We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay in a busy town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The staff were all really helpful and (again helpfully for us) they spoke good English. The hotel was lush and clean and the pool looked great from our balcony as well as poolside. The ambiance was peaceful and well organised and an easy walk from all the amenities in the town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyaspinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,900 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

I travelled with my wife and two children as well as my father and his companion. The room my immediate family occupied featured two bedrooms, a full bathroom, a WC, and a kitchenette. It was located just a few steps from the pool and had a view of the beautifully landscaped gardens. In front of our small patio were lemon and orange trees, which the staff cheerfully allowed our kids to climb and gather fruit from. The pool area was gorgeous with a view of the sea below, and the outdoor bar offered drinks and a good, if limited, menu--a bit pricey, but worthwhile for the setting. The hotel is not far from Taormina's main street, and while it doesn't have a restaurant for evening dining there are numerous places to eat only minutes away on foot. Breakfast was varied and ample. To round off the praise, the staff were wonderful--friendly, polite, knowledgeable, eager to help. The Hotel Belvedere costs more than I ordinarily pay for accommodation, but it was worth the splurge. I hope to return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuckwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Could not fault this hotel. Very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. We had a room with sea view and balcony - absolutely lovely. Location really good and short walk to town and bus station. Hotel pool area, bar and garden were a delight. A bonus was the municipal gardens practically next door.One of the best holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Location : Peaceful yet an easy walk to restaurants and the pretty park.
Views: Stunning.
Communal areas: spacious and elegant.
Rooms: comfortable and super clean.
Staff: Professional and competent, courteous and helpful.
Guests: mixed ages and nationalities.
For a relaxing week's holiday the Belvedere would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chr28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

This hotel exceeding our expectations. Lovely room (No. 27) with a large terrace with spectacular views. There was even a view from the bathroom ! Room was clean, crisp white sheets and plenty of storage for a 1 week stay. In room safe, fresh towels everyday.

Breakfast was typically Italian, with cold meats, cheese, bread, etc. and freshly squeezed orange juice. Much better choice and quality than other Italian hotels I have stayed at.

This hotel is in a great position between the main town (walk though the amazing botanical garden with views of Etna) and the bus station the other way (with a stop at a viewing platform with more fantastic views).

If I had to try and pick fault it would be the lack of a small fridge to keep the beers cold for drinking on the balcony) and noise from the room above. This is not the hotels fault, just inconsiderate fellow guests on the floor above moving furniture at crazy times of the morning. Prices in the pool bar a bit high but just take a stroll to Mamma Mia (2mins down the road) and you can buy water, beers, wine, and amazing sandwiches for lunch and have a picnic in the stunning botanical gardens.

I would return to this hotel tomorrow.

Room Tip: go for sea view on the same level as reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The views are gorgeous! The view of the sea is incredible and you can even see Mount Etna in the distance. There were a lot of families there and the hotel was very accommodating for us and our son (8 years old.) It is conveniently located to the central part of Taormina and right next to one of the most goregeous public park I have every seen.
My only complaints are
1. The staff was not nearly as friendly or helpful as other hotels in Southern Italy
2. They charge you for little things (Pool towels, WiFi access, Parking) which is, again, not the norm for hotels in Italy
3. The prices at the pool bar for food and drinks are VERY high.
4. Some of the rooms are very small and need to be updated.
5. The road noise of traffic climbing the mountain is a bit overwhelming and goes on all night.

Room Tip: Sea side view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeremyhoglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Front desk staff were extremely helpful wth arrangements, area information and assistance!
Terrific breakfast with very helpful staff in breakfast room.......attractive environment abd attention to detail in the varied patios and grounds

Room Tip: Upper floors rooms with balcony/patios were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalytoTunisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.6 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#31 of 87 in Taormina
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#20 of 87 in Taormina
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Address: Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £136 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Belvedere is a delightful and romantic boutique hotel situated at 5 minutes walking from the center of Taormina. It is an ideal hotel for couples who are looking for a charm and relaxing oasis surrounded by a lovely garden always in bloom. With an amazing view of "Baia di Naxos" and the mount Etna Villa Belvedere its a perfect location for your Sicilian holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Hotel Taormina
Hotel Belvedere Taormina
Hotel Villa Belvedere Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing