We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree with all other reviewers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed for 8 nights in Villa Carlotta and could not find fault. Staff were most efficient and pleasant. All requests were attended to immediately and with a smile. Good suggestions were made for day trips in our rented car and the valet service was also very efficient. As mentioned by other reviewers, breakfast was excellent with great variety.
The hotel is different from the run of the mill tourist hotel and with a unique charm and beauty. It is a 10/15 minute gentle walk to the main street (Corsa Umberto), which is about right for a pleasant after dinner stroll.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emptyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2009

We recently returned having stayed 4 nights at the Villa Carlotta and were not disappointed with it or it's location. We stayed in a garden room which was lovely. We had room 21 which was the end room which had a lovely conservatory sitting area and also a private outdoor sun terrace. Unfortunately, torrential rain and thunderstorms for the whole of our stay meant that we did not get to take advantage of this or the lovely swimming pool. However, the rooftop terrace for breakfast was beautiful and the choice was huge (including prosecco).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boo-Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Beautiful small hotel in spectacular position within easy walking distance of town.
Immediately made feel welcome by charming and efficient staff. Rooms and facilities all of fine quality. Highlight of the day was the excellent and varied breakfast taken on the terrace with wonderful views of Etna and the coast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TitusT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed at Carolotta for 6 nights. We found all the staff exceptionally helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The view from the terrace where you have breakfast is stunning. The reception team are very knowledgeable and recommended some fantastic restaurants, the hotel does offer a light menu which is ideal for lunch time. We left here and travelled to Siracusa - a word of advice, stay at Ortigia if you go - Siracusa itself is not that pleasant and we wished we had stayed at Carolotta for the whole holiday!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank louisejlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I spent 4 nights at the Villa Carlotta with my best friend in a 40th birthday celebration. The hotel and Taormina were the highlights of the trip. Upon arriving at VC, the beauty of the hotel and surroundings, the helpfulness of the staff, escorting us upstairs for a welcome cocktail and snack (wonderful cookies made by their local chef). The sights, sounds, smells were all so inviting at VC. The rooms were stylishly decorated, very clean, had an amazing balcony view of the sea, the staff met every request with a smile and professionalism, and directed us exactly where to go in town. We took advantage of their cooking class with the chef, Aurelio, who took us to the market to shop and then later returned to the hotel to cook an amazing 4 course meal that was unforgettable!! We also enjoyed the free shuttle to the beach for the day. The breakfasts upstairs overlooking the sea with the homemade pastries and a full selection of everything from fruit, yogurt, eggs, bacon, champagne and wonderful coffee were a delight to wake up to. The location was a perfect little walk to town and just far enough to walk off some of the wonderful dinners especially at Trattoria Nino. Everyone says that Taormina is very touristy, but we seemed to find the local charm and didn't want to leave. Villa Carlotta is my favorite hotel in all the vacations I have taken to Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lisaannmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in July when I was attending a conference at the hotel san domenico. We decided to stay at a different hotel especially after reading some the reviews of this hotel. We picked Hotel Villa Carlotta because of its amenities and we were very happy with our choice. We had a suite on the 3rd floor with spectacular views. The rooms were tasteful done and room service was excellent. The staff took care of all our needs. They had 2 dozen roses in our room when we arrived ( at my husbands request). Some guests commented that the pool was small but I found it quite adequate. The hotel was so quiet and restful with beautiful views at every turn. Breakfast was one my favorite parts of the day, not only for the food, but also for the views from the top of the hotel. It was a great way to start the day. All of the food was homemade andconsisted of authentic siciian items. We rented a Vespa and were able to park in their gated court yard free of charge. I will definitely be reuturning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joanne99NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Although not planning a holiday this summer we decided that a short break with guaranteed sunshine was required. A week and 2 flights later we were at hotel Villa Carlotta. From the first evening we were made so welcome by all the staff on duty and it just got better during our 3 day stay. All of the staff were so helpful and genuinely friendly especially towards our 3 year old daughter. Our room was in the tower of the hotel and made our daughter feel like a princess. The hotel's roof top restaurant provided the most superb views of Etna and the bay - what a place to enjoy a cool drink and excellent food! The time we spent at the pool seemed a million miles away from home and was the perfect escape.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorfolkBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,888 reviews
0.5 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
918 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £140 - £613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing