We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Paradise on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Villa Belvedere with my husband and 2 young children in June this year. It was in fact the fourth time my husband and I have stayed at this hotel - the first two times, it was just the two of us, 2 years ago we returned with our eldest daughter and this year we were there as a family of four. I've always been reluctant about posting a review about the hotel villa belvedere simply because it's such a find, you don't want to give away one of Taormina's best kept secrets! Whether you are there as a family or as a couple, this hotel really is a little piece of paradise on earth. It doesn't look like much from the main road, but once inside, you're transported to a 19th century villa with views sweeping down to the sea, yet with all the mod cons you’d expect from a modern hotel. Worth paying the extra for a room with the amazing sea views - my favourite are the ones with the romantic Juliette-style balconies. The breakfast is gorgeous - freshly squeezed orange juice, Italian coffee, gorgeous pastries and all the usual continental breakfast options, served in a high-ceilinged room with stunning views. Lunch by the pool with the olive trees bending over to almost tip the water is better than in many of the restaurants in town - try the daily specials, the antipasto buffet or the pasta al belvedere (you won't believe that tomatoes can taste this good!). Staff are exceptionally friendly and courteous, helped us out no end with baby food and bottles and never made us feel like second class citizens for being there with kids (like other places can do). Honestly, I can't recommend it enough. The only possible downsides would be that they don't serve dinner (if you were looking for that - but you've got tons of restaurants on your door step) and parking is sparse, but this place really is a little gem. I'm sure we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fanofscility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed 8 nights here following a 4 night stay on the Aeolian island of Vulcano. We chose to hire a car from Milazzo and drive down. Fine on the motorways but navigating up the steep climb to and around Taormina was pretty scary!

I was initially disappointed with this hotel. We were greeted very warmly and escorted to our room but the room was not of the standard I was expecting. We had upgraded to a sea view room with terrace. The sea view was great but no terrace, just a small balcony. The room was spacious enough but dark, a bit drab and, honestly, pretty basic. Unfortunately my husband and I are always reluctant to “complain” so we put up with this for a few days until we plucked up the courage to broach it with reception. They responded positively and moved us to a room on an upper floor the following day. Whilst a bit smaller, this room was infinitely better. It was brighter, sunnier, had better furniture and a more modern bathroom, as well as the terrace we had paid for!

I was surprised that the rooms did not contain any guest information whatsoever, ie as to facilities like breakfast, where to get pool towels from, things to do in Taormina. Reception staff are really helpful when you ask but it would be handy and usual to have basic information to refer to in the rooms.

Be aware that additional charges apply for air conditioning (10 Euros per day, not 6 as stated in the Citalia brochure). Charges also apply for parking. We emailed the hotel to reserve a space for our hire car as the car park is tiny although the staff who park the cars are incredibly skilled!

By the time we left I had really warmed to the Belvedere and begun to appreciate its charms. The pool and gardens are lovely (albeit the pool area is a bit on the small side when the hotel is busy and can get a bit crowded and loud if lively children are there), the staff excellent (particularly the dining staff who work extremely hard and patiently tolerated our poor attempts to speak Italian!) and we were very impressed with the meals served at the poolside bar during the day. It is a real pity there is no evening restaurant because the lunch meals are of a great standard. Also, eating out in Taormina for a week or more can be pretty pricey if you want to eat something other than pizza every day. The hotel location is great, a short walk to everything.

We had been undecided whether to stay in Taormina (top of the hill) or Giardini Naxos (bottom overlooking a nice beach).Having stayed there I was really glad we had gone for Taormina because, although heavily commercialised for tourism, it is prettier and there is more to do, especially in the evenings. The Greek theatre and (trip up) Mt Etna are breathtaking and a must. We loved Sicily and will definitely return to the island at some point.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylvieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We had a third floor room with a terrace overlooking the sea. The view was stunning. The gardens were lush and full of exotic flowers, the pool are was beautiful. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and could not do enough to help us. I would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This is the hotel you always hope to find. Fantastic pool amongst trees and ocean view, with little bistro and bar tucked in beside it. The hotel is very comfortable, well appointed, nicely furnished common rooms with bookshelves, a fantastic breakfast in a room with tall windows and great views of the sea. Very helpful multilingual staff. parking. This would be a 4 star hotel in any book we've seen.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jscatterall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The rooms were small, the shower was so tiny I could hardly use it (and I'm 5'2", 115 pounds), the AC didn't work all that great, the bed was uncomfortable, but honestly everything else about this hotel made the stay worth it, and I would go here again. The staff/service was superb - they went above and beyond to assist us. The views of the sea were gorgeous, the pool was very nice, and the vicinity of this hotel to everything you want to see is perfect. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBADancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed here for a full week. One of the highlights of our stay was the staff's proactive approach. Our reservation was not fully communicated to the hotel. Little did we know, we had booked our family room via the internet through a third party travel agent. Within 5 to 10 minutes of arrival, the hotel provided us with a great solution. The first night our family had to split up into two separate rooms down the hall from one another. The next 6 nights, they upgraded us from a family room to a two bedroom villa. It was exceptional - the space, the views, the rooms, the pool, the staff, the location -- everything was perfect for us.
The hotel is small enough to have a personal approach. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kakatang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This is an old hotel built in the 19th century that has preserved its charm as it has been modernized. It is surrounded by beautiful gardens and facing the gorgeous bay of Naxos, with Mount Etna in the background. The hotel is located near the Greek Theater, and a block from the botanical gardens, a few blocks from the city center. The staff is friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Address: Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £154 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Belvedere is a delightful and romantic boutique hotel situated at 5 minutes walking from the center of Taormina. It is an ideal hotel for couples who are looking for a charm and relaxing oasis surrounded by a lovely garden always in bloom. With an amazing view of "Baia di Naxos" and the mount Etna Villa Belvedere its a perfect location for your Sicilian holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Hotel Taormina
Hotel Belvedere Taormina
Hotel Villa Belvedere Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing