We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous apartment stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We recently stayed in the apartments of the hotel villa Carlotta since the main hotel was closed for the season. Our apartment was on the top floor with a large terrace and beautiful view of Mt. Etna and the sea. The location is a short walk into town and very convenient. We had a wonderful stay thanks to the staff and wonderful accommodations. The staff was most helpful with making arrangements for sightseeing and suggestions. We had the most wonderful time thanks to the staff, location and fabulous accommodations. This is a beautiful property and a wonderful experience during off season! Thank you Simone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarlotta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Fleamo Boston, USA,
on behalf of Mr Quartucci, the owner and all our staff I would like to thank you for the beautiful words expressed after your recent stay in our luxury Taormina apartment.
As we always say even when the main hotel is closed we cater constantly a very good relation service to our apartment guests. Our reception stays open, we wait for you at check ins and check outs, park your car and make you feel at ease; it is our main concern at all times that our guests needs and expectations are satisfied.
Taormina is always beautiful in every season and there is always a lot to do and visit including our wonderful surroundings, Mount Etna and the Giardini Naxos beaches.
A sincere thank for taking the time to write such review.
Kind regards,
Simona, front office manager, Hotel Villa Carlotta apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,668)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Carlotta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had a wonderfull stay in March at Villa Carlotta, which we won't forget. Thank you very much! The staff was excellent and gave help whenever needed. We still remember the view when eating the very very good breakfast on top of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Be W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is a fab property with fab views and fab meals. We stayed here two nights and the love and care put into the property is obvious right when you check in. The catacombs in the lobby sitting area are really interesting. The breakfast is a wonderful spread with fresh ingredients and a view to die for. The rooms are well sized and well fitted out with some really nice smelling toileteries! And the desk staff is helpful and knowledgeable. One of the finest boutique hotels we have stayed at!

Oh and the pool is small but really cute.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Villa Carlotta is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The property is a lovely building with a beautiful garden and swimming pool. The breakfast is exceptional and the terrace has an amazing panoramic view of Mount Etna and the Ionian Sea, perfect for an aperitivo in the evening.
The staff are attentive and proffesional, providing outstanding service with genuine warmth.
The location is perfect. 5 minutes walk from the center of Taormina and across the road from the bus stop for Catania aeroporto.
I would recommend Villa Carlotta as the first choice if somebody was thinking of staying in Taormina and will definately be returning there myself in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinylittledevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Here is some discussion of Taormina geography which I didn't appreciate before coming.

Some hotels are on the water, and have (or should have) resort-like amenities. There is very little action on the seafront, so your hotel will wind up being 90% of your experience.

Some hotels are in the town proper, which is on top of the mountain. This is what most people mean when they refer to Taormina. It is a medieval town of reasonable size, with lots of restaurants and varied shopping of the type that average people can afford. The big cultural attraction, the Greek Theatre, is at the northeast end of town. Overall, I found Taormina more agreeable than Capri, which has fewer restaurants and exclusively high-end shopping that ordinary mortals can't do more than look at from outside the shop windows.

Just below the town proper are a few other hotels, which are walking distance to the town (10-15 minutes upslope) but quite a bit quieter. Villa Carlotta is in this category.

My room was nicely furnished and comfortable, except for the bathroom, which like many bathrooms in Italy was designed by an interior designer with no common sense at all. Not to be too graphic, using the toilet required some contortion and sitting in an unusual angle, and instead of a practical shower stall, they had the standard-issue very narrow bathtub with a partial glass splash-guard instead of a proper enclosure or curtain. I mention these because the bathroom deficiencies stood out in contrast to the nice bedroom.

In every other respect the hotel was very pleasant. Their rooftop terrace has a view of the sea and of Mt. Etna, and serves an appealing breakfast buffet with some Sicilian specialties. Staff are helpful and efficient. Internet was weak but serviceable.

If you don't mind the uphill climb to town (as I did not), Villa Carlotta is a fine choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear MannyG,
I would like to thank you for taking some time to post this positive review and for the many praises about your recent stay at our Taormina boutique hotel Villa Carlotta .
Although I fully respect your opinion, I regret I have to totally disagree with you.
I would like to say that Taormina started doing tourism about 150 years ago (The Italian Grand Tour) so I have to say that the description of our "geography" is useless as the millions visitors we have know Taormina very well.
Your title , excuse me, is totally misleading as Villa Carlotta is definetely into the town center of Taormina and located at about 7 minutes walk to the pedestrian historical town. The so called upslope walk is indeed a pleasant easy walk that everybody including children, elderly people, wheelchair people or baby strollers have no problem at all to manage.Please check all previous reviews and have this confirmed.
Also let me tell you that your comment about our Italian designers' bathroom are very very personal, in many years of business none has ever complained about their lay-out.
Sorry but sometimes we have to restore the reality and truth.
Kind regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The Villa Carlotta is a luxury boutique hotel with stunning views of the Mediterranean Sea and Mount Etna, within a short walk of Taormina town center. My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this exclusive Sicilian Villa in October. We stayed at Villa Carlotta two years ago and just "HAD" to return!
Villa Carlotta is a family-run Villa, a Villa we cannot get out of our minds. There is so much to write about – the staff, rooms, views, pool and the FOOD!!!
The staff at Villa Carlotta treats you like family from the moment you arrive. The owners Andrea and Rosaria Quartucci are truly amazing people that want to give you the ultimate Sicilian experience (thank you Olga, Simone, Ricardo, Alberto, Maria, Natalie, Shevin, Dilan, Marco and amazing Chef David and pastry Chef Salvatore and the rest of the staff).
The rooms are absolutely beautiful from the decor, linens, comfortable beds and cleanliness to the spectacular views of the turquoise Mediterranean Sea. Waking up to the sunrise with the vibrant hues was incredible. Swimming and relaxing by the outdoor pool was so delightful after the perfect day of exploring the magnificent Greco Theater and walking around the charming town of Taormina, both of which are a short walk from the Villa. The Taormina town center has so much to offer – Piazza del Duomo, shopping and people watching along Corso Umberto and so much more.
There are also many delightful common areas around the Villa where you can take in the views of the sea and Mt. Etna or read a book in the library with a glass of wine or an espresso. There is nothing more glorious than eating breakfast on the roof top terrace of the Villa Carlotta where one can see the majestic Mt. Etna and the Sea. The breakfast is incredible with so many choices from traditional Sicilian and Italian cuisine. I am still dreaming of those breakfasts. One afternoon we were honored to partake in a cooking lesson from Chef David. We learned to make some delicious dishes and participate in the preparation and presentation while enjoying delicious Sicilian wine. Later that evening, we had the most amazing dining experience out on the terrace accompanied by a full moon. They use nothing but the freshest ingredients preparing their Sicilian dishes. The locally caught fish and pistachio crusted cannoli were highlights of the dinner. Thank you Chef David. Fantastico!
My husband and I are planning another trip to Sicily and, yes, we are going back to Villa Carlotta, back to our home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twiga99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We carefully selected this hotel for a special birthday celebration and family holiday so arrived with high expectations. It exceeded all our hopes in every way. The location is ideal, perched high above the bay with views out to sea and Mount Etna, conveniently between the steps or cable car to Isola Bella and the town centre. Throughout the hotel everything has been carefully thought about from the selection of unique pieces of furniture to various different places to sit and enjoy the garden, pool, books or view. Breakfast is excellent but so too is dinner on the rooftop terrace looking across the bay. We were especially delighted with the chef's birthday cake on the big day and special ragu sauce made for the children, ravenous from a day's excursion volcano climbing. Aside from our beautiful room and all the luxuries of this intimate boutique place, we could not believe how wonderful the staff are. Not only are they kind and attentive but they genuinely made us feel that we were welcome and part of a very happily run family experience. Most world class hotels are slick, anonymous places where you slip in and out of a seamless but faceless affair. At Villa Carlotta you are greeted with warmth and made to feel like royalty throughout your stay. An experience of a lifetime to be repeated as often as possible!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which suited two adults with two children under ten perfectly.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarlotta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Tamara,
it is not easy to express our gratitude and satisfaction after reding your generous and glorious review.
Thank you for pointing out the many services we are able to provide to our guests, we try to offer a travelling life time experience rather than a simple hotel stay, people do not purchase a room and a meal at Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina but a real human experience fulfilled by many magical moments.
We all still remember your fantastic well behaved children and you and your husband so that we look forward to seeing you again in 2014 . I am happy to hear you found your Suite as beautiful and confortable for the whole family.
All the best from my self, all Villa Carlotta staff and Mr Quartucci, the G.M.

Riccardo C., front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £222 - £619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing