We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay in Taormina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our stay in Taormina”
Reviewed 22 November 2008

November 21, 2008. It has taken a while to sort through 3500 pictures of our trip to Rome, Amalfi Coast, Taormina and Siracusa Italy.

In September 2008 we stayed at the Hotel Villa Belvedere which was extremely pleasant. The hotel itself is ideally located and the views magnificient.. The staff was extremely helpful and the quality features of the hotel itself are first class. The pool area is very nice and well serviced. We would have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Villa Belvedere to anyone looking for a comfortable and convenient stay in Taormina.

The Martin's Toronto, Ontario Canada

Helpful?
4 Thank Toronto_OntarioDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    330
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
326
1,034
45
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

We have recently returned from this little hotel,and were very pleased with the overall experience.Prior to travelling we had arranged for a room with a large terrace at an additional cost of about £200.00,and were able to enjoy lovely views of the gardens,pool and sea.
The rooms as mentioned in previous reviews are quite rustic but most importantly very clean.One disapointment was that the bathroom only had a small shower and no bath,but we soon adapted to this.We had to pay an additional £50.00 roughly for air conditioning which was essential,even in October.
All of the staff,from reception through to breakfast and cleaning staff were all very polite and friendly,and just as other reviews have stated the overall standards are worthy of a 3* plus status.
I have to say that we do tend to like a little bit of luxury when we stay away,and for this reason will probably not return:Having said that however,we had a thoroughly enjoyable time and would certainly recommend this hotel as being at the top end of the 3* market in Sicily,an absolutely beautiful island,with Taormina without doubt being one of the most beautiful places that we have been to.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff and great views
  • Disliked — Additional cost of terrace and air conditioning
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piazzacavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Firstly, make sure you know how to get there because the GPS will want to take you through the pedestrian mall.

Secondly, park your car at the top of the steep entrance and let the concierge park it for you.

Thirdly, sit back and enjoy every little bit of it. Views, service, pool, location, and value for money.

You can't go wrong.

  • Liked — Delightful gardens, ambience and location
  • Disliked — finding the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nellie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow,Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Two weeks ago we returned from 10-days stay in Villa Belvedere. I loved the hotel first of all because of its friendly and helpful staff, all of them are very attentive to the guests. It is the staff who makes the whole atmosphere of the hotel - very nice and relaxing.. The rooms are really very simple but very tidy and equipped with all necessary (it would be nice to have also a mini-fridge in the room but it is possible to survive without it J). The most important thing is breath-taking view from the sun-terrace of the room! There is a risk to spend all the vacation sitting in a chaise longue and enjoing the views of Mt Etna (at night we saw flows of red lava!), the sea, lemon-trees in the garden surrounded the swimming pool area… Another important point is its location: the hotel is apart from the main street in a quiet place but it takes only five minutes of walk to get to:
- the center with its restaurants and trattorias (“Mamma Rosa”, I miss you so much!) and shops (marzipan, marzipan!);
-the Greek Theatre;
-the cable car to the Mazzaro area beach (warm and crystal clear water of Ionian Sea, excursions to grottos ; diving);
- the public garden – very picturesque place.
I’ve already recommended Villa Belvedere to my friends and colleagues. And if I return to Sicily… no, WHEN I return to Sicily I will stay again in this lovely hotel.

  • Liked — Staff, Amazing view, Garden
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetheral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We have just returned from beautiful Sicily and an enjoyable stay at Hotel Belevdere. The hotel was very clean and the gardens beautifully kept. We had room 28 which had a balcony with sun loungers overlooking the gardens and the sea.

The breakfasts comprised a good selection of cold foods and lovely coffee. Lunch round the pool was good value and enjoyable.

The staff were very helpful, particularly in parking our car in the car park. We didn't anticipate the difficulty in driving around Taormina. The narrow one way streets were interesting to drive. I would recommend if you were to hire a car to get a small one.

There were plenty of restaurants to choose from in Taormina. Some good ones to recommend are Al Giardino near the hotel, Licchios, and Granduca for a meal with a view.

There are not many places i would choose to revisit as there are so many places I would like to see, but Taormina and Hotel Belvedere are definitely places I would love to go back to.

  • Liked — The views
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Only just returned from Taormina.

Belvedere was better than expected. Staff always polite and helpful. Cant thank them enough especially the guys who always parked our hire car for us in the 'rubik - cubing' carpark.

Room simple but very clean and bed comfortable.

Buffet breakfast good and excellent coffee served by pleasant staff.

Hotel well located not far to walk to town or to bus station or to funicular for the beach.

Good little restaurant just up the road opposite the gardens. We enjoyed aperitifs at Billy and Billy bar at the square by the fountain. The owner is a darling and always made us so very welcome. He seemed to be popular with the locals too. A good place to sit and people watch.

All in all a lovely week in Taormin not forgetting Mount Etna of course. You get good views of the mountain as well as the coast from the hotel. Stunning!

  • Liked — The helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LichfieldChezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We didn't have a reservation in Taormina so we cruised the area. There is a wide variety in quality and price. We ended up calling the Belvedere because a friend had stayed there. We got a mid-season price of about Euro 160 a night.

The room was great - spacious and a great bed. Everything worked and we had a terrific view of the sea, the swimming pool, and Mt. Etna.

The staff was incredibly helpful. They encouraged us to hang out at the hotel after checking out and offered us a shower. The buffet lunch by the pool was fabulous.

The location is very good. A short walk up into the center of town. If you are driving, be advised that the hotel is on a one way street and the only way to get there is to circle the town on the high side and work your way down. The staff gave us a map and we got it right the first time.

  • Liked — Everything was beautiful
  • Disliked — No Internet in the rooms.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fornaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#7 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Property: Hotel Villa Belvedere
Address: Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Belvedere is a delightful and romantic boutique hotel situated at 5 minutes walking from the center of Taormina. It is an ideal hotel for couples who are looking for a charm and relaxing oasis surrounded by a lovely garden always in bloom. With an amazing view of "Baia di Naxos" and the mount Etna Villa Belvedere its a perfect location for your Sicilian holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Hotel Taormina
Hotel Belvedere Taormina
Hotel Villa Belvedere Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing