We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$455
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$413
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Panoramic Hotel(Taormina)
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel San Pietro(Taormina)
US$761
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$640
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$747
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 54% below average rates

The price you found is 54% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,631/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$444/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sirius Hotel(Taormina)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
US$582
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$557
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$311
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$382/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$2,895
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
251
14
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
14
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach servicelovely covespecial thanksgrazie milleprivate beachbeach teamabsolutely stunning locationa true star experiencebeautiful holidaybeach shoescable carevery single staff membersmall bayreception levelsuperb hotelthe hotel stafftowels provided
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived late on Tuesday evening to the hotel. We had booked a suite for the majority of our stay with a pool. As we were arriving so late the first night we did not book the suite the first night. On arrival we were upgraded to the suite and had champagne on ice in the room in arrival. The bar had a live musician every evening which is fantastic. Staff are ever so friendly. Drinks are on the expensive side €16.50 for an Irish coffee or any cocktail on the menu. We did not have dinner in the hotel so cannot comment on food quality we did have lunch which was fantastic. The spa is very small and we did not avail of services. The cove and the beach are by far the best feature of the hotel. Franco the lifeguard runs a tight ship. Extremely friendly and efficient. On hand to warn of jelly fish. Provide cream for mosquito bites. Placing clean towels on the beds everyday. Giving a friendly wave. The bar staff are great and wear a remote that you can call them from your sun-lounger. The staff from cleaning staff to reception our excellent and go above and beyond to help. Nothing is out of the question. Cable car to taormina 3 minute walk or you can get a taxi to taormina approx €20.
I would stay here again but would not go with the pool suite option as pool is rather small and not heated. I would stick with a superior room
Great hotel but expensive to eat and drink in.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank davidbyrneqfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOI H, Responsabile reception at VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Davidbyrneqfa,
Thank you very much for your very kind feedback of your recent stay at Grand Hotel Mazzaro’ Sea Palace
We really appreciate all of your comments and were delighted to read that you very much enjoyed the hotel accomodation and our staff.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2020
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I came here with my husband after traveling in Italy for 2 weeks. We were excited to be here but overall a bit disappointed with the quality of the hotel and in particular the breakfast. If you are looking truly for upscale and attention to detail but would like to be on the beach, the Belmond next door is a nice option. Other hotels in town such as the Grand Timeo and the boutique hotels offer a more upscale experience at a somewhat similar price point. Note you only have views of the cove here and not of town or Mt Etna. You need to be in town for those views. Also as another note, it os a 6euro round trip to go into town. Other hotels have a shuttle into town which I would expect from a 5 star hotel.

Overall the service was very excellent. The reception was very attentive and although the concierge does not work everyday (which is a bit of an inconvenience) Carla at reception helped us book tables. Also we had an issue with our A/C and they fixed it immediately. The bellman were very helpful too and we enjoyed our time with the Bartenders at night, in particular Simone, who was very friendly. But overall the bar area was not very popular and despite a pianist there were not a lot of people there so it was not a lively scene.

While the rooms have been renovated, it was done a bit sloppily with a lack of attention to detail. See pics below. The carpet was also stained and tired in the hallways and entrance. The blow dryer provided is old but worked well.

Further, the buffet at breakfast was very weak. Not what I’d expect. The fruit and vegetable options were tired. There was better fruit at the market across the street. Also I’d expect platters of tomatoes, capers onions etc but for vegetables just some tired looking lettuce and small tomatoes. Also the hard boiled eggs were not cooked properly and had that green sulfur ring — the sign of an improperly cooked egg. The bread and pastry options also seemed pre-packaged. We didn’t even have the buffet a couple times because it was so disappointing. I note that I don’t know about the restaurants quality because we didn’t try it given the quality of the buffet.

Other than these issues, the view is beautiful, the bed comfy, the rooms large, nice beach chairs and the maid service did a very good job. We enjoyed our stay but would not return as the value for quality is lacking.






Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Thank you Anthony and Franco for excellent beach service! Best service at the best hotel in Taormina. Also very good food, nice rooms, excellent personel and great facillties. We can recommend to visit Gran Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace.☀️

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mattias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOI H, Responsabile reception at VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Mattias K,
thank you for your excellent feedback,good food, nice rooms, excellent personel and great facilities, regarding your recent stay with as at the Grand Hotel Mazzaro' Sea Palace. .
We really appreciate all of your comments and were delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel accomodation together with the service provided.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Grand Hotel Mazzarò Sea Palace, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
GREAT-HEARTEDNESS HOSPITALTY FROM TAORMINA
At the beach, Mr. Franco, the veteran, all-weather lifeguard and Mr. Giovanni, an economy student, dreaming of Erasmus, are able to meet any beach desiderata, as of 7h30 AM. The white umbrellas are equipped with an electronic bell and one may quickly order and being rapidly served with drinks and delicious Sicilian finger food. The distance of the white bed chairs assure a decent privacy.
At the reception, Mr. Francesco and the receptionist ladies offer efficiency and heartedness Sicilian hospitality; rare combination in nowadays standardized Western world.
The swimming pool, located just a few yards above the beach, at the level of the terrace breakfast, is not only a fun pool. It allows also long distance swimming. To be remembered the two privileged places with two bed chairs above the pool level, allowing both a pool and bay view.
The structure has been conceived as a slope, facing the Mazzarò bay. Each room has a terrace with 2 bed chairs and a mechanic curtain to get shadow. From our bed (junior suite 107), we could distinctly hear the noise of the sea which was guiding our sleep to seafaring dreams.
Breakfast is served in a large terrace above the beach and we could never leave this place. So relaxing. So smelling the sea. So cosy. The variety and freshness of the buffet is above 5 stars standard with several waiters (the maître is Mr. Giovanni who started here 7 years ago) ready to meet almost any customers’ desiderata. British, American and German guests do appreciate the free Prosecco which – I noticed – it is mixed with pineapple or orange juice and sipped with eggs and delicious Sicilian cheeses.
Food is also excellent (we tested rice with gamberi di Mazzara e linguine alle vongole), presenting a variety of Sicilian dishes, made with sea ingredients. Mrs. Adele, the sommelier, will guide you to a choice of the perfect wine matching your dishes. Italian wine or better Sicilian wines, of course.
Gianni and Bea Novelli, Geneva, Switzerland

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank novellizaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOI H, Responsabile reception at VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Novellizaza,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at the Grand Hotel Mazzaro’ and for highlighting our service.
It is such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We are particularly delighted to learn that our team members, the breakfast buffet and the beautiful room view met your expectations.
I have passed on your comments to our entire hotel staff who were thrilled to hear your kind words.
Thank you once again
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Nice Hotel, and nice room. And especially the swimming pool lifeguards Franco, Antony, Giovanni and Alfred were very helpful, smiling and nice. Their service is perfect and attentive. I highly recommand ;-)

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Edouard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOI H, Responsabile reception at VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Edouard G,
Thanks for your lovely feedback following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Mazzaro’ Sea Palace
We are glad to learn that everything met your expectations and we all wish of welcoming you back soon
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews