We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Central location with great views of Etna and bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Central location with great views of Etna and bay”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Hotel was excellent in every respect from initial welcome to reluctant farewell after superb relaxing holiday. Centrally located within couple of minutes of Corso Umberto central thoroughfare and shops. Greek theatre nearby and hotel is next to the town communal garden. Stunning views of Etna and the bay below where you can often see cruise and masted ships at anchor. Handily placed for bus station and coach pick up stops if going on local tours

Rooms clean and comfortable and well laid out and seviced daily. Roof top restaurant is grat for breakfast and daily evening meal if dont want to frequent the many nearby excellent restaurants and famous Bam Bar for their varied granitas

Staff friendly and accomodating and free use of nearby Beach club with laid on shuttle was an added bonus

Highlyt recommend this as a base and and oasis of tranquility with varied walks in and around Taormina

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room as they come with terrace view over bay and towards Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celticboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    160
    49
    18
    8
See reviews for
89
265
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We had a great 4 days here, loved Taormina, and this hotel is in a great spot, with the most amazing views. The rooms are big and could do with a bit of maintenance, but don't be put off, friendly staff, good food and they have a beach property as well which is just awesome. We spent a day down at the beach - you are treated like royalty, beautiful pool, grounds, great food, friendly staff. Would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

One of the many reasons to stay for a while in Taormina is its setting high above the coast and the proximity to Mount Etna. This hotel, depending on your room, offers probably the finest views and they are magical. This is a third generation family owned hotel with the grandparents still holding the reines but ably supported by several tiers of their family awaiting the opportunity to add a slightly more modern feel to the establishment. The historical style and furnishings are what gives it it's charm and distinguishes it from the sameness too often found. The location is moments away from the fascinating town centre and numerous excellent restaurants, the historic venues and the adjoining public gardens once part of the hotel when it was owned by an ex mistress of The Prince of Wales(not the current one obviously). Other reviewers have expressed disappointment with the choices of breakfasts but it was normal fare fore much of Sicily. The coffee was strong and black, the choice of fresh fruit good and the sixth floor setting unbeatable. It you indulge in a full lunch and a splendid dinner in the town you really don't need eggs cooked to oreo.

The hotel own a very fine beach resort and shuttle bus service to it(free) and the garden, pool, restaurant of high standard, plus the black volcanic sand beach are well worth the detour. The gardens have bee a labour of love by the grandmother and you will find avacados hanging on trees, sweet ginger with wonderfully perfumed blooms, even bananas growing amongs herbs and some spices for the kitchen.

Parking outside is limited to three free spaces but they have a secure indoor garage close by at 17 euros per average car per 24 hours. Driving to the hotel needs strong nerves.

Room Tip: There are four amply spacious rooms on the fifth floor with their own verandahs equipped with lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Writerchappy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The staff at Villa Paradiso are extremely friendly and were very helpful with the advice they gave about exploring Taormina.

We were a young couple exploring sicily for the first time. Our day trip which the hotel recommended to Etna was exceptional.

Excellent location, nestled a few minutes from the centre of town yet with fantastic views of the sea and mount Etna. Breakfast every morning looking over mount etna was breathtaking.

Fantastic rooms whether a city view or sea view. I can't recommend the hotel highly enough!

Breakfast was the one disappointment but not enough to detract from this wonderful hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CZhangazha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

What do you say about a hotel with great views from sea view rooms, the top of Mount Etna viewed from the restaurant and your bedroom, The immediate proximity to the lively centre of Taormina and furniture and bedrooms that are unique. Usually wonderful. However the restaurant is a complete disaster, a few boiled eggs and a knife seem beyond this establishment. Coffee would have been nice but in Italy it appeared to be difficult. If this had been one occasion I would have said nothing.
In all a curates egg good in parts.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The positives- great location walking distance from all sights, cafés and great views from our room
Some very helpful staff
We upgraded to a double superior room which gave us much more space and a dining table plus chairs which enabled my husband to work when he needed to.
The negatives-
Bathroom poorly refurbished and cramped, no space for putting cosmetics, poor quality shower pressure and fittings looked very tatty. Tiny rounds of poor quality soap and shower gel.
No tea/coffee making facilities ( we bought a small kettle which was a god send.
Poor breakfast- fresh fruit on some days, bruised and soft on other days. Horrible cereal, cold hard boiled eggs, processed cheese. We bought our own cheese and tomatoes for breakfast. Only place in Taormina where we got bad coffee.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant the first night and it was poor quality. The risotto arrived cold as did my husband' veal. Went back for reheating but still came back cold. There are so many restaurants in the vicinity that I would suggest avoid the hotel restaurant.
I would not stay here again. Shame as with a little imagination and some investment

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NCRC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A good 4-star hotel in an excellent location. We went for the cheapest room possible but this was still good. Daily housekeeping was thorough and thoughtful. The staff are relaxed and friendly and helpful with directions and local knowledge. Two minor criticisms: the air conditioning in our room wasn't very effective and few TV channels are available. The chief advantage of this hotel is its location. It's on the edge of Taormina's main area for restaurants and bars and also enjoys panoramic views over the coast. Within walking distance of the main sites, including the Botanical Gardens (which is right outside), the Greek Theatre, Saracens' Castle, and also the main bus station. (You can also reach the train station in 20 minutes if you climb down the hill.) Dinner in the restaurant was good but there are so many more options nearby. Buffet breakfast was simple and sufficient - the best thing about it is the view you enjoy while having it. Recommended for anyone spending a few days in gorgeous Taormina.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchy_Feet_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#18 of 88 in Taormina
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#20 of 88 in Taormina
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Paradiso

Property: Hotel Villa Paradiso
Address: Via Roma 2, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a few metres from the historical center of Taormina, and a stone's throw from the main street (Corso Umberto) and the Congress Building; the hotel overlooks: The Bay of Naxos, Etna volcano, the public gardens and tennis courts.From 01/06/10 al 15/10/10, a fully equipped beach service is available free at the "Paradise Beach Club" lido in Letojanni (garden overlooking the sea with swimming pool) with a shuttle service at about 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paradiso Hotel Taormina
Paradiso Hotel Taormina
Villa Paradiso Taormina
Hotel Villa Paradiso Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing