We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Villa Carlotta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel Villa Carlotta”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel Villa Carlotta on the 4th and 5th of May having stayed at 2 other hotels in Southern Sicily during our holiday (this hotel was by far the best). An exceptional hotel with top notch service (we were made to feel welcome immediately) and our room (305) was excellent with stunnig views of the sea especially when waking up in the morning. Great location - only a short walk to the main street and the theatre - we will definately stay again. Big thanks to all the staff...nothing was too much trouble.
Richard

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,422
    154
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
338
971
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We recently stayed for four nights at Villa Carlotta in lovely Taormina. The hotel is well located, about five minutes walk from the town, and has beautiful views of the coastline and Mount Etna. The hotel is extremely well run, and all of the staff without exception were absolutely marvellous, from the moment we arrived we were welcomed with a glass of prosecco which we enjoyed on the roof terrace, sightseeing trips and transfers were organised for us plus excellent recommendations for handbag shopping! The breakfasts were delightful lunch time /snacks were good, and we enjoyed our first dinner ( after discussing menu choices with the excellent chef David) so much, that we dined each evening in the hotels terrace restaurant, enjoying fine wines, delicious food in wonderful surroundings. We came for rest and relaxation, we had high expectations after reading the reviews, and they were all exceeded. A superb family run hotel, highly recommended. We hope to return one day and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkLady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a real real gem, in the beautiful town of Taormina. Greeted by name on arrival and then whisked up to the terrace for a glass of fizz. We had a junior suite and it was spacious and beautifully furnished. The enormous wardrobe did cause some amusement. The hanging rail was over 7 feet high, which would be challenging to reach for many. The location is quiet, despite being on a road junction and we found it very peaceful. 5-10 minute walk into town, which was ideal. As others have said staff are outstanding and breakfast was stunning. Lunchtime snacks and drinks at pool were excellent and not priced at a premium.
This really is an outstanding hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart01160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Stuart from Oxfordshire, UK,
what a lovely review you posted, thank you so much for being fantastic guests at Villa Carlotta last week !
A special thank from the restaurant staff and for pointing out that our menus are generous and high quality and not pricey at all !
We are looking forward to your next visit in 2015 !!!!
Kindest regards from all Taormina Hotel Villa Carlotta staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We go back to Villa Carlotta every year because the service is simply perfect. Villa Carlotta has the most welcoming staff I have ever experienced and I travel all over the world. The service is incomparable with anywhere else I have stayed and it's boutique charm and outstanding views just add to exquisiteness of this hotel. When we arrived at the hotel our cases and car were attended to right away and Ricardo the manager lead us straight upstairs to the incredible terrace where he presented us with a glass of prosecco, followed by a delicious plate of pasta despite it being 4pm.

We stayed in one of the apartments and a suite, both of which were faultless.
And the breakfast.... Well it is on a different level! Alberto and Mara, the staff, can't do enough for you, bringing you hot coffee when it got cold and fresh warm bread with a variety of Sicilian olive oils to sample along with anything else you desired. They just can't do enough for you!

This hotel is simply the best and too good to keep a secret. It is a little gem just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Taormina. It is great value for money for all you receive here. I am planning my next trip back already.
Joe, Veni, Anthony and Claudia Parrinello

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parrinello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a fantastic boutique hotel.
The staff are so professional: they knew our names within the first few hours, and nothing was too much trouble.
The room was wonderful and the breakfast, from the spectacular roof terrace , was as great as everyone else says it is.
I certainly did not begrudge 20 euros per day to park our car and it was available for us whenever we wanted it, at a few minutes' notice.
We loved the location and the short walk to the town centre.
OK you are paying 'top dollar' , but it is worth every cent, and I can't say as much about many other hotels I have stayed at.
Don't hesitate: go for it

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A breathtaking Villa with a perfect view of the incredible Isola Bella. 5 minutes from the centre of Taormina and 5 minutes from the beach. We are a family of 5, our children were on their best behaviour as this property really is the height of luxury - the Villa would also suit 3 couples. Lots of luxury space, a rooftop jacuzzi and open access to the wonderful Hotel Carlotta and their excellent restaurant - this really was a wonderful week in Sicily despite the odd April shower and a perfect place to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday.

Room Tip: The best of both luxury worlds; privacy & space at the Villa plus the service, sociability and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JozLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

From the complimentary glass of bubbly when we arrived to the "pay us next time" for the mini-bar drink, we could not have asked for a better hotel experience. The views from the room of the sea and Etna were amazing and the selection of local delicacies for breakfast, as well as the impeccable service made for a very special 3 days in Taormina.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Property: Hotel Villa Carlotta
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing