We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My wife and I have just returned from yet another trip to one of my favourite destinations which is Taormina. Having been to this charming city several times, there is little that I can add to what I have written previously. However, this time I simply must draw every readers' attention to one of the best hotels that I have ever been to in my entire travels. Villa Carlotta stands out in every respect. Starting from the owners Andrea and Rosaria who are the nicest people who you can ever hope to meet down to the most hospitable and professional staff, this hotel is really something else. The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished with some spectacular views from either a balcony or a terrace. You can see the awesome Etna down to the marvellous sea beneath. Breakfast is more like a wedding banquet with anything you can think of on display and prepared freshly on a daily basis. The staff are top notch and always attentive and always ready to make you feel comfortable without being overbearing. Most speak several languages and their manager Mary is a gem. I can only give a 5 star rating in all respects because there is no 6 or 7...! In all honesty, I could not find a fault to save my life. Well done indeed and I look forward to another stay when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 34mirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear honored guests,
we were so touched by the fantastic words expressed regarding your recent stay @ Villa Carlotta and my self and all the hotel staff want to thank you for this. Since you have been at least ten times to Taormina and tried several hotels before , your vote means really a lot to us.
Grazie mille !!!!!
Loooking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I spent a week of our honeymoon in the Villa Carlotta back in May. We couldn't have asked for anything better. The staff were fantastic (special mention to Ricardo and Simona!!), the hotel was spotlessly clean, the food was absolutely wonderful - infact our best meal in Sicily was made by the lovely female chef on our last night there! The view was spectaular, we stayed in a Junior Suite for our honeymoon and really couldn't have been happier with it! The view from the restaurant and dining area was truly beautiful and a breathtakingly beautiful way to start any day. The pool was lovely in that it was quiet and also very close and clean, staff were on hand to bring you anything you wanted there which was great for the lazy honeymooners who liked to lounge by the pool drinking wine :) The location of the Hotel was wonderful and was so close to the village of Taormina.

we would recommend anyone to visit this hotel, everything after it paled in comparrison and we missed it dearly after we left. We will definitely go back there soon!

Enjoy it :)

Room Tip: Junior Suite - the view is unforgettable and unimaginable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Dear friends from Sidney,
so so nice to hear from you and get such a fantastic review after so many months from your stay !
We are truly happy to hear that you fully understood the Villa Carlotta concept and how much we care for our guests expecially honeymooners like you.
We are looking forward to see you again in the near future... you promised you will be in three next time ...
All our very best by the whole Hotel Villa Carlotta staff and management and Family Quartucci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed here for three nights and agree with the other reviewers that the service is the best. We had a junior suite (these are the only rooms with a private balcony). Great to sit and relax and look at the ocean..Extra blanket, pillows, hangers, broken tv, car retrieval, and every other request tended to immediately and with a smile. They offered suggestions for day trips, pizzerias, shopping, etc. The hotel itself is clean, a bit eclectic and about a 10 minute walk to the town. Nice pool and garden.

Breakfast buffet is to die for with a wide range of cold cuts, cheeses, fruits, warm dishes of eggs, bacon, egg plant, quiches, and a table full of mouth watering desserts. Cappucino, teas and juices included, of course! We ate only breakfast and then dinner every day. You eat in the top terrace level with beautiful ocean views.

If you do a day trip to Etna, it is very cold so bring warm clothes! They do sell sweatshirts at the Mt. Not too expensive. On the way back, if you have time, take the curvy backroads to get home. Consider stopping at the Sine Tempore in Castiliogne ( see my other review) on the way back for dinner. Buon Viagge!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exobscurislux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

In the last september we (me and my husband) stayed 3 nights at Hotel Villa Carlotta. The staff of the Hotel is very nice!! Olga, Ricardo, Simona and Mary are LOVELY!!! Really fantastic!!!! The breakfast is good. The room is large and confortable. The restaurant (for dinner) needs special attention and a upgrade. We recommend!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristianemendonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We spent two nights at the hotel Villa Carlotta. Everything was fantastic, especially the staff. The house is superb, the rooftop terrace unforgettable, the room fantastic (again), more than well equiped and the view breathtaking. The only critical remark is the good frequented street nearby (from Giardini di Naxos, one of the two streets to Taormina). We will come back and we can highly recommend Villa Carlotta.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truffle-seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here from 23rd September until 1st October and had a thoroughly pleasant experience. The hotel is very comfortable and well managed. They have some of the best staff, very friendly and obliging. We had a junior suite (moving to a better room with a private sun terrace later in the week) and it had every convenience. The beds are large and firm and the furniture carefully chosen to compliment this substantial building. The pool area is perhaps a little small to accomodate the potential number of guests who might wish to use it but we had no problem even though the hotel was full for most of the week. Breakfast on the roof terrace is a delight. Every possible combination of foods is available and served by happy ladies clearly proud of their work. Two minor gripes concerning the catering. They can't cook bacon. Thick undercooked rashers are not my favourite. Also we tried dinner in the hotel on our first night and the pasta we ordered was not great. This encouraged us to eat out which turned out to be the right move because the town is chock full of great restaurants to suit all tastes. The easy walk into the heart of town is about 10 minutes.
Taormina is a beautiful place full of history and attractive Italian architecture in its pretty photogenic streets and alleys. As for the beaches that are reached via a 5 minute cable car, well personally we were not impressed. They are mostly stony and cramped where you are charged €10 for a sunbed and a brolly. Then you are bombarded all day long with refugee hawkers trying to sell you anything from a massage to a fake Rolex. A word of warning for parents with young children. The entry to the sea is steeply shelving and an unsuspecting child could easily and quickly be out of its depth.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty&TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We spent four nights at Villa Carlotta in one of the apartments located just down the road from the hotel and had an amazing time. The apartment had just been re-decorated and was large (1 kitchen/dining area, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms), extremely comfortable and just perfect for us (a couple with a toddler). We had access to the hotel amenities (pool, garden, bar and restaurant). The staff at Villa Carlotta is super friendly and really made us feel at home. We cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estelleinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,896 reviews
0.5 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £212 - £976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing