We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic apartment, fantastic place”
other travellers have booked this property
View from apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
View from apartment
Night time view from Villa Virginia
view from apartment number 4 July 2014
Kitchen
Isola Bella - Great spot for eating fresh fish and soaking up the sun
Views to Mount Etna and Bay of Naxos
View of Etna and Taormina Greek Theatre
Hi all,I'm Virginia and i'm the manager of the Villa
view from apartment number 4 July 2014
certificate of Excellence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Richard S
2 reviews
“Fantastic apartment, fantastic place”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Amazing apartment with stunning views of etna and surrounding Taormina. Need to be in reasonable shape though as the steps are tough, (but glorious) and a taxi from the town is 15 euro. Its only a mile or so via the steps but the hill road is so windy it is a long way by road. But without that you wouldn't have the stunning views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Climb back to the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matti V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday as we planned: small town, seaside, hills, nice views and a good apartment”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We had a one-week holiday in Taormina and were looking for a small town, seaside, hills, nice views and a good apartment. Villa Virginia and Taormina fulfilled our wishes. The photos on the web site and Google streetview gave a true idea about what to expect. Temperature before mid-October was around 22...27 C on the daytime, there was no rain, so the timing was perfect. Sea temperature was very nice, maybe 25 C, too, we were swimming near Isola Bella. Beaches have lots of stones in Taormina so sandals were nice to have.

Apartment 3 is on the second floor, the balcony is to the East where you can see part of Taormina down the hill and the sea up to Italian coast when the weather is good. Monte Tauro (at 398 meters) is near and the coastline in Naxos is clearly visible. You can see part of Etna and the village of Castelmola higher up, from the balcony, and it can be even better in apartment 4.

There was enough space for two of us, and a long balcony. Practical things were there, refrigerator, micro oven, toaster, TV, WiFi (WLAN). Coffeemaker was not available. The view outside was so great we did not watch TV at all. WLAN was in use, it worked well, with speeds 1...3 to 4 Mbit/s (for those interested). Washing machine was very useful (bring your favorite washing powder).

There is a good bus line from Catania airport to Taormina bus terminal. It was good idea to get a taxi to go up to Villa Virginia on the first evening with suitcases. Virginia arranged the taxi. Local buses go from Taormina bus terminal via Villa Virginia and the stop is just 50 meters away from apartment.

Nearest restaurant, a good one, is El Saraceno, 200 m up towards Madonna della Rocca/Monte Tauro. There are no big supermarkets in Taormina. A good store is near Porta Catania (on Via Arcageta). There are small 'mini-markets', too, one is near Porta Messina (on Via Cappuccini). But you need to climb up more than 100 meters to the apartment. Buses go there, but we decided to have physical excercise every day and took a shower first when arrived to apartment.

Arrangements before the trip were done by e-mail. Virginia was available by phone, SMS and e-mail during our stay and she responded quickly.

It's advisable to study the stairs up and down to center of Taormina in the daytime with a map and lots of time. Roads are very curvy, and be careful with cars, there is often just a walking pavement on the side. Villa Virginia is not ideal for elderly people or with problems in moving around, but if you have a car or take the bus it's easier. Magnificent views are there all the time whatever you choose. For walking and hiking Taormina is perfect. Remember to visit Castelmola. There is a bus, but we took the walking lane up, and a path down the other side. Don't try it when it's dark.

Overall, it was a very nice holiday, both because of Taormina and Villa Virginia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views.
Liked least: Climbing up with foodstuff.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Captivating”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Apartment 4 - spectacular views over the coast and Mount Etna. The property manager, Virginia, was charming and most helpful from the booking stage through until our return from holiday. She was there to greet us at the apartment, explained everything about the apartment and answered all our questions about the area. She was always available by phone to provide additional help and support. There is a small supermarket just 5 minutes drive away in the direction of the motorway which provided the basics to get us started. The accommodation was in excellent condition and had everything that was needed for a holiday stay. The balcony was extensive and and it was wonderful to eat outside with the fabulous views. The restaurant Al Saraceno was just 5 minutes walk away in the direction of the church Madonna della Rocca and it provides lovely meals. Accessing the town - we always walked to the town. The numerous steps described by other visitors certainly added to our levels of fitness by the end of the week. Taormina is a charming, atmospheric town with plenty of history, boutique shops, restaurants and a large public garden. We had a most enjoyable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen g
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Easily accessible Modern Apartament with Stunning Views”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Myself & my partner booked in to Virginia Villas for our honeymoon & could not have had a more perfect experience. Virginia was so helpful from our initial enquiry to arranging a taxi collection from the airport & informing us on bus schedules etc. The peaceful view of the bay & Etna was breath-taking to wake up to every morning & finish each evening with. The apartment is brand new with WI-FI, air-con, & everything you could need including iron, hairdrier, umbrella & even a torch! You also have microwave, kettle, espresso maker, toaster & all delf, glasses,cooking utensils etc & washing machine should you need it. Castlemola is a 10-15 min walk uphill & a must-do, Madonna del Rocca is is just down on the right, and Taormina centre is a 10 minute walk downhill(15 minute uphill). In the evenings maybe not so easy on the way back but it sure helps shed the inevitable pounds you will gain from the beautiful Sicilian food you will be sampling every day & night! There is also a shuttle bus every hour or second hour depending on season if the walk uphill is too much! We highly recommend this apartment as I imagine ones down on the beach front would nessitate the hefty €3 each way daily trip on the cable car to get to & from Taormina centre(& was broken most of the time we were there) and ones nearer the centre would be noisier.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location & Friendliness
Liked least: No swimming pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne B
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were really happy with our stay at Villa Virginia (Apt 4). Due to the location of the apartment, which is perched high above Taormina, the views are truly spectacular.
The apartment is 470 odd steps from the centre of Taormina so coming back was certainly a challenge in the warm sunshine. It would be tough for people with walking difficulties but having said that, there is a bus service close to the apartment that'll take you to/from the centre. There is nice walk further up to Castelmola, which is definitely worth the steep climb.

The apartment itself is modern, spacious and spotless. It has all the basic requirements for self catering. Pina met us when we arrived and gave us a wonderful welcome. Virginia was very helpful and contactable throughout the whole holiday and dealt with the booking process extremely efficiently.

We had a really great and memorable holiday and would certainly recommend Villa Virginia! We hope to return again some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davethemi...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great apartment, well furnished with great views.”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Wanted too choose an apartment that was practical, with good outside space and on a budget. Villa Virginia was just perfect.

We stayed in apartment 3 which was at the front of the building, number 4 was booked but we still had very good views and it was also cheaper.

The apartment was immaculate, well fitted and had everything we could need. Lots of nice little touch's. The main room is open plan with a good sized bedroom and a wrap round balcony.

Yes the property is a step climb from the centre, we took about 12/13 minutes but coming back was certainly a stiff climb. If your fit then it's well worth it and we done it twice most days, worked off our dinners! Saying that there is a bus stop out the front and only a five minute taxi drive if you needed.

We had a car and had no issues using the garage, wifi was great as was communication throughout the booking process.

Very highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nessagood...
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic views, lovely, well furnished/equiped apartment”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We can only echo the comments of those who have already written reviews. The apartment is really comfortable, well equipped and has amazing views, though that's because it's at the top of a steep hill and therefore lots of steps to come up/go down if you're not wishing to tackle the slightly hair-rising drive up and down. Buses are available. (The 450 odd steps do provide much needed exercise after all that pasta/pizza/ice-cream!) The apartment is easy to find ; just follow Virginia's instructions, though signs are hard to read and you have to have your wits about you. Like another guest below, we were also aware of the couple next door's early morning conversation due to the poor sound proofing of the interconnecting door. This only happened twice. We drove to find a beach as we were not overly impressed with the sardine style arrangement at the two local beaches, though the cable car down is fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The beaches
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;