We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh on Sea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding ...”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We ended our tour of Italy with a wonderfully relaxing stay at this intimate hotel. We had a suite with a terrace that overlooked the sea and hotel gardens and the interior decoration was elegant. I think that what separates this hotel from others of a similar quality is the service, which is personal and helpful without being obsequious. Front of house are delightful and especially Simona and the man with the beautiful eyes whose name I didn't catch. Housekeeping staff are friendly and Mary who works on the terrace is delightful and genuinely cares about your needs. In a friendly and helpful island the staff here are still remarkable. We had dinner here and that was delicious, the sea views from the terrace are wonderful. The Byzantine bar has an unsettling ambience with the presence of the catacombs, but it all adds to the atmosphere and the silver huge heads are fantastic. I can't recommend this establishment enough and we luckily saved the best to last.

Room Tip: Room 14 has great views, fantastic terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoupouneLeighonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,422
    154
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
338
971
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My husband and I booked a junior suite with a sea view for a four-day stay in late July, and we were not disappointed. Beautiful place and great service. At arrival we were offered a drink at the terrace: a panoramic view of the ocean, a light breeze and a comfortable shade in the afternoon. The rooms are beautifully decorated and really stylish. Very comfortable bed! The junior suite may have been on the small side, but that was more than compensated for by the quality of the room. We had dinner at the hotel one night, which was good. And breakfasts are great: such a savory and broad selection that we didn't know where to start. As with all hotels in Taormina the beach is some distance away (you have to go down the hill to the sea) but the hotel arranges for free shuttle service. Make sure to let them know that you are planning to go and ask them to make a reservation at one of the beaches to make sure you get sun beds and an umbrella at a good spot (beaches are CROWDED). The pool is small but nice. Lots of families with small children when we were there, so if you're looking for peace and quiet that may be difficult to find. All in all a great hotel - would love to go back and can absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KikaSthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear friends,
just a little thank you for your beautiful review from the whole Hotel Villa Carlotta staff.
We apologize for the children, only on a few occasions there was a noisy family who was asked to please tell children not to dive into the pool as per our law rule, but most of the time the pool and the garden are an oasis of tranquility and peace known to all our guests.
Regards,
Mr Andrea Quartucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curitiba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This hotel couldn´t be better!
Excellent location, views, food, everything
All the staff treats you as if you were the only guest in the hotel.
Easy access to major attractions in the city!
Rooms well maintained and impeccable!
Will return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in July, we booked a room with a terrace overlooking the pool. Once we arrived and viewed the room we released it was quite small, as we are from Australia the staff understood that we are use to large spaces and we were promptly upgraded to one of the 3 apartments a short walk from the hotel free of charge... We also were given a complimentary dinner in the fabulous restaurant on lvl 3, which had solve of the best food on the island. The service from the staff was some of three best we have ever received in any hotel. The best part of or stay was enjoying the breakfast every morning, the selection is truly authentic Italian and cooked perfectly . Looking back on the visit to Taormina we realize that the villa Carlotta made it so much more enjoyable . Don't hesitate just book it you wont regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

An easy walk into the centre of Taormina, friendly staff, great food and spectacular views. The only negative factors of our stay were barking dogs at night and screaming, ill behaved children by the pool and in the corridors.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roboz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband and I spent four nights at the Villa Carlotta in July. It is one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had. Words are inadequate to describe how wonderful this hotel is. The location is perfect, a short and lovely walk from the center of town. Our room was gorgeous and very comfortable, with an amazing view. The breakfasts were sumptuous and delicious, and the view from the dining room was spectacular. But what really makes The Villa Carlotta stand out from all the rest is the warm, welcoming, friendly, and personalized service. I can't say enough good things about the staff of the Villa Carlotta. I have stayed in many, many great hotels but I have never encountered such universally great service. Ricardo, Simona, Mary, Michaele, and all the others are absolutely the best. When my husband asked for soy milk at breakfast, Mary said, "We don't have it now, but we will have it tomorrow." And for the rest of our stay, Mary brought him soy milk for his cereal every morning. We had originally booked a room for two nights but we we were so happy there that we wanted to stay longer. Our room was not available for the additional nights, but they have three apartments in a lovely building very near the hotel and they were able to put us up there. That gave us the chance to experience two of these lovely apartments as well as the main hotel. All of the accommodations, both in the main hotel and in the apartments, were wonderful. While the town of Taormina is beautiful on its own, it is the Villa Carlotta that made it so special for us. And the price was very reasonable. No matter how much you spend, you will never find a better hotel than the Villa Carlotta. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Every room there is great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyNYCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We spent 3 nights in June at Villa Carlotta. The hotel is lovely and quite luxurious, and beautifully situated high above the sea. The views from the dining room terrace are stunning!
But what truly distinguishes a fine hotel is the quality of the service and genuineness of the hospitality. At Villa Carlotta the service was first rate, and the entire staff warm and welcoming. We remember with particular fondness, Mary, who worked in the dining room at breakfast while we were there. She made us feel like we were at nonna's house -- she was kind and generous. We go to Sicily often, and look forward to another stay at Villa Carlotta in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SlowFoodTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarlotta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear Slowfoodtraveller,
we were thrilled this morning after reading your wonderful review on your recent stay at Villa Carlotta. All our staff including Maria (Mary) send you their best regards, we are all looking forward to your next visit as promised.
Have a fantastic summer !
Kind regards,
HOTEL VILLA CARLOTTA TAORMINA STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Property: Hotel Villa Carlotta
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing