We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel!!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We drove to Taormina from Mt. Etna and upon arrival got a little turned around on the streets (a few times), when we found Hotel Villa Carlotta it was an amazing relief to turn over our car to the Valet. As soon as we walked in we were welcomed by the staff and managers, our room wasn't ready yet (as it was only around 11) so they led us to the roof top restaurant to welcome us with a drink and a sweet snack. The view from up there was just beautiful!!! We then went to spend some time by the pool, which is like a little oasis. Our room was huge, the bathroom was modern and clean, the beds were comfortable and the only thing to regret was we only stayed one night.

Everyone who worked here was so nice and friencly and fun to talk with, they took excellent care of us. We were kind of tired and lazy that night so after exploring Taormina in the afternoon and seeing all the crowds we decided to have dinner at the hotel. The chef was very nice and checked on us, along with the servers, the view was great. Breakftast the next morning was about the most impressive breakfast I've ever seen they had so many wonderful things to choose from and it felt more like a weekend brunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rripaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,457
    156
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
352
990
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Fabulous hotel in Taormina. We chose this hotel after reading many reviews on various different hotels in the area and we were not disappointed! Stayed in a garden terrace room, very nice with a huge bathroom & double walk in shower for 2!! Hotel is small compared to some, but that's what we wanted. Breakfast is superb with excellent choice, the food at the restaurant was also very good. Staff and service here is fantastic, could not do enough to help us, polite, friendly and always making sure we were ok and enjoying ourselves!! Amazing hotel on an amazing island!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very nice place to stay in Taormina. We stayed in apartament 1 as family of four and it was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and the kitchen facilites was very modern. All the staff was great, always smiling and ready to satisfy the guests. Especial thanks to Mara!! Breakfast is wonderful. Don't miss pistacchio canole and the fresh red orange juice while contemplating the great ocean and Etna views. The location is perfect, close to the city center and the Greek anfitheater. Easy access to the gorgeous Isola Bella. We highly recommend this small luxury hotel and will certainly return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just finished a wonderful holiday in Italy . Four weeks away from Australia . The highlight had to be Villa Carlotta . Exceptional hotel , beautiful bedrooms , fantastic restaurant and the most wonderful staff . The only criticism we could make is the pool area . Definitely requires some maintenance . Outside of this a wonderful hotel .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Lynne from Perth, Australia,
I would like to thank you for your positve review and for saying Villa Carlotta was the highlight of your 4 weeks trip to Italy ! Thank you also for praising so much our very well trained staff.
I must tell you that I am very surprised to hear your criticism about the maintanence of our pool which is normally pointed out as with the highest mark. The garden and pool area are among roman ruins which made it pretty small but very cosy; it is extremely clean and very well maintened and it is managed 10 hous a day constantly by our fantastic and beloved pool boy Maicon from Brasil. If you read every single review the pool area is magnificed by all guests: wonderful flowers, perfect grass, convenient kiosk where we serve drinks and meals, etc. I know that everyone's opinion can be different and so I accept and respect your point of you but fortunately most people think differently.
Thank you again for your visit and your high mark,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci, the owner and manager of Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just returned from a 9 night stay at Villa Carlotta and we would love to have stayed a lot longer! After the whirlwind of planning our wedding and getting married in Sorrento we needed some serious luxury and relaxation and this is exactly what we found here.
From the moment we stepped into the lovely lobby we felt completely at home. The decor is what I would describe as old Sicilian - beautiful colours, distressed finishes, antique furniture, but with some unique modern touches.
We had a garden view junior suite, which had a living area, separate bedroom and a large bathroom with an amazing walk in shower. There was plenty of space for both of us, and both the bedroom and living room doors opened onto a terrace overlooking the gardens and church. More than once we sat outside in the evening with a bottle of wine, just enjoying the atmosphere and the scent of the flowers.
The pool area is small but never felt crowded. We went to the beaches more often than the pool and appreciated the loan of fresh towels and a beach bag whenever we went out. For us, the hotel is ideally positioned - 5 minutes walk from the bus station and 10 minutes into town with a little detour through the stunning public gardens. Perfect for an evening stroll before braving the crowds on the Corso Umberto...
Breakfast was an absolute pleasure, with so much choice and everything completely fresh. We really loved the freshly squeezed red oranges and the canolas, and the stunning view over the bay and Mount Etna just enhanced the experience. We also ate in the restaurant one evening and were impressed when David the chef came out to make sure we were happy with our food and chat about his ingredients and creations.
Not only is the hotel beautiful and the food delicious, but what really sets it apart is the staff. They went above and beyond their duty at every opportunity. Nothing was too much trouble, from giving us restaurant recommendations to booking excursions for us and answering our many questions about the area. Olga told us the history of the hotel and Ricardo got us a scooter for a few days. Everything was done with a smile and they made a point of remembering where we'd been and asking about our day. One morning we were walking to the little viewpoint at the end of the road when the owner Mr Quartucci passed us in his car, stopped and offered us lift up the hill into town!
There may well be larger, grander hotels out there but I very much doubt any of them could match the Villa Carlotta for friendliness, service and class. We've already promised ourselves we'll return for our anniversary. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misscaro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A great assessment of the room is having your family leaad the initial entrance and hear "Wow" when they enter the room. We have three teenagers so we needed extra space and Hotel Carlotta was what we needed. The outdoor area and the view are very relaxing. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance from the bus station, which avoids the need for a car service when arriving and departing, and is not far from many dining options. The hotel is near the public garden, which also provide a tranquil setting. To fill our kitchen for breakfast foods, we went to Lucia located on Via Giardinazzo which had a good selection of foods. This hotel was not listed on some of the other travel books that I was using, so it became a very pleasant surprise. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redhook55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I've stayed with my family in Villa Carlotta for couple of days. We had two suits. We were surprised with an excellent service and unique atmosphere. The hotel is well located (close to city center). It is easy to get to a nice restaurant and to a good beach. Strongly recommend for you to stay in this amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Suits on the left side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Property: Hotel Villa Carlotta
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing