We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Villa Carlotta, having read all the wonderful tripadvisor reviews we were really looking forward to our stay at this hotel. In some respect we were not disappointed, we stayed in the tower suite and this room really delivers. It is beautifully furnished and the view from the tower are pretty good. The staff are generally very friendly and helpful.
However there were a few issues which were not quite up to the high standard we had expected.
On the day we arrived we ordered a pot of coffee and some lunch from the snack menu coffee arrived 10 minutes later, but after 45mins still not sign of our snack . It was at this point that a visit to the kitchen was made to find out why the delay. We were very surprised to find that all he kitchen staff had gone home. Mistakes happen and it is how they are resolved that counts, and it is here that we have our biggest complaint. When we spoke to the front of house staff they apologised but did not think it necessary to offer any further conmpensation. Our feelings were that if you fail to deliver a certain level of service an apology is not adequete and compenstaion should be offered.
My other complaint would be in the standard of the coffee served we thought that Scillians would know better than to serve reheated coffee!!!
We also felt that they should let you know when you book that the hotel does not have any parking and that as result you will need to pay 15 Euros a night to park your car.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tvpso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyRosy, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2009

Dear guests,
I am sorry to know that your so positive opinion about our hotel was ruined in some way by a simple delay in serving you a hot meal in the room; I have personally checked with our staff and asked them to be faster next time in order to provide a better service, by now I apologize with you.
However I would like to point out that as we do not serve frozen food, in order to prepare a fresh pasta dish the chef needs at least 25 minutes, this is why the coffee was served promptly and the food later. I am surprised to know that you went into the kitchen and found it “empty”, as clients have no access and the door is closed ! You also complain about the quality of the coffee; I am surprised as we make an excellent Arabica 100% espresso coffee that I drink personally 4 times a day everyday, but if you mean the regular coffee I can tell you that is good but Sicilians and Italians do not drink it.
Last but not least, parking. It is clearly written in either our web site and in all booking correspondence that our VALET PARKING SERVICE is euro 15,00, as Taormina centre is completely off limits for non residents; we have to rent a nearby hotel’s parking lot and make no revenue on this. I thank you for the many good things you say about our hotel, I took seriously your complains and we will all try to do better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,724 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2009

We visited Villa Carlotta for 5 nights as a surprise 30th Birthday Present for my wife. I booked direct with the hotel and in the end decided to also book their airport pick-up on the way to the hotel on our arrival. Location is ideal for people who are wanting to get away from crowds, but with a lovely town within walking distance. We found the hotel does exactly what it claims it does - to a very high standard. They don't claim to be an award winning evening restaurant, but instead give you advice on where the best places are to eat in Taormina (their suggestions were excellent!! - we tried our own one on one occasion and then went to their recommended). Staff are wonderful, our bedroom was spotless, cleaned every day and even beds turned down in the evening, something that we received on honeymoon but paid a lot more for! Antonio was particularly helpful and his understanding of English superb, but to be honest we found all staff friendly, polite and all appeared eager to please. On the return to the airport we actually decided to take the bus service - a lot less costly and a nice way of seeing a bit more of Sicily, with the hotel giving us the information that confirmed how easy it was to do..we plan on returning, not just to Sicily but also to this hotel in particular. I suspect that during the summer months the town will be a lot busier (and the swimming pool a lot warmer), so we plan on returning during April/May. Restaurant we would recommend: Mamma Rossa's off the main road through the main town or Licchio's which is just at the archway at the start of the main road (although this is slightly more expensive).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kouran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Good location and our spacious and comfortable room had an excellent view of the sea. Bed was good but when we asked for down pillows they could not offer this. Bathroom was good with shower in the tub but still OK. Breakfast was better than usual in Italy with a good choice of eggs and bread. Turn down at night could be better as one of our shoes had left a pile of sand on the carpet which was still there when we came home at night. Top floor had a breakfast and snack restaurant with magnificent views but it could certainly benefit from a slightly more comprehensive menu for those who did not feel for going up to town every day. Ground floor bar was gloomy and not very inviting and the Internet system of giving guests codes with 1 hour duration seems cumbersome and unneccessary. Finallly the staff was friendly and great and I would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyRosy, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2009

Dear friends,
thank you very much for the so many positive issues regarding our hotel and the "very nice" title of your review.
I will try to answer to your complains. We are among few hotels that operate a night turn down in the rooms; I apologize if your found the room quite clean but not totally clean, I spoke to the chambermaid who will take more attention and care and apologizes with you for missing your pile of sand .
Thank you for suggesting to have a more comprehensive menu in our restaurant; you have to consider that we have only 23 rooms and a great restaurant offer in Taormina (the nearest one is at merely mt. 150), so we prefer to provide a few fresh genuine good food items rather than a lot of ordinary plates .
Finally your complain about the Internet code: let me tell you that here you are a little too severe with us. We provide a completely complimentary wi-fi connection to all guests and a convenient complimentary use of P.C. and printer in the lounge, while most European hotels charge even 20 euros for a half hour connection. The codes are required by the Italian anti-terrorism law and by the fact that we have an internal wi-fi line that without codes and passwords anyone outside Villa Carlotta or nearby hotels could use for free !!!
We are looking forward to meeting you again at our hotel.
Mr Quartucci, G.M. & Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Professional staff, friendly and helpful. Great location. Loved the decor.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelleCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

My wife and stay had two delightful days based at the hotel at the start of of our first trip to Sicily. Rooms and location are great and the staff welcoming. On the last morning my wife went swimming for the first time in the pool and despite holding onto the rail her feet slipped on the highly polished tile steps and she fell .hitting the sharp right angle of the step. With bad bruising and swellings we decided an Xray was necessary and front desk Manager Antonio kindly took us to A&E where his assistance was invaluable.3 hours later we were back at the hotel with rest and calm recommended and no bones broken, only massive discomfort and shock. As it was mid afternoon we decided to stay an additional night . We advised our next stop in Syracuse and travelled the next day although my wife was in discomfort for ther rest of our holiday. We paid for the additonal night at Villa Carlotta ( hoping it may not be necessary).The Syracuse hotel naturally charged us for their cancelled room ( 3 hours only notice given to them)
On our return we wrote to Mr Quartucci, the owner of Villa Carlotta, who lives at Villa Ducale, Taormina mentioning the accident and suggesting he covers his tile steps with
non slip material and put rubber edging over the sharp tile right angle step edges. We also mentioned the extra hotel cost caused by the accident at Villa Carlotta. Mr Quartucci
ws not interested in re-imbursing us our extra night hotel cost ( he said our extra night had been extremely inconvenient for the hotel ! )and neither was he interested in trying to make the pool steps safer at Villas Carlotta.
So take care on the pool steps and expect no sympathy from the owner if you slip. He believes it will have been your fault, ! My wife ws badly bruised for months and still has marks now.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

This became one of our best holidays and that is mainly down to this hotel. Besides one day to see Etna we spent all sunshine hours around the pool, and in the evening went into Taormina just a 10 minute walk away. A perfect relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fazmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Plus:
- Beautiful rooms
- Beautiful view
- Bar for a breakfest was estonishing with a great view and lemon decorations
- very nice service
- not far for a city center- about 10 to 15 min walk
- a very nice park and tennis courts just 5 min to walk
- free of charge internet

Minus:
- As always in Italy an expensive parking
- Garden closed for a winter (they could mention it in description)

Beautiful, quite expensive hotel I reccomend.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank caroboto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#7 of 87 in Taormina
1,907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £194 - £1,136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing