We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We stayed for a weekend last month for my partners birthday. We arrived on Friday night when it was already dark, so were stunned by the wonderful view when we got up in the morning. The weather was great during our stay.
We upgraded to the delux room, which meant that we had dual aspect and two small balconies. One looked out over the sea, and one viewed Etna in the distance. Fantastic !
We were surprised at how quiet the hotel was, even with the windows open. A great change from the noise and background drone of London.
The buffet breakfast is excellent, and I loved sitting on the roof overlooking the med even more. Wonderful on a November Monday morning in the bright sunshine when you know all your work colleagues are in the office already beginning work.
The hotel arranged a trip for us to have a private driver/guide to take us up the volcano. Rather pricey, but well worth going to see.
The town itself is very touristy, but in a chic rather than tacky way. There are restaurants at every turn, and many of them were much cheaper than we would expect to pay at home. Its low season, so there wasnt many people about. The food and service were good everywhere we went, and we found that everyone spoke English. The resort is not somewhere I would spend a fortnight, but fantastic for a long weekend. Great !

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,459
    156
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
353
991
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Va
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel and were pleased beyond words. The hotel staff was very nice and very helpful. The room was beautifully decorated and was very comfortable, and the view of the ocean was beautiful. The delicious and plentiful breakfast buffet, including all sorts of pastries, fresh fruits, juices, meats, cheeses, breads, Prosecco,......was served on the rooftop terrace with a breathtaking view of Mt. Aetna. It seemed close enough to reach out and touch.
We highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Taormina!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeAnn094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We paid a little extra for a de luxe room which lived up to its name being of a very good size (probably the largest room we have had in Europe for anything like this price) and well appointed.

Breakfast is taken on the top floor where you can eat inside or on a terrace outside with gorgeous views over the sea and/or Etna. Whilst the range of food available for breakfast was similar to other places the quality of many items, and their presentation, was much better. For example instead of plastic pots of supermarket yoghurt there were glasses with excellent plain yoghurt with a dash of fruit based sauce in the bottom and some real fruit on the top. And on one of the two days there were small individual tarts with a pastry base, a form of egg custard and pieces of fruit on the top which were quite excellent.

There is not a restaurant as such, but one can get quality snacks and drinks in the breakfast area all day and at a push one could make a full meal out of what is available. There is also a small, comfortable bar on the ground floor (with free internet access – a nice touch).

The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful – indeed impossible to fault in any way.
Valet parking is available (and necessary) at E15 per day.

Nowhere is absolutely perfect and our criticism here was that the bath robes were too small – whilst we both weigh more than ideal we are not unusually large – perhaps they have shrunk after being washed many times. But if this is the worst we can say that is implicit praise.

The day we left the hotel was closing to be refurbished. We were told some of the lower rooms had suffered flood damage during the devastating rains etc in Sicily a couple of months earlier. If this is to be a comprehensive refurbishment it should be fantastic and the sate of all the areas we saw were in a better state than many other hotels.

This is simply the best hotel I have stayed in since starting to contribute to Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Perched on the edge of a cliff, you eat breakfast with a panoramic view of the aquamarine Mediterannean -- what more do you want?! Ask for an upgrade, they usually oblige, and you will find yourself in a commodious and tastefully put together suite that gives you more mind-blowing views. Take advantage of the staff's knowledge of the town and get their advice on what to do. Go to this place, don't hesitate!

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninja77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

This hotel is beautiful in appearance, small and luxurious - beautifully decorated and furnished common areas as well as individual rooms. Magnificent views of the sea from room as well as from lounge and extraordinarily lovely breakfast area (views from the latter include Mt. Etna). Friendly but courteous, helpful and attentive service by the desk staff and breakfast and lounge staff. Great location. We were there in October -not the high season; it was very peaceful and quiet - no idea what this place might be liked if full during busy season, but it was lovely while we were there.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duegattineri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I spent a week in Taormina with my husband and extended family and we all enjoyed the atmosphere and the service of Villa Carlotta. The rooms are small but all with sea view (we had a lovely terrace as well), clean and well decorated. The staff are very kind and helpful (from reception to cleaners). The little restaurant on the top floor serves good informal food and the lady managing the evening service is so nice. Great breakfast as well. I would like to go back and thanks again to all the staff for making my staying so enjoyable.
Cristina

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tagliolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarsdale, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

My family and I went to Sicily for Christmas last year. We had the pleasure of staying for three days in the beautiful town of Taormina, Sicily, The best part of our stay was the Villa Carlotta. The Hotel is beautiful, the service is impeccable, and the staff is terrific. We had a two bedroom suite that overlooked the sea and the beautiful gardens. This was one of the best Hotels in all of Italy. If you have a chance to visit Taormina I would recommend this lovely hotel. It is five stars all the way. I forgot to mention the wonderful breakfast every morning that is served in the most beautiful dinning room over looking the Ocean. Every morning my family was serenaded by a bag piper during breakfast. Thank you Villa Carlotta for making our Christmas Holiday a vacation we will never forget! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcastiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Property: Hotel Villa Carlotta
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing