We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a week spent at Villa Paradiso Hotel, Taormina, Sicily. Taormina is the most beautiful place but make sure that you take plently of money. You do not eat cheaply in Taormina, but it is a shoppers paradise with every other shop selling, Gucci, Armani, Rolex, etc,etc. Villa Paradiso is an official 4 star hotel, although it felt like a 3 star. Even prior to booking the hotel I suspected this to be the case, and indeed our alternative hotel choice was to be the 5 star San Domenico and which was indeed 5 star. However, our choice of Villa Paradiso was for the view and this was 10 star. The view over Naxos Bay and Etna was best from the top floor restaurant and it certainly redeemed the hotel for any other failings. When we arrived we were booked into a village room on the second floor and which disapointingly looked out onto a blank wall and a small but busy street. We enquired about a front facing room which was available at a modest premium (20 euros extra per day) and this provided the same fantastic view as that from the restaurant. Staff were very good as was the breakfast. In the event that we visited Taormina again, we would certainly book into this same hotel, subject to the availability of a front facing room. NOTE: We were located on level 4 and the room had a full width panoramic window, half of which would slide open. If you fancy a very small balcony go for level 3 but you will sacrifice the panoramic window.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for four nights from 22nd May 2014 (being a couple, mid 40s, from UK). On the whole we loved it. We booked a classic room and had a fabulous view of the sea and Mt Etna, and on arrival were offered a choice of two rooms. The one we picked had a massive balcony on the 5th floor with a sliding glass roof and doors where we spent most of our time. The location was also great - very close to all the town amenities but quiet at night as right by the public gardens. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and the staff were all very helpful. The hotel has a bar which is open until 2am which was great at the end of an evening

All the things that weren't quite perfect we had already read in reviews for this hotel:
The hotel has three parking spots and if these are full you have to park around the corner in a payable car park (this was always stressful when coming back from a day out although the staff worked hard to get us a space outside)
The air con in our room and the shower were quite temperamental; the room was quite small and a little tired.
The breakfast was only just acceptable and was made up of a strange mixture of items....although the view from the restaurant was fantastic and made you forget the stale croissants!
The restaurant did serve a fixed dinner every night (menu posted in the lift/elevator each day) but we didn't eat there. It did look lovely though and other guests said it was.

Would we come back?.....definitely....the view, location, atmosphere and staff made it a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Go for a classic room if you can afford it with the view and a lovely big balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsFCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Booked by phone and confirmed by internet. All was exactly as promised. Garden, Sea and Etna view was breathtaking.
Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful - even encouraging my "intermediate" Italian.
We had rented a car to get about and, when a space was not available immediately outside the hotel, someone from reception accompanied me to a local garage to ensure I was looked after.
Breakfast was a good selection of hot and cold items, rapidly replenished and the coffee was served properly in pots - not from a machine !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We booked by chance and were delighted with the room, the service and the food. The staff were never-failingly pleasant and helpful. Breakfast in the terrace restaurant with the astonishing view of Etna and the sea was worth a lot more than the daily cost. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our package included a "city view" room. I had thought about asking how much an upgrade would cost, but didn't get that far - we were upgraded for free! The view is wonderful: Mount Etna and a whole sweep of coastline. The same view awaits in the restaurant. The room itself was on the small side, but that's what we've come to expect in Italy. The bathroom was well equipped - (shortish) bath with shower head. Downstairs there was a comfortable and spacious lounge/bar area. The restaurant offered plenty of choice for breakfast. We were enticed to eat there on one evening by a discount offer on the set menu. The food was good, but 4 courses is too much for me and we found better value in some of the surrounding excellent restaurants.
The hotel is quite close to the centre, but getting there (or most places in Taormina for that matter) involves slopes or steps. The adjacent park was an excellent place to stroll. All in all a very good choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 225 - excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We arrived a couple of days before Easter, a busy time in Taormina. Our room, although small, had a view over the next-door tennis club and the lovely gardens beyond that. The hotel was an easy walk to the main drag, but far enough away from it to avoid the surge of tourists. Fortunately, we got one of the few parking spaces reserved by the hotel in the garage around the corner, as parking is extremely limited on the street. (And trying to find the hotel, even with a GPS, is no small feat with Taormina's convoluted and extremely narrow streets.) The one disappointment was the hotel restaurant, advertised in some guide books as worth a trip in itself. Despite the high tourist season, the restaurant was offering only a 'prix fix' menu with no choices: take it or leave it. And if you took it, it wasn't that good.

Room Tip: If you're happy in a small space, the rooms overlooking the tennis club and the garden are away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Mason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great stay for Valentines weekend. Was a bit difficult to find since we had never been to Taormina before however locals were willing to help with directions. Breakfast was OK, but with an amazing view!! Room was clean and mount etna looked wonderful both in the morning and at night. The staff are really nice, it is a family run business. Our room was next to a tennis pitch which could be noisy at times, TV was available.
Nothing to complain... had a very pleasant.
Close to Corso Umberto and all other interesting spots... no where is far from Taormina. We used the Garage at the bottom of Taormina Garage Lumbi as it was cheaper than the one promoted by the hotel. Use the shuttle bus from the garage to Taormina and back (5 mins or less ride).

Room Tip: Avoid the ones close to the tennis court
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malteser286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#20 of 87 in Taormina
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#26 of 87 in Taormina
792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#15 of 87 in Taormina
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Paradiso

Address: Via Roma 2, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#23 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £63 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a few metres from the historical center of Taormina, and a stone's throw from the main street (Corso Umberto) and the Congress Building; the hotel overlooks: The Bay of Naxos, Etna volcano, the public gardens and tennis courts.From 01/06/10 al 15/10/10, a fully equipped beach service is available free at the "Paradise Beach Club" lido in Letojanni (garden overlooking the sea with swimming pool) with a shuttle service at about 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paradiso Hotel Taormina
Paradiso Hotel Taormina
Villa Paradiso Taormina
Hotel Villa Paradiso Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing