best we had during 2 weeks of touring Italy. Pool was great and pool staf was very cool. Overall would highly recomed this hotel A+++++

The steps were not bad at all

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyLikesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

There are other reviews which will go into more detail than this, but why do I think that this is such an absoutely fabulous hotel:
The staff at reception were helpful, knowlegable and provided one of the smoothest check in and check outs we've had. There was none of that last minute checking of the mini bar just to make sure you've not taken something out at the last minute - they just simply trust you!
The pool attendant (sorry but you're too old to be called a pool boy!) was amazing. He would always manage to find you a bed, explained where everything was on the first day and greeted you in your native language! He wouldn't settle for anyone sneaking down at 5am to put out towels!
The usual buffet breakfast was made extra special by being able to juice your own oranges and by the provision of fizz! Always an excellent way to start the day.
Our room was always done early, staff didn't move our things around in the bathroom and we always had everything replaced where necessary. They even tucked my bunnie up in bed, instead of leaving him on top of it!
Our mini bar service was excellent with everything replaced promptly and daily and without having to fill in a form everytime you consumed something.
Don't get put off by the steep walk out of the hotel, it will help you wear off all the pizza and pasta!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Tauro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Tauro Hotel

Property: Monte Tauro Hotel
Address: Via Madonna delle Grazie 3, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Tauro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Monte Tauro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Tauro Taormina
Hotel Monte Tauro
Monte Tauro Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing