We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a lovely place to stay in Taormina. Incredible views overlooking the sea and Mt Etna, lovely rooms and delightful staff who cannot do enough to please you. It's not cheap, but Taormina is probably the most expensive place to stay in Sicily, buts it's worth it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,404
    152
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
333
958
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

A great, great experience...friendly, helpful staff....terrific breakfast and late night cocktail...pool was a little small but grounds were excellent. Highly recommended! It's a little bit of a pain to get down to the water. Access to town is a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a patio or a jr. suite with a view...Tower Suite wasn't worth the extra...larger but a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rundmc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Where do I start!!!!

From the moment that myself and my husband arrived at Hotel Carlotta, the greeting that we were given was like meeting family.

Thank you Riccardo,Simona,Natalie and Olga, for all your advise on resturants, trips to take and asking us each day how we were. We really felt at home with all of you.
The staff in the resturant and breakfast room were so friendly, always smiling, Alberto and Marco and syvin always had time to talk to you, even when they were busy, stopping to make sure that we were satisfied with everything.
We have fallen in love with Sicily and we will definitely be back for another trip, next time with our family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

we spent few days with my family in one of the apartments of the hotel.

Great choice I have to say for a family as you have a lot more space and a little cooking facility with is excellent if you have children.
Only issue is that the flats are on a rather busier road during the day and the walk to hotel with the children has to be done with care. That said it manageable.

Hotel staff was super kind and very open yo give good suggestions in terms of beach to visit or Restaurants to try.
Pool is rather small but efficient (maybe a little renovation to the border is required as in some areas it could be dangerous for children).

Over the top the breakfast selection with every thing you can ask for.
Chef David Costa was very friendly and cooked great dishes for the children.

Highlights was the day at beach La Romantica in Giardini Naxos. Nice organized beach with a great restaurants.

In Taormina avoid the Restaurant Casa Giolie which is too expensive for what they serve.
Nettuno and L'incontro on the other hand good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss_freeride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Small, quiet luxury hotel with stunning views of the Mediterranean and Mt Etna, attentive, warm and personable staff, and a sumptuous included breakfast/brunch. The rooms are ample size, and there are plenty of places to relax on the grounds and in the hotel if you are not out and about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Amazing Villa. Spacious, clean, vast sitting room, 2 garden areas, 1 huge roof terrace with jacuzzi all immaculately kept by Asoka for you.
You really need a car although the local taxi service are very prompt and reasonable.
The service level at the Villa Carlotta is outstanding - charming staff, efficient and helpful - and is clearly why this hotel is so popular

Thank you for a great long weekend

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickcaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I don't even know where to start to describe what an amazing time we had staying at Villa Carlotta. From the moment we go their we were treated like we were special. The warmth, care and passion shown by Natalie and her team will always be remembered. On arrival there were flowers in our room as they had remembered we were in Sicily celebrating our wedding anniversary. Every evening they have canopies on the terrace overlooking stunning views. On our first night the drinks were complimentary. Breakfast was to die for incl the wonderful pastries and cakes, I have never eaten such delicious treats that just melted in your mouth. I couldn't resist. They also have the best freshly squeezed blood red orange juice my absolute favourite. We had room 304 on the very top level with the most stunning views. The outstanding service continued throughout our whole stay, whether it was booking us restaurants, taxis, giving advise on things to do, making sure we had towels when visiting the beach, recommending specific specialist shops when we showed interest in items we wanted to buy. Natalie and Olga day or night always took time to ask us how our day went and what our plans were and genuinely seemed interested in talking to us. We were not just guests we felt like friends. We will miss this place, villa Carlotta is very special and will be a very hard act to follow. Thank you again for giving us the best memories ever.

Room Tip: Choose a high level room to get the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leyla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Property: Hotel Villa Carlotta
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing