We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast, delicious coffee, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great breakfast, delicious coffee, friendly staff”
Reviewed 6 April 2010

we stayed at the Villa Carlotta in the second week of March
Drove to the hotel from Catania airport after dark and even with local maps and Google maps, we still got a bit turned around in Taormina, as you go into the centre and then out again to get to the hotel.
No free parking at hotel, but they will valet park for 15 euros a day, which we decided to do especially as the weather was very rainy. Car was always promptly delivered for us, so good service.
Hotel has a beautiful view out over the sea and down the coast, even in overcast weather.
We got a very good deal, but i think this was due to being there very out of season, stayed in a deluxe room with a sea view, 1 up from the basic room, bathrooms were very nice, well stocked with slippers, robes, toiletries and Pierre Cardin fixtures.
Good hanging and storage space etc
We especially enjoyed the breakfasts, very good selection and the best cappuccino we had in Sicily. Also I am sure that eating outside, when it is warm and not wet is lovely
Waitresses very nice, especially Marie who was very friendly and remembered what we liked.
We also ate in the hotel on 2 evenings, even though it is not really a proper restaurant in the evenings, we found the selection to be good and the ingredients fresh and very tasty.
Receptionist are very good with ideas for local trips and places of interest
Even in bad weather, drive up Etna is well worth it, we also drove through Lingualossa and the orchards round Castiglione di Sicilia towards the north east side of Etna and went to Forza d'Agro, amazing views
We also took advantage of the DVD library, after a very long and wet day and hung out in our room watching movies.
The swimming pool and outside spaces were not available at this time of year, we found that in many places in Sicily pools didn't open till end of May into June.
One bad point and just a word of caution, there are very nice stone/marble staircases in the hotel. One morning these had been washed down but as they are very dark and there was no sign telling you that they were wet, my partner didn't realise and ended up slipping down several stairs, luckily he got away with a couple of small bruises. But it could have been more serious. Receptionist actually heard the fall and came and apologised.
Apart from this really liked the hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soundmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,454
    156
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
350
990
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

The room was large, with a balcony overlooking the bay, service was impeccable. The staff recommended restaurants which were all good. Breakfast is plentiful and my wife requested a salad which was made specially for her.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We found this hotel in every way excellent. The staff were really friendly, and seemed genuinely concerned to make our stay enjoyable. The quality of everything - from the linen and the towels to the breakfats and the views could not be better

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FelicitasWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Nice hotel but the weather was terrible when we stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Staff members were very welcoming. As soon as we got there they took care of our luggage and car. The room me were offered was comfortable. The right size with the right amenities. They offered advice regarding eating out, directions and places of interest. Views from room and breakfast area were breath taking ....... showing etna covered with snow!!! Breakfast was delicious. Taormina in general is fantastic for a romantic getaway ..... even if for just a weekend. We really recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MGC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

As far as 4 star hotels go, Villa Carlotta IS THE BEST! The staff are the friendliest and most helpful, so much so that we couldn't help hugging them goodbye as we felt they were like family in the end. Villa Carlotta is beautifully decorated - we loved our spacious room which was equipped with everything we had at home - because we had internet, DVD, satellite etc and even better - ROOM SERVICE. We could also choose to soak ourselves in a bath or enjoy their rainshower system, the luxurious white bathrobes with slippers finished off the experience. The beds were so comfortable there wasn't a single night I didn't sleep well. .

The hotel is perched on the mountain side offering amazing views from the room and which were also enjoyed in the Tower room at the top of the hotel - we took advantage of ordering cappuccino's while reading our novels in there after breakfast. We were lucky to stay on warm days so we laid on loungers in the garden too - enjoying the sunshine and ordering drinks to boot. I should also mention they give you a complimentary welcome drink of your choosing upon arrival too.

We drove down to gorgeous Syracuse and stayed at the Agilla Charme hotel there and I can't tell you how let down we felt after the Villa Carlotta experience. The rooms were very minimalist, had no charm - no pictures on the walls at all, and were more expensive. There were no as relaxing lounges where we could read our books either. The staff were not as friendly and it was all a bit of a let down - finally we started getting withdrawal symptoms!! Perhaps we should have gone to Syracuse first? So after two days in Syracuse we called Villa Carlotta and asked if we could have our room back, hoping it was still available. To our delight it was and the next day we raced back for 2 more days of indulgence at cheaper prices!!!

The only annoying aspect about the stay was the parking situation which cost EUR15 per day as most if not all of the parking in Taormina is reserved for residents only - next time we're not hiring a car I think, and there most certainly will be a next time for sure. I have stayed at some fantastic hotels and Villa Carlotta is up there with the best. I highly recommend this hotel any day! You will love it!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BTUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Irealnd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We stayed in the Villa Carlotta (VC) last october for one week. The reason we stayed was solely from the numerous reviews on trip advisor. Indeed the property is lovely and all in all the reviews are a fair representation of the quality of the hotel.
We stayed in one of the garden suites and found the room to be very nice and roomy. However we had some small niggles, the air conditioning leaked onto the tiled floor and we had to mop it up with a towel. Some of the paint work was a little bit crumbly, so maybe the room needed to be repainted over the winter. We found the pool disappointing, its nothing spectacular and probably not up to the standard of the remainder of the hotel. Breakfast was extensive and delicious as is the overwhelming opinion of the reviews. The Bar in the hotel is very funky, but in our opinion was starting to date. They left out little nibbles each evening, we felt they could have been fresher and not just left sitting out for the night. The hotel is a good walk into town, fine when the weather is good, not in our case as the weather was poor. The staff in the front office were helpful and efficient, maybe the night manager could have been a little more welcoming after a long journey. Would recommend, yes it is very expensive, but we felt that overall it was a great hotel and worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarlotta, G.M. & Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, 13 March 2010
Dear friends,
thank you so much for all the praises and beautiful words abour your stay at Villa Carlotta at the end of last season 2009.You said that you had some small niggles and so I would like to apologize for the little unconveniences you had. Unfortunately in October Eastern Sicily including Taormina suffered from strong thunderstorms, water floods and landslopes with some 35 lives lost in Messina, so that is why you reported some damages on your room wallls and non perfect air conditioning functioning. We experienced an unusual terrible weather which in some way affected our job. The same problem was the pool that you found disappointing, but maybe that was just not the ideal pool time; most guests showed appreciation for the pool service and its ancient roman ruins surroundings (it is in a archeological area which is the reason why the hotel was not allowed to build it larger).
I am happy though that your overall opinion was very positive with a nice 5 points out of 5, so after all your negatives were really very very little. However we will try to do better and better in order to get the utmost satisfaction by our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Mr. Andrea Quartucci, Villa Carlotta owner and general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Property: Hotel Villa Carlotta
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing