We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“People, Heed this warning! Stay away from this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taormina Park Hotel
Ranked #54 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“People, Heed this warning! Stay away from this one!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Please read Michelle C. (from June 8, 2012) and my review just below hers
from a year earlier (from June 12, 2011)! And note there are NO reviews between ours...that should tell you something! Don't EVEN think of giving it a go! We had such a bad experience, but not as bad as Michelle's, we found a lovely hotel just across the street from the broken down place and
still had a great time. The hotel across the street is Hotel Villa Belvedere and this is worth staying at. Really take it to heart reading our reviews and trusting us on this, stay away from the Bristol Park Hotel. If this is EVER taken over by new owners and renovated, it can bring it back to it's proper
elegance, but until that happens it remains a run down place.....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank skiFriscoCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    77
    41
    38
    32
See reviews for
38
117
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We spent quite alot of money booking this hotel and read a lot of reviews before travelling and found they were mixed so we decided to give it a go!
I wish I had paid more attention to the negative comments - I have stayed in nice hotels and basic hotels and can say this by far was the worst and felt it really important to say please don't waste your money on this hotel as Italy is beautiful and this hotel will sincerely dampen your trip .


Positive - Location for getting into the town
Friendly staff when you saw them
Clean rooms
View from the balcony was beautiful
Pastry selection for breakfast

Negatives - it is shabby, falling apart, dated, dark and no atmosphere - like staying in a library No bar which was open so couldn't even get a drink (soft / alcoholic) before exploring the town
No food served around the pool (although there were menus put out everyday)
Hardly anyone there in the middle of June felt like a mortuary
Breakfast was served in a dusty old room and had no atmosphere to the point of 1 waiter would appear then disappear after he'd taken your tea /coffee order
The bathroom was brown with a collapsing ceiling
The air conditioning was so loud and old and didn't work very well
The hotel is on a hill so you have to drag your suitcases out the bus and up quite a lot of steps which in the heat isnt fun - staff will help IF about
OVERALL DONT STAY HERE - HOLIDAYS ARE WHAT WE WORK FOR AND IT WOULDN'T BE FAIR TO LET YOU WASTE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY ON THIS

On a separate note - Lisa the airtours rep was terrible we were asked to move room, by accident they had given us a room which wasn't up to the correct standard - Lisa advised us, we agreed to stay where we were and would sign a disclaimer - she then proceeded to call,leave notes and bang on our door at unreasonable hours of the day to say - it was not good enough that we hadn't signed the disclaimer but when we had gone to reception no one was there (we had signed it within 24 hours of arriving so there was no need for her to be so rude) she had no empathy for the mistake or for hounding us and then when we asked her questions about potential excursions she said to come at the appropriate time when she had leaflets - so don't use airtours in Taormina if you can help it - as if something goes wrong they are only interested in covering their backs

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had a paid in full reservation for over 4 months, arrived late at night to find this hotel,
Bristol Park Hotel, entirely dark, gates all chained and locked up! We had 2 nights paid
and had no notification of this...most hotels around there were booked, finally found one
that had a room for us at much higher rate than we had paid for the Bristol Park. The next day we found out that there was a piece of paper taped to the wall that said "If you have a reservation at this hotel, call this number and we will pick you up and bring you to
our other hotel"....well, at night we did not see this note, and did not have a phone, but would not have gone to their "other" hotel that was much further away and alot worse of a hotel from what we were told. SO DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL...I do not know why it is still listed with hotels sites (i.e. Hotels.com, expedia.com etc.).... We found a really nice hotel just down the street that was REALLY nice, a good value, not too expensive,
more than the Bristol but it is worth it. Nice pool, etc. the staff is extremely polite, friendly and very accomodating!! This hotel is the Hotel Belvedere, and our room was room #40,
a great room with great views, windows on all three sides, the room is at the end of the
building facing the sea, overlooking garden and pool. Go for thie hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skiFriscoCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

Seems a risk with the mixed reviews, I can't imagine why both my partner and myself have high expectations oh what we want in a hotel and Bristol Park is a fine choice, very clean friendly. It feels like an exclusive hotel but very warm and friendly too.

By far the best location in Taormina. Exit the hotel turn left you have 5 min walk to the bus station, turn right and you walk past beautiful public gardens and straight into town.

Tip - follow the road into town and enter the small bar with barrels for tables, some of the best coffee and cheapest Tapas in the whole town

Ignore the negative just book it!!!

Thank you Bristol Park

Martin & Shelly Summer 2010

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GunnerMJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

I stayed here in October for a week. My room was very nice, particularly the bathroom (see photograph). The hotel had stunning views of Taormina and Mount Etna (see photographs). The hotel stafff who we met were very friendly and helpful.

Taormina itself is expensive but so are all the countries with the euro.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boffo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Visited in July and feel I must write about this hotel. I had always wanted to visit Taormina but this hotel made it not the dream I had envisaged. Whoever said the settees werent worn could not have sat on them. When we sat in the lounge for our visit by the Thomson rep the springs from the settee nearly caused an injury. Glad to read Thomsons arent going to use this hotel again. We too upgraded to a view of Mount Etna at extra cost but had to keep away from the balcony as it looked lethal. Iron balcony had wire tied round it. Yes wonderful chandeliers with every assortment of candle lights which did not match. What really got us was the poor man who worked his socks off there who laid tables every day with a menu by the pool with no prices and no food! Why get him to do it. It was like the Mad Hatters teaparty. He asked people not to drink round the pool as he would get told off. However, the drinks prices were beyond our pockets and we had to walk into town instead of using the pool area as in the heat we needed a drink. Tried to put on the light by the bedside and the shade fell off. We just went along with it all but value for money it was not. Breakfast was as everyone else has mentioned a do it yourself job. Went in October to Nerja in Spain. Just as wonderful scenery the Burriana Beach as good as Taormina. Much cheaper than Taormina. The Manager of the Bristol Park was on view while we were there. Just grunted at his staff and smoked his cigars in his office. Fair enough its his business but in the end he needs customers. We told the Thomson reps our views and she did listen. In fact the Thomson reps in Taormina have been the best I have every met. They made the holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleenmetcalfe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

When I realized that Thomson were not including this hotel in their next year's portfolio, probably due to negative reviews, I booked a week as I thought it looked interesting. Although we paid a little bit more to be upgraded to sea view rooms, we were given a superior room at no extra charge. The superior room was definitely superior with a large covered balcony. Our daughter had a single sea view room with a smaller balcony. I particularly appreciate a nice bathroom and in both rooms they were lovely.

I was told that the hotel is in the gothic style and built in the 1950s/60s - so much for the reviewer who seemed to think it was over 100 years old! I particularly liked the velvet covered chairs everywhere, none of which were worn and looked in perfect condition. The staff were all lovely, in particular the reception man from Sri Lanka. When I told him that our TV was not working properly he came up immediately in the lift with me and swapped our TV with another one. Our waiter at breakfast was very nice as well. The cooking of eggs and sausages at breakfast was suggested to the hotel because, according to the Thomson rep, Italian food is not hot enough! We didn't meet the owner so I cannot pass any comment but all I can say is that we couldn't fault our rooms or the service.

Just for interest I checked out four other Thomson hotels in Taormina, the Belvedere, the Ariston, the Sirius and the Grand Hotel Miramare. The Sirius at least wasn't too bland but had an unhelpful manager and no view of Etna. The lady owner in the Belvedere was lovely but unfortunately the Hotel Diodoro has blocked their view of Etna almost totally; the rooms were rather small and boring, particularly the bathrooms. The Hotel Miramare had 183 steps to the hotel pool and bar - I counted them going back up. The hotel could have been by the sea anywhere and likewise for the Ariston. The Hotel Bristol Park has the most outstanding views. Isn't location, location, location meant to be everything - it is for me and yet the hotel isn't overpriced.

Taormina is beautiful but full of rather uninteresting and expensive designer shops. The cruise ship passengers, many of them Americans, come in to Taormina in their hordes and swamp the shops and restaurants.. There are large parties of tourists everywhere, e.g. the Rivieria tours who typically number about 50. The hotel Belvedere takes large groups and was very full like the other hotels I looked at. In contrast the Hotel Bristol Park was lovely and less hectic.

The one way system made driving in Taormina difficult and, in common with other hotels, there was a quite a substantial charge to park in the hotel garage and in fact we also noticed that one seemed to have to pay for parking everywhere. I also heard from guests who had hired cars that there are few road signs and it is easy to get lost.

A bus trip to Castelmola was very enjoyable. A beautiful walk is to take the many steps down to the Mazzaro beaches and then take the cable car back up for 2 euros. Some works on the Isola Bella has closed it off until next year.

Thank you all at the Hotel Bristol Park for looking after us so well and for a most enjoyable week.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amazingsunsetbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#29 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#22 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taormina Palace Hotel
Taormina Palace Hotel
#51 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monte Tauro Hotel
Monte Tauro Hotel
#16 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taormina Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taormina Park Hotel

Property: Taormina Park Hotel
Address: Via Bagnoli Croce 92, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Bristol Park Hotel)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Taormina Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taormina Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Park Taormina
Hotel Bristol Park
Taormina Park Hotel Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing