We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““What a Place!!! - Excellent - Fantastic location and warm Staff!””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We stayed at Villa Carlotta for 10 days on our honeymoon and the hotel was simply fantastic. Our room was excellent – great bathroom/shower, plenty of space, and complimentary WI FI.
One of my favorite things about the hotel was the breakfasts. You have never had a more amazing breakfast. What they served was totally homemade--the desserts, the juice, the breads, the jams, the savory foods.
What made our stay truly special, though, was the care and attention shown by the staff and the owner. They even treated us to a bottle of wine and snack plate on our arrival as a honeymoon gift.
All in all, if you have the opportunity to go to Taormina, do whatever you can to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank merloBergamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2009

We stayed for a weekend last month for my partners birthday. We arrived on Friday night when it was already dark, so were stunned by the wonderful view when we got up in the morning. The weather was great during our stay.
We upgraded to the delux room, which meant that we had dual aspect and two small balconies. One looked out over the sea, and one viewed Etna in the distance. Fantastic !
We were surprised at how quiet the hotel was, even with the windows open. A great change from the noise and background drone of London.
The buffet breakfast is excellent, and I loved sitting on the roof overlooking the med even more. Wonderful on a November Monday morning in the bright sunshine when you know all your work colleagues are in the office already beginning work.
The hotel arranged a trip for us to have a private driver/guide to take us up the volcano. Rather pricey, but well worth going to see.
The town itself is very touristy, but in a chic rather than tacky way. There are restaurants at every turn, and many of them were much cheaper than we would expect to pay at home. Its low season, so there wasnt many people about. The food and service were good everywhere we went, and we found that everyone spoke English. The resort is not somewhere I would spend a fortnight, but fantastic for a long weekend. Great !

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel and were pleased beyond words. The hotel staff was very nice and very helpful. The room was beautifully decorated and was very comfortable, and the view of the ocean was beautiful. The delicious and plentiful breakfast buffet, including all sorts of pastries, fresh fruits, juices, meats, cheeses, breads, Prosecco,......was served on the rooftop terrace with a breathtaking view of Mt. Aetna. It seemed close enough to reach out and touch.
We highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Taormina!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeAnn094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We paid a little extra for a de luxe room which lived up to its name being of a very good size (probably the largest room we have had in Europe for anything like this price) and well appointed.

Breakfast is taken on the top floor where you can eat inside or on a terrace outside with gorgeous views over the sea and/or Etna. Whilst the range of food available for breakfast was similar to other places the quality of many items, and their presentation, was much better. For example instead of plastic pots of supermarket yoghurt there were glasses with excellent plain yoghurt with a dash of fruit based sauce in the bottom and some real fruit on the top. And on one of the two days there were small individual tarts with a pastry base, a form of egg custard and pieces of fruit on the top which were quite excellent.

There is not a restaurant as such, but one can get quality snacks and drinks in the breakfast area all day and at a push one could make a full meal out of what is available. There is also a small, comfortable bar on the ground floor (with free internet access – a nice touch).

The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful – indeed impossible to fault in any way.
Valet parking is available (and necessary) at E15 per day.

Nowhere is absolutely perfect and our criticism here was that the bath robes were too small – whilst we both weigh more than ideal we are not unusually large – perhaps they have shrunk after being washed many times. But if this is the worst we can say that is implicit praise.

The day we left the hotel was closing to be refurbished. We were told some of the lower rooms had suffered flood damage during the devastating rains etc in Sicily a couple of months earlier. If this is to be a comprehensive refurbishment it should be fantastic and the sate of all the areas we saw were in a better state than many other hotels.

This is simply the best hotel I have stayed in since starting to contribute to Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Perched on the edge of a cliff, you eat breakfast with a panoramic view of the aquamarine Mediterannean -- what more do you want?! Ask for an upgrade, they usually oblige, and you will find yourself in a commodious and tastefully put together suite that gives you more mind-blowing views. Take advantage of the staff's knowledge of the town and get their advice on what to do. Go to this place, don't hesitate!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ninja77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

This hotel is beautiful in appearance, small and luxurious - beautifully decorated and furnished common areas as well as individual rooms. Magnificent views of the sea from room as well as from lounge and extraordinarily lovely breakfast area (views from the latter include Mt. Etna). Friendly but courteous, helpful and attentive service by the desk staff and breakfast and lounge staff. Great location. We were there in October -not the high season; it was very peaceful and quiet - no idea what this place might be liked if full during busy season, but it was lovely while we were there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duegattineri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I spent a week in Taormina with my husband and extended family and we all enjoyed the atmosphere and the service of Villa Carlotta. The rooms are small but all with sea view (we had a lovely terrace as well), clean and well decorated. The staff are very kind and helpful (from reception to cleaners). The little restaurant on the top floor serves good informal food and the lady managing the evening service is so nice. Great breakfast as well. I would like to go back and thanks again to all the staff for making my staying so enjoyable.
Cristina

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tagliolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £179 - £485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing