We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Nearby Hotels
US$191
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$541
US$355
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Taodomus(Taormina)
US$226
US$216
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Panoramic Hotel(Taormina)
US$209
US$199
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$309
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Villa Paradiso(Taormina)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Condor(Taormina)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$149
US$135
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$260
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Schuler(Taormina)
US$146
US$121
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,743)
Filter reviews
1,743 results
Traveller rating
1,549
158
28
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,549
158
28
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef davidtop floorrooftop restaurantmini suitemount etnaour honeymoonglass of proseccostayed in a junior suitewelcome drinkcannolithe entire staffbeach clubcakesionian seathe main hotelperfect hotelsun loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,180 - 1,185 of 1,743 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Hotel Villa Carlotta is perfectly situated for a romantic break (or Honeymoon in my case). It's under 10 minutes walk through some amazing gardens to Taormina, which is a beautiful town. Lovely shops, countless bars/restaurants, very welcoming and friendly people.

We got upgraded at Hotel Villa Carlotta from our 250 euro deluxe room to a 1200 euro a night suite on two floors with a spiral staircase - just wonderful!

Breakfast was a feast with lots of choice but get there early if you can as although I think they say breakfast goes on until 10:30 or 11:00, there's not much cooked food left by 09:30. There are plenty of other things to eat though and they are happy to cook fresh hot food if you are later to breakfast and want hot food. The views from the terrace are breathtaking.

The food on the terrace in the afternoon/evening is very expensive but this is typical of most hotels. The bar is nice to have a drink in before going to Taormina for a meal and the free internet access is a bonus.

We booked a private taxi from and back to the airport which was exactly where it should be and when, the driver was also very friendly and pointed out the attractions on our journey.

Overall we found this hotel perfect for a lovely romantic honeymoon, the location is great, staff very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere very luxurious. If we ever go back to Sicily we will definitely stay here (not sure we'd be lucky enough to get another upgrade though!).

Sicily is a beautiful country and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WeezeandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Positives ...
+ Lush surroundings and all fixtures and fittings are first class
+ Location is excellent for all attractions but just far enough out of town to be quiet
+ Fantastic and fun service from beginning to end from all staff
+ Room, bathroom and terrace all excellent
+ Sea view
+ Breakfast was the best we had in Sicily with great rooftop location
+ Free room service with food and booze of great quality and reasonably priced
+ Beautifully maintained grounds and gardens
+ Cosy library to sit and read if you get unlucky and it rains

Negatives ...
- Pool area loos felt a bit unloved
- Parking is 15 Euro per day but not sure what the alternative is in Taormina
- Not the cheapest !

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mandsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Villa Carlotta, having read all the wonderful tripadvisor reviews we were really looking forward to our stay at this hotel. In some respect we were not disappointed, we stayed in the tower suite and this room really delivers. It is beautifully furnished and the view from the tower are pretty good. The staff are generally very friendly and helpful.
However there were a few issues which were not quite up to the high standard we had expected.
On the day we arrived we ordered a pot of coffee and some lunch from the snack menu coffee arrived 10 minutes later, but after 45mins still not sign of our snack . It was at this point that a visit to the kitchen was made to find out why the delay. We were very surprised to find that all he kitchen staff had gone home. Mistakes happen and it is how they are resolved that counts, and it is here that we have our biggest complaint. When we spoke to the front of house staff they apologised but did not think it necessary to offer any further conmpensation. Our feelings were that if you fail to deliver a certain level of service an apology is not adequete and compenstaion should be offered.
My other complaint would be in the standard of the coffee served we thought that Scillians would know better than to serve reheated coffee!!!
We also felt that they should let you know when you book that the hotel does not have any parking and that as result you will need to pay 15 Euros a night to park your car.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tvpso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyRosy, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2009

Dear guests,
I am sorry to know that your so positive opinion about our hotel was ruined in some way by a simple delay in serving you a hot meal in the room; I have personally checked with our staff and asked them to be faster next time in order to provide a better service, by now I apologize with you.
However I would like to point out that as we do not serve frozen food, in order to prepare a fresh pasta dish the chef needs at least 25 minutes, this is why the coffee was served promptly and the food later. I am surprised to know that you went into the kitchen and found it “empty”, as clients have no access and the door is closed ! You also complain about the quality of the coffee; I am surprised as we make an excellent Arabica 100% espresso coffee that I drink personally 4 times a day everyday, but if you mean the regular coffee I can tell you that is good but Sicilians and Italians do not drink it.
Last but not least, parking. It is clearly written in either our web site and in all booking correspondence that our VALET PARKING SERVICE is euro 15,00, as Taormina centre is completely off limits for non residents; we have to rent a nearby hotel’s parking lot and make no revenue on this. I thank you for the many good things you say about our hotel, I took seriously your complains and we will all try to do better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We visited Villa Carlotta for 5 nights as a surprise 30th Birthday Present for my wife. I booked direct with the hotel and in the end decided to also book their airport pick-up on the way to the hotel on our arrival. Location is ideal for people who are wanting to get away from crowds, but with a lovely town within walking distance. We found the hotel does exactly what it claims it does - to a very high standard. They don't claim to be an award winning evening restaurant, but instead give you advice on where the best places are to eat in Taormina (their suggestions were excellent!! - we tried our own one on one occasion and then went to their recommended). Staff are wonderful, our bedroom was spotless, cleaned every day and even beds turned down in the evening, something that we received on honeymoon but paid a lot more for! Antonio was particularly helpful and his understanding of English superb, but to be honest we found all staff friendly, polite and all appeared eager to please. On the return to the airport we actually decided to take the bus service - a lot less costly and a nice way of seeing a bit more of Sicily, with the hotel giving us the information that confirmed how easy it was to do..we plan on returning, not just to Sicily but also to this hotel in particular. I suspect that during the summer months the town will be a lot busier (and the swimming pool a lot warmer), so we plan on returning during April/May. Restaurant we would recommend: Mamma Rossa's off the main road through the main town or Licchio's which is just at the archway at the start of the main road (although this is slightly more expensive).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kouran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Good location and our spacious and comfortable room had an excellent view of the sea. Bed was good but when we asked for down pillows they could not offer this. Bathroom was good with shower in the tub but still OK. Breakfast was better than usual in Italy with a good choice of eggs and bread. Turn down at night could be better as one of our shoes had left a pile of sand on the carpet which was still there when we came home at night. Top floor had a breakfast and snack restaurant with magnificent views but it could certainly benefit from a slightly more comprehensive menu for those who did not feel for going up to town every day. Ground floor bar was gloomy and not very inviting and the Internet system of giving guests codes with 1 hour duration seems cumbersome and unneccessary. Finallly the staff was friendly and great and I would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyRosy, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2009

Dear friends,
thank you very much for the so many positive issues regarding our hotel and the "very nice" title of your review.
I will try to answer to your complains. We are among few hotels that operate a night turn down in the rooms; I apologize if your found the room quite clean but not totally clean, I spoke to the chambermaid who will take more attention and care and apologizes with you for missing your pile of sand .
Thank you for suggesting to have a more comprehensive menu in our restaurant; you have to consider that we have only 23 rooms and a great restaurant offer in Taormina (the nearest one is at merely mt. 150), so we prefer to provide a few fresh genuine good food items rather than a lot of ordinary plates .
Finally your complain about the Internet code: let me tell you that here you are a little too severe with us. We provide a completely complimentary wi-fi connection to all guests and a convenient complimentary use of P.C. and printer in the lounge, while most European hotels charge even 20 euros for a half hour connection. The codes are required by the Italian anti-terrorism law and by the fact that we have an internal wi-fi line that without codes and passwords anyone outside Villa Carlotta or nearby hotels could use for free !!!
We are looking forward to meeting you again at our hotel.
Mr Quartucci, G.M. & Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews