We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG! A gorgeous hotel of excellent quality and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OMG! A gorgeous hotel of excellent quality and service”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My friend and I decided to go on a quick getaway in Taormina. We booked through American Express Travel last minute and didn't really know what to expect. But what an incredible surprise! The hotel is intimate and elegant. The food is fantastic and the staff is extremely helpful and professional. And the view from the rooftop terrace is undeniably breathtaking, rendering us both speechless (with the exception of 'OMG') on more than one occasion.

My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer...we tried, but the hotel was sold out :(

This is definitely a hotel I would recommend without hesitation. And I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,422
    154
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
338
971
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Villa Carlotta for 3 nights early August. Not only is the villa and all the rooms beautiful, the service is unmatched. I am very much a "hotel snob" and this place did not disappoint. Every individual was more than willing to go above and beyond to provide service or information. The 3 restaurants that the hotel recommended were some of the best during our trip. The hotel pool was fabulous after a day at the beach. The hotel is a short walk to the center of Taormina which we found to be a bonus as it kept the hotel area quiet at night as well as allowed us the opportunity to walk off each meal. I would highly recommend this hotel and would absolutely return if my travels should take me back to the area

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear friends from Denver,
just a short note to tell you how much we appreciated your comment about your recent stay with us.
We have few reviews but ours are truly genuine....
We are all looking forward to see you again in the near future,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci and the hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Third time at Villa Carlotta I don’t need to explain that we love it .

The thing that needs to be emphasized is just how incredible the Villa Carlotta staff is, especially Riccardo (please come back to Montreal...xoxo). They are not only welcoming and accommodating to their own guests, but to even random strangers. They epitomize the friendly culture of Sicily, and are a credit to its people. Breakfast on the terrace every morning was very special ( Fresh fruit, eggs, vegetables everything you could possibly want was elegantly presented buffet style.) We especially enjoyed the pool which we found preferable to the beach. We highly recommend the Villa Carlotta for anyone looking for a quiet get away in Taormina. We miss Riccardo , Marco , Olga and team ! Cannot wait to see them again next summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMVUI20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosudgeon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

It is not surprising that the Villa Carlotta gets such great reviews – there are so many wonderful things about the hotel and most of all, it is so good to find service which really is truly exceptional. The operators of some other high-end chains could learn so much from the Villa Carlotta about what makes really outstanding service.

We have just returned from a holiday at this hotel and everything about the property was just perfect. Our suite was large and beautifully designed with a great mix of modern and traditional. The huge terrace was a fabulous with the sun loungers, and a great view of the sea – tranquil heaven!

So many other reviews have mentioned the rooftop restaurant and the fantastic breakfasts!!...They were right!! What a way to start the day with a superb buffet (those pastries!!) and a view to blow you away! A great place for dinner also!

The gardens are beautiful and peaceful with plenty of space with a lovely pool to cool off – the pool is not huge but plenty big enough for a boutique hotel.

The hotel gets so many things just right from free Wi-Fi (UK hotels please wake up and realise this is good service) to great facilities all round.

The location is also perfect…a short stroll into town (10 minutes) and there is a huge choice of great restaurants. Taormina is beautiful.

Finally, the key to what makes this hotel so superb – the service. Every member of the team was just so friendly, helpful and welcoming and above all, genuine about how they looked after the guests. Although everyone in the team was superb, we do want to mention and give our special thanks to Simona who was just fabulous. Simona is a real credit to the Villa Carlotta and was outstanding – and we had so much fun with her and she is just so good at making everyone feel so at home and so welcome. Thanks for everything Simona….we will never forget the story about ‘Hedgehogs’ (private joke!).

We also want to thank Marco in the dinner restaurant. Marco was also great fun and was so good at helping us get acquainted with the great food and wines of Sicily. He made our evening a real delight. Thanks.

Well done Villa Carlotta….truly exceptional and we will definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALAN105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarlotta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear friends,
I was overwhelmed by your wonderful and sweet review, it really made myself so proud.
I believe you caught completely the philosophy of our hospitality, we all strive and are focused to our guests satisfaction. And we get awarded by such great comments which are real and genuine (I wish I could say so about other hotels).
My very best regards,
Simona, and all the Hotel Villa Carlotta staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My sister and I stayed here with our families for nine days in July 2011 - a group of three adults and four children. I chose this hotel due to trip adviser. We had two rooms and an exceptional time - in every respect the prior reviews mirror our wonderful experience. The clean rooms, panoramic views of the Ionian sea, stunning food at breakfast [the like of which I have never seen in all my international travels] are exemplary but the exceptional staff who commit to making every part of the stay personlised and attentive are what distinguises this accomodation. This includes everyone from lovely Olga & Alberto [?] who greeted us on arrival, Simona, Mary, Chiara and the team in the wonderful restaurant and the gracious owners who made the effort to greet us during our trip to check all OK. Apologies if there are names I have forgotten or misspelt. For two family birthdays we were given cake and champagne. The location I think is great because we wanted to avoid the Corso environs with all its congestion but Villa Carlotta is only 10 mins walk which we did always via the beautiful park at Villa Communale - a stunning place to take a picnic[there is a lovely man with a deli directly across the road who makes fresh filled roles and a bottle of wine can be purchased]. We will be back! thankyou once again Villa Carlotta for providing us with such wonderful memories

Room Tip: choose above bottom floor and not by the pool and ask for balcony [non juliette]
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europhile_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My huband and I enjoyed our stay at Villa Carlotta immensely. From the moment we arrived we were treated so attentively. The staff embraced us with their genuinely warm hospitality and kindness. The hotel itself is beautifully designed and the rooms are very accomodating. The breakfast served is amazing along with the spectacular rooftop views of the coastline and Mount Etna .The location is unbeatable, being that you can walk to the center of town, restaurants and shops. Going to the beach is effortless with the convenience of the hotel's private shutlle that will take you to the Stockholm Lido beach.
Having traveled throughout Italy for many years, I can honestly say this hotel is a true "gem". Here you will find everything you need: beauty, comfort, excellent food & service, and above all a staff that will make you feel at home with their smiles, hospitalilty and professional knowledge of taormina.
Grazie Andrea, Rosaria e lo staff!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Have just returned home after 7 days in Taormina - unfortunately only the last 3 days at Villa Carlotta - but we certainly saved the best until last, can only repeat what the other reviews have already said, the hotel is beautiful, the breakfast the best you will ever find, the rooms exceptionally clean and the staff extremely helpful and friendly.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and cannot wait to return. We stayed in a Junior Suite with sea views and also views to the side over Mount Etna.

Room Tip: Our Junior Suite on third floor was large, airy and comfortable with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savannaNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Property: Hotel Villa Carlotta
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing