We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, pretty, helpful - very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Clean, pretty, helpful - very good hotel”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

A really lovely hotel. Three of us spent three days in a room here and it was lovely. Our room was right by the top of the car park, but still was not too noisy. Very clean, nice touches, as many towels as you liked, working wifi and valet parking (a surcharge of €15 for parking) and a really lovely buffet breakfast (cooked breakfast for an extra charge). The hotel is on a hill with great views down into the valley, over the gardens and out to the bay. You can see Etna from the swimming pool. The pool has a bar in summer, the terrace is open year round tho and you can have wine out there whenever you like. The bar is 24 hours and there is also a library and a chess board. The staff are helpful, patient and very nice and they also generously allowed me to stay in the room till 1pm even tho check out is 11am as they had no one waiting to come in and our flight did not leave until late evening.

The location is very convenient, a short walk to the main street of Corso Umberto I and all the bars and restaurants around Piazza IX Aprile but also not far from the Greek Theatre. It is easy to miss so if you are driving, once you get onto Via Bagnoli Croce, a one way, narrow street, go relatively slowly – it is just past the gardens on the right, a hidden, very steep right turn – best to leave the car at the top and have it valet’d.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    343
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
347
1,075
47
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Every thing about this hotel was perfect. The location, the staff, the breakfast, the room, the cleanliness, the view. The staff were helpful and spoke English. The room was lovely and included a pot for making tea, etc. The "Juliette" Balcony had a lovely view.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the sea view - it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whabooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

After a slightly stressful drive from Palermo, The Belvedere Hotel was exactly what we needed.

From the moment we stepped through the door the staff were fantastic - warm, friendly, and accommodating - and made us feel welcome. We decided to upgrade from our room in the hotel to one of their new apartments a short walk down the road. I think we got lucky with the price - we booked via Expedia - but if you can, it's definitely worth trying the apartments (which are very impressive) or getting a sea facing room.

The breakfast was one of the best we had during our tour of Sicily and the staff were always on hand to show us where the nearest beach or attraction is. We spent a few days by the hotel pool and the beach as well as walking around Taormina, which is beautiful.

Taormina is one of the more expensive places in Sicily, but it's worth spending a little more to stay in the Belvedere so you can completely unwind and enjoy this stunning Sicilian town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Upgraded upon arrival to one of the apartments, it brought back many childhood memories of my summers in northern Italy with my relatives where I enjoyed "fare l'spesa" or the daily shopping of fruits, vegetable, bread and other goodies for lunch and dinner. The apartment is very nicely and elegantly appointed with modern furnishing and lots of details. The views out of the balcony are breathtaking and watching the Etna's eruption this morning was astonishing. The hotel's setting is so exquisite and it's pool area a true Zen refuge for us traveling urbanites.

Last but not least, congrats to the very attentive staff from the reception area to the breakfast room, pool area and my room keeper.

GL

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Gianlodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Spend extra to get the sea view...it's simply spectacular watching sunrise and sunset through the large arch fold back windows. The hotel is next to the beautiful public gardens on the way to the town centre by foot. You need to take transport to get to the train station and beach at the bottom of the hill.

The gardens and pool are beautiful that also overlook the glorious view.

My only criticism is that the breakfast buffet lacked a bain-marie for hot food that you get routinely elsewhere. Also, because you never want to close the windows you do get bitten by bugs as there are no fly screens.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dor1na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Taormina has one of the worlds most beautiful locations... And the family owned Hotel Belvedere certainly got one of the best... A hidden gem, where the words stylish and romantic are the first words that comes to mind... Only 300 meters from the city centre with a quite location this lovely hotel will give you a fantastic holiday... I'll be back...

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Danishviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Belvedere having spent two nights in one of their double bedrooms overlooking the pool and garden with views to the sea beyond.

The hotel is well equipped and the staff were excellent and extremely friendly. As soon as we stepped in to our room and caught site of view we knew we would enjoy our stay.

One of the highlights of the hotel is the pool with sun loungers and a restaurant/bar where you can enjoy lunch and drinks.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Property: Hotel Villa Belvedere
Address: Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Belvedere is a delightful and romantic boutique hotel situated at 5 minutes walking from the center of Taormina. It is an ideal hotel for couples who are looking for a charm and relaxing oasis surrounded by a lovely garden always in bloom. With an amazing view of "Baia di Naxos" and the mount Etna Villa Belvedere its a perfect location for your Sicilian holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Hotel Taormina
Hotel Belvedere Taormina
Hotel Villa Belvedere Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing