We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Good location and our spacious and comfortable room had an excellent view of the sea. Bed was good but when we asked for down pillows they could not offer this. Bathroom was good with shower in the tub but still OK. Breakfast was better than usual in Italy with a good choice of eggs and bread. Turn down at night could be better as one of our shoes had left a pile of sand on the carpet which was still there when we came home at night. Top floor had a breakfast and snack restaurant with magnificent views but it could certainly benefit from a slightly more comprehensive menu for those who did not feel for going up to town every day. Ground floor bar was gloomy and not very inviting and the Internet system of giving guests codes with 1 hour duration seems cumbersome and unneccessary. Finallly the staff was friendly and great and I would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyRosy, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2009

Dear friends,
thank you very much for the so many positive issues regarding our hotel and the "very nice" title of your review.
I will try to answer to your complains. We are among few hotels that operate a night turn down in the rooms; I apologize if your found the room quite clean but not totally clean, I spoke to the chambermaid who will take more attention and care and apologizes with you for missing your pile of sand .
Thank you for suggesting to have a more comprehensive menu in our restaurant; you have to consider that we have only 23 rooms and a great restaurant offer in Taormina (the nearest one is at merely mt. 150), so we prefer to provide a few fresh genuine good food items rather than a lot of ordinary plates .
Finally your complain about the Internet code: let me tell you that here you are a little too severe with us. We provide a completely complimentary wi-fi connection to all guests and a convenient complimentary use of P.C. and printer in the lounge, while most European hotels charge even 20 euros for a half hour connection. The codes are required by the Italian anti-terrorism law and by the fact that we have an internal wi-fi line that without codes and passwords anyone outside Villa Carlotta or nearby hotels could use for free !!!
We are looking forward to meeting you again at our hotel.
Mr Quartucci, G.M. & Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,677)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Carlotta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2009

Professional staff, friendly and helpful. Great location. Loved the decor.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelleCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

My wife and stay had two delightful days based at the hotel at the start of of our first trip to Sicily. Rooms and location are great and the staff welcoming. On the last morning my wife went swimming for the first time in the pool and despite holding onto the rail her feet slipped on the highly polished tile steps and she fell .hitting the sharp right angle of the step. With bad bruising and swellings we decided an Xray was necessary and front desk Manager Antonio kindly took us to A&E where his assistance was invaluable.3 hours later we were back at the hotel with rest and calm recommended and no bones broken, only massive discomfort and shock. As it was mid afternoon we decided to stay an additional night . We advised our next stop in Syracuse and travelled the next day although my wife was in discomfort for ther rest of our holiday. We paid for the additonal night at Villa Carlotta ( hoping it may not be necessary).The Syracuse hotel naturally charged us for their cancelled room ( 3 hours only notice given to them)
On our return we wrote to Mr Quartucci, the owner of Villa Carlotta, who lives at Villa Ducale, Taormina mentioning the accident and suggesting he covers his tile steps with
non slip material and put rubber edging over the sharp tile right angle step edges. We also mentioned the extra hotel cost caused by the accident at Villa Carlotta. Mr Quartucci
ws not interested in re-imbursing us our extra night hotel cost ( he said our extra night had been extremely inconvenient for the hotel ! )and neither was he interested in trying to make the pool steps safer at Villas Carlotta.
So take care on the pool steps and expect no sympathy from the owner if you slip. He believes it will have been your fault, ! My wife ws badly bruised for months and still has marks now.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

This became one of our best holidays and that is mainly down to this hotel. Besides one day to see Etna we spent all sunshine hours around the pool, and in the evening went into Taormina just a 10 minute walk away. A perfect relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fazmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Plus:
- Beautiful rooms
- Beautiful view
- Bar for a breakfest was estonishing with a great view and lemon decorations
- very nice service
- not far for a city center- about 10 to 15 min walk
- a very nice park and tennis courts just 5 min to walk
- free of charge internet

Minus:
- As always in Italy an expensive parking
- Garden closed for a winter (they could mention it in description)

Beautiful, quite expensive hotel I reccomend.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank caroboto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

The hotel is absollutely beautiful. It's a small luxury hotel with great design and interior decor which really makes it stand out. Despite its age, all the facilities (bathroom, floors etc) are new and spotless. Rooms are very spacious, and some doubles can even accomodate a family of four. The stuff is very helpful and professional. Breakfasts are plenty and are served on the top floor covered terrace that overlooks Mount Etna and the seashore. Internet, bathrobes, slippers - all free of charge. Strongly resommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MarinaCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

I called the hotel last minute and the main desk person was very informed and flexible and inviting; we (2 women and a small child) taxied right up - a quick ride from the train station (Euro 10). When we returned to Catania, they arranged for a very reasonable driver - only 88 euros: nice guide, too.

We got an early arrival without paying a fee - I noticed they didn't charge many extra fees.

We were fed upon arrival and here's their biggest attraction: their gourmet food. Yes, of course, Sicilian food done very well and lots of it, all the time, anytime. The chef, at the time, was an Australian/Sicilian, who was educated in the finest schools. She made everything from natural local ingredients everyday, fresh and delicious.

The other employees were all native English speakers, as well.
SERVICE, the old-fashion way! They anticipated your needs.

Free wi-fi.

The rooms - the cleanest and the prettiest, replica (?) antiques...well designed and the bathtub - a spa all my itself.

The best moisturizing creams, bubble baths, etc.

Lovely patios, privacy, flowers, overlooking the famous views and their own pool.

The most tender part was how every employee catered to my granddaughter, learning and remember her difficult Japanese name, speaking to her, entertaining her and, again, anticipating her needs. They let her sleep when she needed it and directed us to the nearby villa when she needed to play.

Our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bedda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £224 - £619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing