We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I am fighting against myself to write this review as the Belvedere is the sort of place that's too good to share!

The Belvedere staff are all, without exception, a delight - from the car parker who seems to stack guests' cars in an impossible manner, to the smiling chambermaids and pool-boy, the lovely ladies who serve breakfast, the helpful receptionists and even the back-room accountant! This shows the difference of a family-run hotel where the owners are constantly on the spot and take a personal interest.

As of last June the rooms were not all redecorated but they ooze character and charm. I hope that when they finish the redecoration, this hotel does not lose its old-world charm in favour of a modern makeover, as at the moment it's just the most relaxing elegant place one could wish for, full of Sicilian charm. The terraces and views are to die for, as are the hotels pools and lush gardens.

We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baroque5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chriacques, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Madame,
On behalf of all of our staff we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed a pleasant stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Warmest regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 1,900 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is one of the most wonderful hotel experiences, I have had. The staff at the hotel was amazing: Very helpful and always with a little smile on their face. Even the cleaning staff took their time to stop and smile when passing them. And yet the atmosphere was very relaxed and unpretentious.

The hotel itself was only ranked 3 starred, which might be because it has not been renovated for some time. However, this was not a problem as the hotel itself was nice, clean, and comfortable. And the pool as well as the view to the bay from here was also magnificent!

Really appreciated that it was a bit off from the main street(st) with all the noisy restaurants etc.

Overall, this is a nice hotel with the most amazing staff. Recommending it with no hesitations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakobChortsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived at night and the guy who brought us to our room was very helpful(don't know his name only thing I know is he is not from Sicily) when we got into our room we find out that we had our own terrace/balcony with an amazing view which we did expect and we decide to order two bottles of wine as we all ready arrived late we enjoyed the view with our wines, the next morning we woke up with a amazing sunrise and went down for a breakfast which was very good, we stayed 2nights in total we wanted to extend one more night but they dind't had availability, I'm a boutique hotel owner and I must say that this hotel is definitely with a five star, Taormina is a great village and I will definitely come back one day and I will stay in villa belvedere, thanks to all stuff who made our stay memorable.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank sAmthemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Belvedere could be so much worse...and still get by based on its great location and lovely views. As a matter of fact though, the Belvedere would be a pretty good hotel wherever it was located. The staff are friendly and rooms are spacious and clean. It's also home to the world's most talented car park attendant. The car park is tiny and cars are squeezed in with no apparent regard to the need ever to get them out again. We hadn't moved our car for three days and, on checkout, it was seemingly stuck four or five cars deep. No problem for the attendant - a dozen or more manoeuvres of the other cars and we were free, no more than five minutes later.

The hotel is a few metres from the lovely municipal park and a short walk into town (for us, followed by a very long search for a decent restaurant that is open in November). Driving to the hotel isn't much fun in the crowded and narrow streets of Taormina but that's part and parcel of taking a car to this historic town.

Back to the views then. Fantastic. A long sweeping coastline, above which looms Etna. We had a balcony room and I spent plenty of time just taking it all in. Immediately below lie the lovely gardens and pool of the hotel. Unfortunately the pool wasn't heated, but then we were staying for the last few days of the season.

Breakfast was good but not exceptional. Plenty of variety was on offer but I felt it lacked a little verve. However, it would be wrong to end on a duff note for such a good hotel. This is a quality place (and, dare I say it, reasonable value for Taormina) and is friendly and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mutandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 7 nights ,had top floor room with fabulous views of Etna & Naxos The hotel was spotlessly clean inside & out .towels changed every day sheets every 2 days .breakfast was excellent with a good selection &good service . All the staff were very friendly & helpfull .Plenty of sun beds to go round no need to rush down to the pool also you are not alloud to leave your towels on sun beds to reserve them ( great ) .Plenty on the menu at the pool bar ,nice to sit by the pool & have lunch .Turn right out of the hotel 10min takes you to the cable car where you can have a little boat trip to Isola Bella .Left out of hotel is a short stroll into town with lovely gardens on left 50 mtrs .Also let's not forget the beautiful town of Taormina .Great hotel would not bother looking for anywhere else to stay in this area .

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony room no 60 .comes with 2chairs table & parasol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Fantastic accommodations! The best we had in all of southern Italy! I totally recommend this hotel. The people were very kind, the rooms were spacious and lovely, and the location could not have been better. Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this lovely hotel with its fantastic view over Mt Etna. It doesn't have evening meals, or spas or gym but if you are not bothered about these things, then it's a great place to stay. Very nice pool with loungers and umbrellas with a snack bar. Breakfast was good as was service. Very friendly. Easy access to the centre, restaurants and shops. Nice walk to the cliffs and lift down to the beach.easy to get to the amphitheatre with great photo opportunities.
Loved it here and would go again but early booking is essential

Room Tip: Upgrade to a balcony over looking the sea. Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anenome5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.6 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Address: Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £133 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Belvedere is a delightful and romantic boutique hotel situated at 5 minutes walking from the center of Taormina. It is an ideal hotel for couples who are looking for a charm and relaxing oasis surrounded by a lovely garden always in bloom. With an amazing view of "Baia di Naxos" and the mount Etna Villa Belvedere its a perfect location for your Sicilian holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Hotel Taormina
Hotel Belvedere Taormina
Hotel Villa Belvedere Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing