We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is a very rare occasion for us to write a review but after a fantastic 7 night stay at Villa Carlotta it is very well deserved. The hotel itself is full of character and charm. It's very clean and situated in a perfect location - 10 minute walk from the town centre, which is full of beautiful churches, restaurants and shops and a 15 minute walk to the beach. The bus station is also a 5 minute walk from the hotel which worked perfectly for us as we decided to get the bus back to the airport. We had planned to get the bus to the hotel but services stop at 1945!
All the staff were just amazing and we cannot compliment them highly enough. They are all incredibly friendly, helpful and happy. An extra thank you to Ajith, Olga, Marco and Martina for making our stay that extra special. We have so many fond memories which we will treasure for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,429
    154
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
339
975
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Just got back from my honeymoon where we stayed the last three nights at Hotel Villa Carlotta. We chose this venue as it was highly rated and the level of customer service was noted as being very high. I have to say that it was an amazing stay and all the positive reviews were 100% correct. As honeymooners we were upgraded at no extra charge and were treated so well by all the staff who were especially friendly with a 'can-do' attitude. the hotel itself is beautiful and in a great location.

perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at Villa Carlotta for 4 nights and highly recommend it. The staff were service oriented, helping with restaurant recommendations and bookings and gave invaluable advice on day trips and Etna visits etc.
I asked for an iron one day and instead was offered to have my shirt ironed. It was done and hung in my room while I enjoyed a drink by the pool. The premises were clean , the buffet breakfast excellent and we were always greeted with smiles and warmth.
We met the owner Andrea and his wife Rosaria and you suddenly understand that the warmth and friendliness that abounds comes from the top down.
Thank you Ricardo, Olga, Martinez, Simona, Ajith, Patricia, Mary, Marcus and many others who made our stay memorable

Room Tip: Our deluxe seaview room was perfect , however our friends stayed in Apt. 3 and described it as '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

No complaints...I would recommend. This is one of the nicer hotels to stay at....clean, ac works well (can't say that for most Italy hotels), friendly service. The hotel restaurant is not really good....but it's only a 7minute walk into the town that is filled with shopping & good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nene878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Nene,
thank you so much for your positive review and the beautiful words about our hotel.
We would like also to reply that is absolutely untrue that our restaurant is "not really good". We do not believe we have a super titled starred restaurant, however if your read carefully many previous reviews lots of people praised our cuisine, its simple sicilian taste, its reasonable priced menu, its stunning panoramic position overlooking the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna. We respect your mark but frankly disagree with it.
Kind regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci, GM and owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My girlfriend and i spent brilliant week in the lovely hotel it has to be the best place ever , the staff , the rooms , the breakfast were all faultless
Nothing was too much trouble and we were made most welcome . My girlfriend Lisa is due to return on the 3rd of augest with her mum , To let her enjoy this charming hotel and the beautiful town of taormina
thank you
Dean Skinner

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dean7568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful 10 day stay at the Villa Carlotta in April. As it was our honeymoon we obviously had high expectations for the holiday and the hotel matched them. We loved our room (junior garden suite) and easy access to the garden. Every day got off to a great start with the wonderful breakfasts on the top floor terrace, where the views are absolutely breathtaking. It was lovely being able to see Mt Etna and enjoy the panoramic view every day. Throughout our stay the staff looked after us really well and always went the extra mile in helping us with excursion ideas (and booked these for us so we really had nothing to worry about!), recommendations for restaurants and other tips for our stay. The hotel is in a great location - close enough to the town centre but not too near as to be noisy or surrounded by crowds. It is also very well positioned for trips down to the beaches at Mazzaro, where we enjoyed some spring sunshine and a boat trip. All in all, we felt very sad when we had to leave the Villa Carlotta and return to normal life - it was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I don't have much to add to the legion of excellent reviews for this hotel, they are certainly deserved. I would highlight the breakfast as being just about the best I have experienced anywhere in the world. The hotel staff are very friendly and each and every guest is made to feel special. However, I have one or two niggles. The first applies to many hotels, particularly Italian ones. We paid quite a bit extra for a "Junior Suite" A "Suite" is described in the dictionary as being a "set of rooms" This "Suite" (albeit a junior one) was far, far from that description. There was barely enough room for the two small chairs it had, let alone a sofa or desk or extra table. This was a small room by any standard! As it happens it was a very nice small room with a very comfortable bed, nicely decorated with a lovely view. Nevertheless, even the wildest of imaginations could not describe it as being a suite in any shape way or form.
Villa Carlotta is a good enough hotel in its own right not to have to resort to using the word Suite to describe any room which hasn't at least got room for a sofa and a table as well as a bed! My other niggle was that for a whole afternoon and evening we had no hot water in the room. I called the reception very politely, twice, to let them know. I didn't blame the hotel, these things happen, but I think a room without hot water should not be charged at the same rate as one that does. A small gesture to reflect this on my bill would put the Villa Carlotta into the excellent category. As it is, it will have to make do with a very good merited alone by that stunning breakfast experience.

Room Tip: Beware of paying a lot more for rooms described as Junior Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jossw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Jossw,
thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about our hotel, praising our breakfast and our staff.
I am sorry to hear that you found our Junior Suite very small; since many years this is the first complain we got regarding our rooms and sincerly I accept your criticism but do not agree with you. Our suites aren't certainly on the "very large" side but are surely large enough by any european standards (and of course certified by local tourist office). Unfortunately sometimes you can forget that Villa Carlotta is a 19th century aristocratic villa,converted in a small luxury boutique hotel, so by any means you are supposed to know that that type of hotel have NON standard rooms. I also would like to inform you that by international european standards a JUNIOR suite is a large one unit room while the Suite has more than one unit. We fully respect your opinion but as you can read in the previous review dated June 6th, the writes praises our Suites so much... this means that everyone has his own personal point of view !!!!!
Kind regards,
Mr Andrea Quartucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Property: Hotel Villa Carlotta
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing