We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wonderful weeks holiday staying at Hotel Belvedere lovely hotel beautiful view from our room which also lovely in fact everything about this hotel is lovely including every member of staff so friendly nothing to much trouble . Thank you for making our 40th wedding anniversary holiday so special .
Taylors Plymouth

Room Tip: Rooms 3rd floor with sea view lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    343
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
351
1,078
47
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

On arrival we were upgraded to one of the new apartments which are in a separate building down the road. The apartments are extremely spacious, beautifully furnished with a large bathroom and powerful shower with bath.. The sea views were spectacular with a good view of Etna, erupting during our visit, which was an added bonus. However, they are very modern so might not be ideal if you are looking for a more traditional feel. The road runs in front of the apartments so is slightly noisier but this wasn't a problem and the apartment was very private. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, they also booked a lovely restaurant in advance for us for my birthday. The gardens were lovely and the pool area very pleasant - never any problem securing a lounger whatever time we visited the pool. The breakfast was very fresh with plenty of choice - only thing missing was not being able to eat outside on a terrace. The hotel location was excellent with a 5-10 minute stroll into town through the public garden. Lovely restaurant nearby if you don't want to walk into town every evening. Easy to reach the cable car to visit the beach. Don't often make return visits but I would definitely stay at this lovely hotel again - Taormina is wonderful.

Room Tip: We requested a sea view and terrace - would definitely recommend for the spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brindo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We ended our 10 day tour of Sicily with 4 days at the Belvedere Hotel - Good choice of hotel. We got a great Sea Facing room with a small 2 seater Balcony ..Fab ..great views and lovely to be able to wake up and go sit on the balcony and watch Taormina wake up.
Very Helpful staff ... Barbara and the other reception staff were a knowledgeable source, and got things done .......Add in an Excellent Breakfast Room. .... good choices and some very pleasant Scrambled eggs !!... a super hotel all round !

The Belvedere is on one of the quieter parts of the exceptionally busy Taormina town.. but its only short step to the main restaurant area and the main Street of Taormina with as many attractions as you like !

Good Pool and sun loungers if that your thing and a nice all day poolside restaurant.
Taormina is a good touring place ..Etna is a short drive away ...But tour here by coach ....a car is NOT recommended, getting into the hotel is more than a challenge !!
Recommended

Room Tip: get a \Seaside view of you can ...its worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strummer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned yesterday from Taormina and a week stay in the Hotel Belvedere to celebrate my husband's birthday. It's a great location just on the edge of the busy town and away from the hustle and bustle but in walking distance of the main town.

On arriving at the hotel the staff immediately made us feel welcome thank you Joshua, he was most informative. Our room was not quite ready so he offered us lunch with a 20% discount. It was very nice. We were in room 54, a little disappointed that we did not get a sea view however we paid for a standard room. On the plus side it was a quiet room, with a big bathroom, very clean and I must say, cleaned to a high standard every day. The housekeeping staff are on top of their game, regularly cleaning all day.
We had tea/coffee faculties but did not use, also fridge to use but not really cold however good enough for our water. The A/C unit was perfect
Only down side the door lock was difficult to get into the room, a few times we had to get someone to help us and the shower was positioned in the middle of the bath which was tricky however manageable

Breakfast was great, plenty of fresh breads, meats, cheeses, fruits especially the fresh cherries were a treat. My husband would have preferred some sausages but in general very good. Great service by the breakfast team who then went on to serve lunch by the pool so thanks to Camila (think that's how it's spelt), the gentleman with glasses on and Rita in a morning and lunchtime.

We had lunch three times which was excellent, I tried the buffet which was great tradition food and good value. Pool although I read in some reviews was not heated, it was very refreshing at this time of year as the heat was increasing.
Lovely sun terraces to relax on, plus people don't leave the towels on beds which is great as always a sun bed no matter what time of day.

Hotel is lovely, we enjoyed it, you get the family feeling and staff care. We had some excellent recommendation from Joshua at reception for restaurants in town and beaches to visit - thank you to all much appreciate our stay Julie and Graham

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamandjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

When we arrived past midnight after a very eventful trip, we were delighted to be given the room we dreamed of, on the 3rd floor, with a private balcony and 2 lounge chairs. As in all old buildings, the size of the rooms vary: ours was rather small and so was the bathroom which did not have a tub but a charming window on the bay from the great shower. Air-conditioning in the room was perfect. As other travelers have remarked, the beds are very firm and so are the pillows, but, to my surprise, I never suffered any of my frequent back problems and we slept wonderfully well. The public rooms did not seem to be air-conditioned but were cool and opened on beautiful views. I loved to be close to the public gardens and to main attractions of Taormina. It would be a good idea to mention that the swimming pool is unheated. We were offered lunch by the pool and a welcome drink: both excellent. An additional lunch by the pool proved to be in the range of most restaurants in Taormina, which are not cheap. I loved the breakfast choices and the coffee was the best I tasted in Taormina. Everyone was charming and willing to help. An excellent experience!

Room Tip: It's worth asking for a sea view and one of the higher floors. Make sure you confirm your time o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windinthewillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We'd certainly echo many of the positive comments about Hotel Villa Belvedere - the staff are extremely polite, helpful and friendly, and the hotel itself has plenty of shared space where you can relax by the pool, on one of the many terraces, or in the hotel bar and lounges. It's very well maintained and was a great location for both wandering into town for food and drinks, or wandering to the cable car to get down to the beach.

However, not all rooms are the same. The one we had (50) whilst a good size had very little natural light as it was at street level and overlooked the steep slope down to the car park. It was pretty sparse from a content perspective (no tea and coffee making facilities in here). The bathroom was rather narrow, but did have an excellent shower (important to us) as well as a full sized bath. We did book very last minute, so perhaps we were just a little unfortunate in our room allocation - it was perfectly acceptable though, and we didn't spend that much time in our room anyway. For info, the beds are extremely firm - not a problem for us, but might be useful for others.

It's obvious the rooms have been refurbished fairly recently as our room was spotlessly clean (well done to our maid who was also extremely friendly when we bumped into her on a few occasions). The air conditioning unit was also extremely quiet, which is nice if you want to leave it on through the night.

Some reviews have also mentioned complimentary lunch - we didn't get this, although they did offer us a complimentary drink at the bar on our arrival, which was nice. The 'house' Sicilian wine was excellent and kept at a perfect temperature. Breakfast was fairly basic (selection of cold meats, cheese, bread, pastries, eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereal), but did the job, and the coffee and freshly squeezed Orange Juice made a great start to the day.

They do have parking, but it's down a very steep slope. The valet park your car for you, which is by far the best thing to do as watching them reverse down the slope and shuffle cars around is worth the €15 per day charge alone. Parking on the street is only available to residents too. Taormina really isn't a place for a car - we left ours in the hotel car park all the time and got around on foot - much easier!

All in all a great hotel made even better by the staff. If we do go back to Taormina in the future, I think we'd very happily stay at Hotel Villa Belvedere again (albeit in a different room).

Room Tip: Get a room with a view to the back of the hotel (overlooking the bay and Mount Etna) if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyDinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chriacques, Direttore at Hotel Villa Belvedere, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you for your much appreciated and very positive revue on your holiday at Villa Belvedere, where in fact, as you surmise, your accommodation was town-facing because your room was booked only two days before you were to arrive and we had no other available – although as you mention, the room was acceptable from several points of view and had similar décor and amenities as the sea facing rooms.

Villa Belvedere was built in 1902, by my grandfather and those town facing rooms, which we have of course regularly modernised and refurbished every winter over the years, as indeed we do with the whole hotel, -those rooms were perhaps intended for staff travelling with families. As you will certainly have noticed, however, they do have the advantage of costing somewhat less than those on the side of the sea and after all, simply glorious views can be enjoyed from the terraces, as you mention and in fact from most if not all the public parts of the hotel.

Should you decide to return on a future holiday, as I hope and you are able to book some time beforehand, please rest assured that I would be delighted to allot you one of the rooms with the view over the Bay of Naxos and of Mount Etna that you would have preferred.

Kindest regards,

Cristian Pècaut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I returned to Villa Belvedere after my stay there last year. My desire to return speaks to the "like home feeling" that the staff creates for their guests, marked by an exceptionally warm and kind ambiance. When I return back to my real home in Colorado, I wake up missing their elegant and exquisite breakfast that is made memorable by the homemade, fresh Sicilian dishes--even cannoli on occasion, beautifully presented. The dining experience is enhanced with the fresh sea breeze and spectacular vistas of the ocean. It's the gentle way you start your day, especially when away, that really shapes your trip and at Hotel Belvedere they really get it!- Coco

Room Tip: Be careful about the rooms on the street/ city side as you will hear the traffic passing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chriacques, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Belvedere, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for such a wonderful review.
We are moved to learn that, when you are back to your country, you recall the welcoming atmosphere and the "like home feeling" that the staff contribute to create at Villa Belvedere. Thank you particularly for mentioning our rich and varied buffet breakfast, with all fresh, local home-made dishes and foods, prepared daily with great care by our chef, Mrs Rita.
We hope to have the pleasure of your next visit in the not too distant future, our warmest regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,032 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Property: Hotel Villa Belvedere
Address: Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Belvedere is a delightful and romantic boutique hotel situated at 5 minutes walking from the center of Taormina. It is an ideal hotel for couples who are looking for a charm and relaxing oasis surrounded by a lovely garden always in bloom. With an amazing view of "Baia di Naxos" and the mount Etna Villa Belvedere its a perfect location for your Sicilian holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Hotel Taormina
Hotel Belvedere Taormina
Hotel Villa Belvedere Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing